We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven away from the Duval fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Suites to your Saves list
Santa Maria Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Lake City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Haven away from the Duval fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

First time in Key West and first time at the Santa Maria Suites. Very impressed with the furnishings, accommodations, and friendly service. Definitely service oriented. Thank you! Love the beautiful pool and greenery. Tasty muffins, chocolates on the bed each night, and dove ice cream treats. Front desk staff were very helpful and nice too. We appreciated the calming atmosphere. Had fun in the hub bub of Key West, yet apreciated coming back at night to the Santa Maria!

Room Tip: #26 great pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Having never traveled to Key West I really had no idea where to stay or how much to spend to get a decent room and experience. We spent the first night at the Oceans Keys Resort (adjacent to Mallory Square) in a two bedroom suite with an incredible ocean view. We checked into the $925/night suite late in the evening only to wake up to two massive cruise ships blocking the entire view. The Ocean Keys never told us this and we checked out immediately. We than checked into the Santa Maria Suites and could not have made a better decision. I am not a travel expert but have traveled to over 150 countries and have seen the good with the bad. The Santa Maria is one of the most uniquely cool hotel experiences ever. We had a 2 room suite (#10) in which we had 4 adults and one teenager. Amazing professional kitchen in unit which lacked nothing and throughout the suite everything was practical,comfortable, and done with incredible style. Our friends stayed at the Southernmost Hotel complex next door. They wish they had stayed at the Santa Maria also. They paid far more and had a rather sterile experience in the Southern Most which is an oversized yellow corporate monster that takes up several city blocks. Stay away from the Southern Most and stay at the Santa Maria. I truly don't think I can say that strongly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TEDSWORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We finished a conference in south beach Florida and headed to key west. This hotel was great. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and nicely designed. We were concerned it was not on the beach, however, the hotel design is clever with all rooms facing the pool and into this quaint oasis. We travel a lot and stay in many 4-5 star hotels. this one had a great boutique feel to it and we especially enjoyed having a full kitchen. Location is great. The south end is much more quiet and picturesque rather than the north end where the cruise ships arrives. Steve the manager gave us some nice tips on places to stop along the highway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MB-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

it's always risky booking an unknown hotel in an unknown location but Santa Maria Suites turned out to be a welcome surprise from all points of view. From the warm welcome through the fabulous accommodations, we couldn't have been happier. The accommodations were immaculate and very contemporary and actually better than we expected. The pool area and restaurant on site were fabulous . The staff were always frIendly and accommodating and the location was happily beyond the mayhem yet easily walkable to everywhere. We shared the suite with friends and each couple enjoyed the exact same room with ensuite along with the living space and kitchen on the main level. There is a laundry room in the unit as well. Our only problem was the wooden bed frame at floor level that was a constant source of painful encounter when getting in and out of the bed or going around the room to the bathroom or the balcony. That could easily be solved by the management. Would happily recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meswinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, friendly, quiet, and attentive. Front desk was outstanding. Loved the Nordi. He had great restaraunt recommendations. Location was perfect. Close to the fun. Yet far enough from the mayhem. again, Loved Nordi!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Santa Maria Suites for 3 nights during a short trip to Key West. We arrived quite late on Saturday night and Wolfgang greeted us at the front desk ready to check us in (we were the last to check in for the day). Wolfgang was a character, regaling us with his various travels from Germany through the US. Very friendly and funny guy. It set the tone for the rest of the stay.

We were quite pleased with the room and the hotel in general. The room we had booked was a '1 Bedroom Garden View Suite'. There was a lot of space for the two of us. It was up a flight of stairs which was a little bit of a pain since we had one heavy bag (we were packing for both warm Key West weather as well as cold New Jersey weather). The suite we had was very narrow with a living room, half bath and kitchen downstairs and then the bedroom and full bath upstairs. Definitely more space than we needed since we were out and about just about all day, but still it was nice to not be in a cramped room. We had been debating between Santa Maria Suites and a gay resort and I'm glad we chose the SMS. While we didn't make use of the pool(s) or lounging around the courtyard, we saw a good number of people that were. The grounds are very well maintained and the pool looked very nice, if a little bit small. There was a bar where there were towels and spa water (although we're not sure if it was complementary or pay, we think complementary).

The only minor annoyance was the size of the shower in the full bath. It's very narrow in one direction; turning around in the shower you would easily bump into the fixtures which were modern with edges that you bang your elbow into. It had dual rainshower fixtures which I personally don't like, but if that's the worst I have to say about a room, that's pretty damn good. The suite was spotless and well-kept.

When we're traveling we enjoy walking and the SMS were just right for us. It's located at the south end of the more touristy areas where it's rather quiet, which we also like. Walking 5 or 6 blocks gets you to the south end of the touristy area on Duval Street. From there you have plenty of restaurants and attractions within walking distance, but you need to like to walk if you want to go all the way up to the north end of Duval Street. It could certainly get tiring if you aren't a walker, although there are plenty of bike taxis available or you could rent your own scooter or bike to get around. .

All in all, we were very happy with the Santa Maria Suites and would certainly return if we find ourselves back in Key West.

Room Tip: Room 29 is just off the main courtyard, up a flight of stairs with a second flight to get to the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our first time in Key West. I found SM Suites on Jetsetter. It looked wonderful - and reality did not disappoint. Our one (king) bedroom suite was clean, well stocked and perfectly located in the corner - away from some of the late-night rowdiness by the pool :-)
The resort was very accommodating, allowing us to schedule our room service time depending on what our plans were for the day. The provided free bottled water, ice cream bars in the evening, muffins in the morning and free non-alcoholic smoothies at the pool. 4 p.m. is happy hour when they offer free wine at the pool as well. Really nice!
Location of SM Suites is perfect - it's off the main traffic of Duval, but still an easy walk to some great restaurants (Louie's Backyard a block away) and local attractions (Southernmost point a few blocks the other way.
We spent a full week here - and I could easily see coming back!

Room Tip: If you want more privacy - ask for one of the rooms in the corner. We had room 11 (on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbenn81025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#