We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Key West”
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Key West”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

You can't beat the value of the Santa Maria Suites. They really pay attention to details to make your stay amazing. Key West is a very pricy place to stay. Below is everything you get for no extra cost:
- Free Parking
- Free muffins
- Free wine at happy hour
- Free bottled water
- Concierge Service
- Full kitchen with anything you need
- Free wi-fi
- Free beach access with chairs and towels

The beds were comfortable - yes, they are low to the ground; however, you are sleeping in the bed and it is very nice. Great location too - you can walk or bike to everything.

Room Tip: We had the bi-level suite - if you dont' like stairs, don't choose this suite. It was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkles8198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating! Also, really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,470
    199
    49
    15
    8
See reviews for
695
516
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baileys Harbor, WI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We rented a two bedroom condo here and all four of us were very pleased. Each bedroom had a king bed and a bathroom which is perfect for two couples. The pool and grounds were very nice, staff extremely helpful and condo very cozy and comfortable. We had our own little patio and every afternoon the hotel had free wine at the pool. At night they delivered ice cream and muffins for morning..... The location was great for walking. We hope to go back next time we get to Key West!!!

Room Tip: There is no elevator but we were on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeG1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. Also, we really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a great visit in early March. The two bedroom two and a half bathroom suite was spectacular. There was plenty of space for all of us. The small architectural details did not go unnoticed. The ice cream, chocolates, muffins were a nice touch. As were the free smoothies and happy hour by the pool.

The staff were all very nice and helpful.

The pool was so lovely and beautifully landscaped that it would have been tempting to stay there all day and not see the rest of key west. If only our trip was longer *sigh*.

What a gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKooris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return soon but stay longer next time.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

As much as I love Santa Maria, there are just some things not worth the price. The beds would be number one, the mattress is very comfy, however the low frame has alot to be desired. Very hard to make the bed and get in and out of, that and hitting your toes on it constantly. Having a washer and dryer is awesome, would be nice to have some place to hang clothes to dry and hang up as you take from the dryer, and it is also handy for storing luggage as it is the only place to do so. Although the closet doors in the bedroom are beautiful, the area just does not accomodate for such large doors when open, as much as I hate sliders, this small area is ideal for those such doors, giving the room for at least one person to walk from bedroom to living room when door is open. The second bedroom would be ideal to have 2 twins that could be converted, as we used the hide a bed and it was very handy - just needs a really comfy gel or feather heavy duty mattress pad as the matress was horrible (aren't they all). The pool was great and heated!!! The trees need trimmed as there is not alot of sun space.

Now, for the best, the staff was fantastic and so accomodating. The heated pool was wonderful and the proximety to the "main action" was never better. The smoothies and happy hour were very nice, as were the muffins and ice cream (they used to be full size). Of course we paid for these ammenities with the daily hotel fee. The size of the property is worth a million!! Would we stay again, yes - but just hoping some things will change and get upgraded soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowatravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your repeat business.

I apologize that you could not give us a better rating. I'm pleased to inform you that we are scheduled to replace the bed frames with raised platform frames.

Thank you for your positive comments about the staff.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.


Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had 2 adjoining units on the ground floor facing the pool. There was 7 people in our party and they great job of getting us the two units together. These are beautiful suites with really nicely laid out rooms. A fully appointed high end kitchen and 2 full bathrooms per suite which made getting ready to go out with a big group a breeze. They provide blueberry muffins and chocolate dove bars daily which was a really nice touch. While this is a quick walk to duval street. You are on the furthest end. This is a pretty far walk to make it down to the busiest part of town. You can rent scooters, bikes or get a cab if the walk is to much. Overall this place was just what we needed. The pools are nice but they are pretty small and when all the units are booked up it can be tough to get a spot unless you get up early. I will most definitely will look to return.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a 2 bedroom or multiple units ask for the adjoining units facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rguns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. It was our pleasure to be your host hotel for your Family Reunion. Let's do it again next year.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harstad, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Free alcoholic drinks during happy hour. Free fruits and icecream at the pool. Free breakfast basket. Super nice staff! Had a good time and wished we stayed longer! Awesome aartment bilevel 2 beedroms). Great value! Not in the party area! Rent bikes!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….but stay longer next time!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked this resort based mostly on Trip Advisor reviews not long before our travel dates.
We were in a ground floor poolside unit and found the two bedrooms and baths to be plenty large enough and well furnished.
During our online research we saw that several reviewers had noted how well appointed the kitchen is so we were able to eat most breakfasts and several lunches in - thanks to the staff for providing directions to the local Publix.
The resort is one block off the quiet end of Duval - close enough to easily walk, but far enough away to avoid the craziness.
Off street parking was great.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites are very close to the pool and allow you to move into the shade of your patio if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelsonis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing