We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private, Modern and Very Luxurious Suites!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Private, Modern and Very Luxurious Suites!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Before Arriving in Key West on Vacation with my family, I was unsure of this hotel we were staying in. It wasn't some name brand chain or anything so I didn't know what to expect, but I never should have doubted the Santa Maria Suites. The room it self was one of the most modern hotel rooms I have stayed in. It was so luxurious, clean, and had everything you could have ever needed (I knew this was a good place when I saw the Bath & Body Works products in the bathrooms). It would be a great place to stay as a family, with friends, or as a couple, especially newly weds! The concierge was amazing and took care of booking all the activities for our vacation. They had an insider knowledge on what was really the best and most fun things to do in Key West. One great thing was them booking us on this sunset cruise that only about 15 people went on instead of the other sunset cruises that had about 70. Very romantic and my girlfriend loved it! Also, since there aren't very many rooms or guests at the Santa Maria Suites, even during spring break, the pool was never crowded. We loved just laying by it drinking our freshly made smoothy they provide for free by the pool, and occasionally jumping in. Definitely wouldn't mind staying here again.

Room Tip: The lower floor suites are very nice and the perfect location. You will want one right next to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyScull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

The Santa Maria Suites had a world-wide designation brand called "Small Luxury Hotel of the World".

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,503
    203
    49
    15
    8
See reviews for
718
524
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Second time in Key West with family, Stayed here a week on the recommendation of a friend. Excellent location, close enough to everything but not in the middle of it. We rented bikes for the week - easily arranged by the hotel - no car needed to get around.

We had a 2BR/2BA suite, perfect size for us. Very clean and updated kitchen. They bring muffins, dove bars and chocolate every night - big hit with the kids. Nice pool, not too crowded if you want to hang at the hotel. Happy hour at the pool with wine/beer and smoothies.

Staff was very accommodating, they will go out of their way to arrange activities, very knowledgable on prices and quality of excursions, restaurants etc...only drawback is a tiny fitness center with almost no equipment. The staff gave me a heads up when i asked where it was, they sent me Island Gym on White St, an easy bike ride in the morning

Excellent value for families. We'll be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

A week is a nice amount of time to stay in Key West and the Santa Maria Suites.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for a week, and despite the unusual and unseasonable weather during our stay, this hotel made our trip wonderful. I think I will have a hard time going back to a large hotel after this lovely experience. We had a lovely 2 br room on the ground floor, just steps away from the pool. The bedrooms were nice sized, and a big plus were the large closets. I hate when hotels don't have any storage place for your luggage and your clothes, so this was such a nice experience to be able to put everything away. The kitchen was very nice, and fully equipped (although I confess to not using more than the fridge and coffeemaker because I didn't feel like cooking). It was heavenly to have a washer and dryer - with three kids we kept those pretty busy. Of course, the kids were so excited about the dove bars and muffins. The smoothies and the happy hour was nice too, as well as free water bottles. The atmosphere is very laid back and generous - if you needed anything (like more detergent) they were always happy to provide. The size of this resort is cozy enough where you felt like you could really relax. Because the property is enclosed around the pool, it really shielded the pool from the windy days when we were there. We didn't have a problem getting chairs around the pool (no getting up at 6 am to reserve pool chairs which I absolutely DETEST) and the families that were staying there were all very well behaved and pleasant. I was concerned about a wild spring break crowd in Key West before we arrived, but was happy to see that the guests were mostly families. The location is unbeatable. We were able to walk almost everywhere. I felt that it was in the prettiest part of Key West. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelingfivefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

We don't allow anyone under 25 to register at the resort so very little Spring Breakers at the Santa Maria Suites...just a nice experience.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This gem if a resort is like a hidden jewel. Top notch accommodations, incredibly gracious and hospitable staff that readily go out of their way to ensure your comfort and bliss. Little extras make it boutique! Your home in Key West! This wonderful hotel is making Key West with 3 small children a dream!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinamarieDorfner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

We are glad you and your family had a good time.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a wonderful, quiet place on a very busy island! Away from the hustle of Duval Street, yet close enought to walk. The Santa Maria Suites is in the perfect location. The 2 BD/2Bth was perfect for our family. The full kitchen and the washer/dryer were a huge plus! ( there is a small market right across the street.) Not to mention the muffins and the ice cream delivered daily to your suite. The property itself is beautiful, but it is the staff that sends this place to the top of the list! Christie made us feel so at home and that we were her only concern that week. She planned each days activities and kept up with all the details so I did not have to! (which gave ME a vacation!) Christie and Nordi were planning before we even arrived to make sure our week (and our college-aged kids Spring Break)was the most enjoyable ever! Would stay there again and again. I wish all our employees were like those two! WOW! 5 stars X 10!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-Lauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you for the kind words about Christie and Nordi!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Turndown at this resort features Dove bars and muffins - or chocolate. Just steps from Duval Street and on the ocean, this is a great spot for exploring Old Town. You can walk everywhere - so parking is not an issue. See the Hemingway House, take a trolley or train ride around the sicty or just relax. Come back to enjoy smoothies by one of two pools and poolsie bar.

Room Tip: Lovely modern decor with washer.dryer fully fitted kitchen- every thing to make it home away from ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbrecken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time staying here and we love it!
It's a small hotel with beautiful clean suites. The 2 bedroom units have 2 baths, 3 tvs and modern appliances including a washer and dryer. In the evening staff drop by your room with muffins, chocolates and ice cream bars. ost rooms have a great view of the pool which is surrounded by a tropical garden. Poolside bar offers free non-alcoholic frozen drinks. The hotel is in walking distance of Oldtown Key West. Hotel guests have access to the beach at the hotel across the street. Attached to the hotel is an excellent Japanese restaurant which is open for lunch and dinner. Across the street is a convenience store, a bicycle and scooter rental shop and a small take out restaurant. Hotel staff are wonderful and can make any arrangements for tours and restaurant reservations. Lots of free parking and the wi-fi is complementary. It's a great place to spend a night or a whole week.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating! We really appreciate your business...repeat business...thank you!

We are glad you had another nice stay and hope you return….soon! Your home away from your Canadian home.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,665 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Address: 1401 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Maria Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing