We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous suite and great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous suite and great amenities”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a great visit in early March. The two bedroom two and a half bathroom suite was spectacular. There was plenty of space for all of us. The small architectural details did not go unnoticed. The ice cream, chocolates, muffins were a nice touch. As were the free smoothies and happy hour by the pool.

The staff were all very nice and helpful.

The pool was so lovely and beautifully landscaped that it would have been tempting to stay there all day and not see the rest of key west. If only our trip was longer *sigh*.

What a gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKooris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return soon but stay longer next time.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    203
    49
    15
    8
See reviews for
717
523
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

As much as I love Santa Maria, there are just some things not worth the price. The beds would be number one, the mattress is very comfy, however the low frame has alot to be desired. Very hard to make the bed and get in and out of, that and hitting your toes on it constantly. Having a washer and dryer is awesome, would be nice to have some place to hang clothes to dry and hang up as you take from the dryer, and it is also handy for storing luggage as it is the only place to do so. Although the closet doors in the bedroom are beautiful, the area just does not accomodate for such large doors when open, as much as I hate sliders, this small area is ideal for those such doors, giving the room for at least one person to walk from bedroom to living room when door is open. The second bedroom would be ideal to have 2 twins that could be converted, as we used the hide a bed and it was very handy - just needs a really comfy gel or feather heavy duty mattress pad as the matress was horrible (aren't they all). The pool was great and heated!!! The trees need trimmed as there is not alot of sun space.

Now, for the best, the staff was fantastic and so accomodating. The heated pool was wonderful and the proximety to the "main action" was never better. The smoothies and happy hour were very nice, as were the muffins and ice cream (they used to be full size). Of course we paid for these ammenities with the daily hotel fee. The size of the property is worth a million!! Would we stay again, yes - but just hoping some things will change and get upgraded soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowatravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your repeat business.

I apologize that you could not give us a better rating. I'm pleased to inform you that we are scheduled to replace the bed frames with raised platform frames.

Thank you for your positive comments about the staff.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.


Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had 2 adjoining units on the ground floor facing the pool. There was 7 people in our party and they great job of getting us the two units together. These are beautiful suites with really nicely laid out rooms. A fully appointed high end kitchen and 2 full bathrooms per suite which made getting ready to go out with a big group a breeze. They provide blueberry muffins and chocolate dove bars daily which was a really nice touch. While this is a quick walk to duval street. You are on the furthest end. This is a pretty far walk to make it down to the busiest part of town. You can rent scooters, bikes or get a cab if the walk is to much. Overall this place was just what we needed. The pools are nice but they are pretty small and when all the units are booked up it can be tough to get a spot unless you get up early. I will most definitely will look to return.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a 2 bedroom or multiple units ask for the adjoining units facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rguns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. It was our pleasure to be your host hotel for your Family Reunion. Let's do it again next year.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harstad, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Free alcoholic drinks during happy hour. Free fruits and icecream at the pool. Free breakfast basket. Super nice staff! Had a good time and wished we stayed longer! Awesome aartment bilevel 2 beedroms). Great value! Not in the party area! Rent bikes!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….but stay longer next time!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked this resort based mostly on Trip Advisor reviews not long before our travel dates.
We were in a ground floor poolside unit and found the two bedrooms and baths to be plenty large enough and well furnished.
During our online research we saw that several reviewers had noted how well appointed the kitchen is so we were able to eat most breakfasts and several lunches in - thanks to the staff for providing directions to the local Publix.
The resort is one block off the quiet end of Duval - close enough to easily walk, but far enough away to avoid the craziness.
Off street parking was great.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites are very close to the pool and allow you to move into the shade of your patio if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelsonis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

It is hard to give a high rating to a hotel with a few major deficiencies. The high marks go for the friendly staff, the very nice pool area with beautiful landscaping, the nicest kitchen I have ever seen in a facility like this, and a good location just a block away from the great Southernmost Beach Cafe which offers outstandind breakfasts. I should give credit to the hotel staff for recommending this restaurant. So what is not to like; the extremely small and inefficient bedroom. This is a two story suite with the bedroom and bath located upstairs. The bedroom was so small we elected to leave our luggage and other belongings downstairs. You still have some gyrations to go through just to walk around the bed which is a mattress on a low platform which is about two to three inches larger than the mattress making for some ankle hits from the platform. The mattress was also very soft, not to my liking. The sink in the bathroon was one of the glass bowl types which is pretty to view, but because the counter is so small the bowl sink took up the entire counter leaving no space for personal items. Luckily there was a half bath downstairs with some counter space. The living room downstairs was adequate, so if you want a place with a fabulous kitchen and can put up with a very small uncomfortable bedroom, then I can recommend the place for you. I also agree with another review stating the lobby was much too small and utilitarian.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business.

I apologize that you could not give us a better rating. If you give the Santa Maria Suites another chance, I would encourage you to call me directly for your next reservation. I can describe the other type of suite we offer which has a more open plan and bedrooms are a little larger. Our suites are just under 1,000 square feet and half of the suite is bedroom and the other half is living area.

We are also looking into different bedframes which would raise the bed higher off the floor and provide more floor space.

Again and the Santa Maria staff would love for you to give us another opportunity and hopefully you will at your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We arrived a little early for check in (3 night stay) and we were surprised to get upgraded to a pool view two story suite. Many of the amenities that were mentioned in previous reviews are spot on with the exception of the Dove ice cream bars which have been downgraded to minis instead of full bars. The suite itself was lovely.

To break it down, here was the good. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything from placemats to a blender, the dual head shower has great water pressure, and the washer and dryer were all niceties that we aren’t used to during our normal travels. I wish that the kitchen appliances and tools were spelled out on the website since we could have leveraged a lot of the appliances instead of eating out every night. The suite seemed clean and turndown service left little chocolates on our pillows every night. Complimentary smoothies, cucumber water, and a wine/pita chips & hummus happy hour were also available and used throughout our stay. The breakfast muffins were a nice touch.

Here is what disappointed us. On our first night, there was a chemical odor in the first floor that smelled like paint. We assumed that something was recently painted in the room (we ran into the maintenance man on the way in) and we opened all the doors to help vent it. The following morning, we opened the dishwasher and I was knocked back by the incredibly intense smell of paint thinner emanating from the dishwasher. I immediately got lightheaded and had to step outside for some air. This was reported to the front desk and the said they would send someone to take care of it. When we returned, the smell had subsided but a strong odor still remained and I refused to use the dishwasher for the remainder of our stay. We were never given an explanation of what type of chemical we were exposed to. In addition, a $20 per day resort fee is charged. We felt with the daily paper, wifi, smoothies, daily dove bars and happy hour that the price would be worth it. However, on our last night, we did not get our daily dove bars which disappointed my wife so much that I had to go find ice cream for us in the middle of the night. Other little things dulled the shininess of the hotel such as what we hope was a chocolate stain on the curtain, wear and tear on the furniture (a big 6 inch chunk was missing from the end of the coffee table), and the beds were very low to the ground making for plenty of stubbed toes and banged shins in the middle of the night. Lastly, the hotel prevents anyone under the age of 25 from booking by themselves, I’m assuming to keep out the party crowd. However, children are still allowed with their parents and we had two very rambunctious and very loud little girls next door to us. This led to some very jarring moments when my wife and I were trying to relax on the porch.

Overall, the property is beautiful and the staff were all very friendly. It was the all of the little oversights and the dishwasher episode that soured what would have been an extraordinary stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcopley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business.

I apologize that you could not give us a better rating. If you give the Santa Maria Suites another chance, I would encourage you to call me directly for your next reservation.

The oder from the dishwasher is a deep cleaning which is done from time to time (on a schedule) to keep the unit running properly and breaking down any chemical build up in the water lines. I apologize you had to smell the chemical order as the dishwasher must have been just complete the deep clean. Sounds like maybe we rushed the cleaning of your suite so it would be ready since you were early for your reservation.

I hope you would give us another chance. Please call me directly the next time you are visiting Key West.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,663 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Address: 1401 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Maria Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing