We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We visited Key West for the week before Christmas 2012. The accomodation was recommended to us by friends in the USA and it did not disappoint at all, The Location of the suites is fabulous, close enough to enjoy Duval Street with all its restaurants and shops but far enough to get some quiet time and walk along the beach. The suites were well maintained and were serviced daily. The accomodation is spacious, we were a family of four with two teenage daughters staying in a 2 bedroom suite, the only drawback was that the second bathroom was small and the cupboard space limited. As we had travelled from South Africa the washing machine and drier were most welcome. The concierge was helpful with both advice and organising trips, the jet skis around the Keys is a must for all first time visitors. The Japanese restaurant attached to the suites serves outstanding Sushi and seafood and i recommend that you eat there at least once if you enjoy Asian food. Our visit to the Keys was fabulous!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMSKJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Please try booking a Bi-level suite at your next visit to Key West and hopefully the Santa Maria Suites. The Bi-level suites actually has 2 and 1/2 baths.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,413
    195
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
667
501
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Now that I have your attention, the smoothies are great, and the server is beautiful. The rooms were well appointed, we stayed in room 3, which had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen, and a living room area with a pull out couch. The staff are the model of discretion and work quickly to help you with any issues that you might have. Yes the pool closes at 10pm, but if you are quiet and don't bring any glass containers with you they will let you stay. One of our party had one of his bags missing at the airport, he went to fill out a report with the airline, and lo and behold, there was no airline rep. So we called the airline and were told someone would come down to help us, 20 minutes later- nothing. My friend went to the check in counter to ask for help, they said they would send someone 20 minutes later- nothing. So I went to the check in counter and watched the staff leave as they were "no longer on duty". We went to the hotel, called the airline's 800 number, and they told us to go back to the airport. Eff that! We spoke to the front desk and they asked for the baggage tag # and said they would handle it. The next day the bag was in our room when we returned. The front desk was also able to find us a camaro convertable (the rentals are mostly mustangs) at a great rate. I also had some packages from Amazon sent to the hotel- free of charge. We had a great stay, and we plan on returning.

Room Tip: #3 has a great modern kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MMA_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Jenya got the biggest laugh from your review. She does a great job at the pool and in the office too. She reads and appreciates your comments. Thank you for making her day.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Upscale facility with very nice and friendly staff. Well cared for pool, grounds and relaxing interior court. We stayed in the 2 BR suite. Bedrooms were not inviting or comfortable in any way - very small with about one foot of space around the sides of the bed - felt like sleeping in a closet with the bed itself on a boxspring/floor frame NOT off the ground. Bathrooms just as small/cramped. Kitchen is very modern and we used it for breakfast meals - enjoyed the area reastaurants for lunch and dinners. Hotel location is the quiet end of Duval which is good/bad based on traveler's preference. Very easy to get around in Old Town Key West.

Room Tip: Before booking, ask specifically about bedroom size and floor layout. Except for kitchen, the two b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMRadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Please try booking a flat suite on your next visit to Key West and hopefully the Santa Maria Suites. The bedrooms are bigger but you have less bathrooms. We are looking into bed frames which will raise the beds higher off the floor and give more floor space too.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hotel over priced for location and amenities. Half of the suites are on the second floor which means 17 steps to get into unit and then another 17 steps inside unit to get to bedrooms. Bathrooms lack any counter space and no where to keep your toiletries. Also units are very disjointed....too many separate rooms and very dark inside. Not very clean either. Plenty of other places to pick. Would skip this one.

Room Tip: Do not get a second floor unit unless you don't mind climbing 35 stairs a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srosz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business.

The Bi-level suites which you stayed in are more designed like a townhome...please try booking our flat suites on your next visit to Key West and hopefully the Santa Maria Suites. The flats bedrooms are a little larger but less bathrooms.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were the for the second time and didn't even look for another place. Pure luxury in the quiet area of KW. Highly recommend if you are looking for nice, restful time and the kitchen area works nicely. As there are 2 bathrooms/2-3 toilets in the rooms (one level room has two bathrooms, two level room has two bathrooms + one toilet downstairs), works perfect with friends also.

Room Tip: We have been in both kind of rooms, I think one level rooms have more space in bedrooms but two leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon for the 3rd time!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Is the mermaid still on the rock in Helsinki's waterfront?

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Special boutique hotel with gorgeous suites - I love little places like this - its not a party scene or a place to be "seen" but if you are looking to relax in a comfy sleek cool hotel with a beautiful kitchen/porch/living space - this is a great spot. Complimentary Fruit Smoothies by the pool, ice cream in your freezer and muffins left for your breakfast are great touches - I will happily return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon! The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Not only is it conveniently located one block off of Duvall st. It also boasts the best service from a resort team that I have ever experienced. Every day you received fresh muffins, ice cream treats and water bottles on top of a happy hour in which you receive complimentary wine, hummus, and smoothies. The rooms are equipped with a washer and dryer as well as a full sized kitchen. A gigantic applause to all the staff members that make this experience exceptional. We will definitely be back!!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ross1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon! The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West and hopefully the Santa Maria Suites.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing