We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful small luxury hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful small luxury hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a wonderful, quiet place on a very busy island! Away from the hustle of Duval Street, yet close enought to walk. The Santa Maria Suites is in the perfect location. The 2 BD/2Bth was perfect for our family. The full kitchen and the washer/dryer were a huge plus! ( there is a small market right across the street.) Not to mention the muffins and the ice cream delivered daily to your suite. The property itself is beautiful, but it is the staff that sends this place to the top of the list! Christie made us feel so at home and that we were her only concern that week. She planned each days activities and kept up with all the details so I did not have to! (which gave ME a vacation!) Christie and Nordi were planning before we even arrived to make sure our week (and our college-aged kids Spring Break)was the most enjoyable ever! Would stay there again and again. I wish all our employees were like those two! WOW! 5 stars X 10!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-Lauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you for the kind words about Christie and Nordi!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,356
    184
    46
    15
    7
See reviews for
631
485
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Turndown at this resort features Dove bars and muffins - or chocolate. Just steps from Duval Street and on the ocean, this is a great spot for exploring Old Town. You can walk everywhere - so parking is not an issue. See the Hemingway House, take a trolley or train ride around the sicty or just relax. Come back to enjoy smoothies by one of two pools and poolsie bar.

Room Tip: Lovely modern decor with washer.dryer fully fitted kitchen- every thing to make it home away from ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbrecken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time staying here and we love it!
It's a small hotel with beautiful clean suites. The 2 bedroom units have 2 baths, 3 tvs and modern appliances including a washer and dryer. In the evening staff drop by your room with muffins, chocolates and ice cream bars. ost rooms have a great view of the pool which is surrounded by a tropical garden. Poolside bar offers free non-alcoholic frozen drinks. The hotel is in walking distance of Oldtown Key West. Hotel guests have access to the beach at the hotel across the street. Attached to the hotel is an excellent Japanese restaurant which is open for lunch and dinner. Across the street is a convenience store, a bicycle and scooter rental shop and a small take out restaurant. Hotel staff are wonderful and can make any arrangements for tours and restaurant reservations. Lots of free parking and the wi-fi is complementary. It's a great place to spend a night or a whole week.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating! We really appreciate your business...repeat business...thank you!

We are glad you had another nice stay and hope you return….soon! Your home away from your Canadian home.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Santa Maria Suites go the extra mile for their guests. The suites are more like a high end extended stay property. Most guests won't appreciate the top of the line kitchen (cabinets, counter tops, etc) but it certainly is nice when you are staying with a group of girls and you want to have a great Happy Hour right in your room! The resort provides smoothies at the pool and you can spike them if you want. They also deliver muffins in the AM and treats at bed time. This is perfect spot for a "Girlfriend Getaway" or for two couples who travel together. The have a beach area set aside for their guests just minutes away. I would stay here again, although it certainly isn't a budget property!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharidDavie_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOODWOOD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spacious suites, full amenities (stocked kitchen, tv in bdrms & LR, washer/dryer, nicely furnished, 1 2pc & 2-3pc baths, 3 balconies, etc) surrounding a lovely pool courtyard area. It is a mini destination unto itself though the concierge was very helpful in getting us set up for other adventures. Nice touches included a restaurant, sunscreen poolside, happy hour & 1/2, ice cream, smoothies great location close to Duval St. & use of a beach.

Room Tip: Every suite seemed to be premium quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

We hope you do consider the Santa Maria Suites your home away from home...we want you to feel like you are at home.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Santa Maria Suites were a lot nicer than I had expected. Yes, the reviews are very good, but did not think it would be this nice. Stayed here for 2 nights in the beginning of March with my wife, son, and parents. My son is 3 and really liked the heated pool. The suite is quite nice and the kitchen is great (especially with a small child). The beds are toe stubs waiting to happen if you are not ready for them, not a problem after reading the reviews ahead of time. Happy hour is nice and the all day smoothies as well. Good location near the quiet end and a few minute walk to the action. Turn down service is a nice touch. We will definitely be back to Key West and most likely will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slickd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you and your family return soon!

We're glad you and your family had such a good time.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at the Santa Maria Hotel for a few days in Key West and this hotel is very peculiar. It is a small estate of suites with terraces (yes… with an “s”! 3 terraces in my small suite!).

Staying there is like living in a villa sharing where every client being your “roommate”: clients are as friendly as the staff, it is easy to chit chat with them around the swimming pool, everyone knows each other…

Pros:
-huge suites, decently decorated with nice terraces
-well situated close to the activities
-super friendly staff
-friendly guests
-HAPPY HOUR and complimentary drinks/food is crazy there! Free excellent unlimited glass of wine between 4 and 5:30 PM (!!!) free smoothies all day long, free muffins, free dove bars, free crackers, free sun lotions, inexpensive beers, cocktails… relaxing around the pool the whole day is VERY TEMPTING in this hotel
-free parking and wi-fi

Cons:
-expensive,
-feeling spied upon and generally observed by the other “poolmates”, general promiscuity feeling
-spending your holidays drunk by the pool thanks to complimentary glasses of white wine, smoothies cocktails…

Room Tip: Most of the suites are around the pool, this may not be suitable for guest looking for some extra in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WetWillie_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you for the list of Pros ...and Cons!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#2 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing