We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall amazing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Overall amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this place. Everything about our stay was perfect. The hotel is beautiful, modern, and immaculate! The rooms are spacious and fully stocked. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful especially kristen who helped with reservations and good reccomendations. Would highly recommend this hotel and looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JThumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!
Cristin read and appreciates your comments.
The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.
Again, Thank you!
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,413
    195
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
667
501
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a beautiful suites hotel with a lush courtyard, heated pool, and friendly staff. It is a real find.
We stayed in a two bedroom suite which was on the second floor; its balcony overlooking the pool was a favorite place for all of us to relax with a drink or a book, or both.The location is great, easily walkable to Duval Street and all the attractions. It was a pleasure to leave the car in the parking lot for our stay.
It was meticulously clean and exceedingly pleasant, which made for a very relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor suite for the great balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!
The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

By far and hands down, one of the nicest experiences we have ever had on a vacation. It is a small and intimate hotel, with a friendly staff, and nice perks. It is so close to all the hustle and bustle of Key West, but it is really a sanctuary. Suite 11 was nice and secluded, which we appreciated as we celebrated our wedding anniversary. Did not get to try the onsite restaurant but it looked lovely. We would definitely go back again!!

Room Tip: Suite 11 was tucked away in the corner but still close to the pool area, we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!
Please try Ambrosia's at your next visit...outstanding Japanese and Sushi restaurant...as good if not better than any big city Japanese restaurant. I also like suite 11...very secluded!
The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West. Thank you again for visiting us and for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

After staying in Marathon in a dump, we were pleasantly surprised to when we arrived at SM. We were allowed to check in very early and parking was included. Beautifully decorated suite with ultra modern kitchen and fixtures. Clean clean clean is how I would describe entire resort. Perfect location one resort in from the beach and one block from Duval. Very nice touches like towels on the lounge chairs, fresh fruit, smoothies and sunblock by the pool. Drinks were fair priced ($3 for a beer) Much cheaper than most KW places. Other nice touches were the Dove ice cream in the unit as well as the turn down service with chocolates on our pillows and fresh muffin left for us in the kitchen. Did not want to leave! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saltydogcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. Sorry you had a bad stay at another resort in the Keys.

We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

From the location to the service excellent!!! The only thing I would say is that they don't have in-room dining service. For the rest very nice. The rooms are incredibly modern n clean, heated pool, free wine, pita chips with hummus and fruit smoothies. Walking distance to duval street. It is a must stay small luxury hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romero-Peraza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!
Next time you are in town and hopefully staying at the Santa Maria Suites, we can arrange delivery of food from almost any restaurant in Key West for your room service needs.
The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West. Thank you again for visiting us and for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We had 14 people stay in 3 beautiful state of the art luxury suites. The free smoothy's at the pool are the best, free mini dove ice cream bars each day were a nice touch. We had an awesome time, we were treated very well especially by Christi at the front desk. I highly recommend Santa Maria Suites to anyone interested in vacationing in the Keys in pure luxury!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kcollins15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Collins Group,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!
I'm glad Christie took such good care of you and your group while at Santa Maria Suites. She read and appreciates your comments.
The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West. Thank you again for visiting us and for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carteret, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My recent stay at the Santa Maria in December 2012 was incredible. Very relaxing atmosphere with incredible rooms. On site parking and in a very quiet part of the island, yet very close to everything. Throughout our stay we were greeted and accommodated by just about everyone on the staff. With a small staff, you really get acquainted with everyone there. By the end of our week in Key West we were on a first name basis with Kristie, Christen, Jodi, Wolfgang, Jane, and Nordi. Each and every person at this hotel was great. To top it all off, there was ice cream bars in the freezer every day and chocolates on our bed every night. I definitely plan on revisiting this hotel again very soon.

Room Tip: Every room at this hotel is great. The flat rooms are a little roomier and have larger beds, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!
I'm glad Christie, Cristen, Jodi, Wolfgand, Jane and Nordi took such good care of you what you remembered their names. They all read and appreciate your comments.
We are looking into new bed frames at our next bedroom improvement plan to raising the beds higher off the floor.
The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West. Thank you again for visiting us and for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing