We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Excellent amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our first time in Key West. I found SM Suites on Jetsetter. It looked wonderful - and reality did not disappoint. Our one (king) bedroom suite was clean, well stocked and perfectly located in the corner - away from some of the late-night rowdiness by the pool :-)
The resort was very accommodating, allowing us to schedule our room service time depending on what our plans were for the day. The provided free bottled water, ice cream bars in the evening, muffins in the morning and free non-alcoholic smoothies at the pool. 4 p.m. is happy hour when they offer free wine at the pool as well. Really nice!
Location of SM Suites is perfect - it's off the main traffic of Duval, but still an easy walk to some great restaurants (Louie's Backyard a block away) and local attractions (Southernmost point a few blocks the other way.
We spent a full week here - and I could easily see coming back!

Room Tip: If you want more privacy - ask for one of the rooms in the corner. We had room 11 (on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbenn81025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,089 - 1,095 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Excellent suites, very clean. Great facility. The bed was super comfortable. Had a great night sleep. A bit pricey but worth the money. The showers were very very clean and felt like you were standing in rain.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank WWPTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and couldn't have been happier.Christie and Nordie were great!Always helpful and cheerful. Stayed in unit 1 with another couple - very clean and well equipped. A great bargain compared to booking 2 hotel rooms.Close proximity to restaurants , Southernmost resort , and Duval Street. Second stay and will definitely return next year.Could use onsite coffee service. Coffee maker in room made poor coffee.

Room Tip: All rooms appear similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lso673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed one level flat (one king size bedroom suite) on 2nd floor for 5 nights. The suite has a large kitchen and living room opens to a decent size patio; nice size bedroom with modern bathroom with rain shower. The suite is also equipped with top brand appliances in the kitchen and washer and dryer in unit as well. For the average key west price, you can't find anything larger or better than this, it sure beats shoebox hotel room. The resort charge a resort fee for on site parking, free wifi, smoothies, water & fruits through the day, and key west cake for the night. It also offers turn-down services nightly and housekeeping daily. The location is ideal for people who wants to relax a little, as its located at quiet end of Duval street, but walking distance for all the bars and restaurants. It also has complimentary access to South beach, which is a public beach, but room key gets you free chair and beach towels.

I found the front desk staffs are very friendly, but a little pushy on referring us to island activities. We didn’t use them as much since YELP, Tripadvisor have a lot of good recommendation for restaurants and tours/activities.

The resort does have 30+ suites, when they are all occupied, the pool area can be noisy as not everyone is chilling. I would avoid weekends if possible as some large party guests can disturb your relaxing time.

Room Tip: Personally, I like 2nd floor flat rather than bi-level suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great place to stay. It is located one block from the beach and two blocks from Duvall Street. We had a 2 bedroom suite and a pull out couch with a complete fully stocked kitchen for the price of two hotel rooms. We had a pool level and the landscaping provided great privacy. They provided free fruit and smoothies daily at the pools and free beer and wine during happy hour. The staff was very friendly and had many great recommendations for excellent restaurants. They also provide turn down service, including Dove chocolates and ice cream. We would definitely staff here again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank simonerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Santa Maria Resorts in Key West! The staff were all so helpful, especially Christie. We would strongly recommend this resort, especially the two story suites with kitchen and washer/dryer. Many thanks to all that make this resort so special.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallyrunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Very near the southernmost point. It is a small boutique hotel. There are 4 of us sharing a bi-level 2 bedroom suite with a full beautiful kitchen. We get nightly Dove ice cream bars and chocolates on our beds at turn down. There is a happy hour with complimentary wine, smoothies, pita chips and hummus. The staff is delightful and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barney73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites Hotel

Address: 1401 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $391 - $908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Maria Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing