We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Key West Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Key West Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I just returned home from a weekend at the Santa Maria Suites. We confirmed a 2 Bedroom Luxury Suite as we stayed with another couple. Living in Fort Lauderdale, we have made numerous weekend trips down to the Keys but this was by far THE BEST experience.

First off, the Santa Maria Suites is extremely attractive. It has a quaint, intimate, yet luxury feel to it. From the street it appears almost "art deco" and very trendy. When you pass through the Reception area you are taken back by the gorgeous swimming pool area. The landscaping and palm trees make the pool area feel like a lush little oasis. There is a friendly pool concierge ready to prepare you a cocktail or complimentary smoothie.

Our arrival experience was warm and friendly. Derek checked us in and was extremely welcoming and knowledgeable. He even assisted us with our scooter rentals (which I highly recommend (versus trying to take your car into the Duval Street area). The scooters were delivered directly to us at the resort within a half hour and the pricing was just as competitive as some other nearby rental places that we had researched in advance of our arrival. Might as well save yourself the trouble...have the front desk order these for you!

Our Suite was incredibly spacious, modern and clean. We had the master bedroom/bathroom. Our bathroom featured a double-head shower which was quite nice and two sinks. We slept super well (and my husband has a terrible back). I was told that the beds were Temperpedic, but I'm not 100% certain. The Reservations Manager, Jodi (super sweet) knowing that my husband and I were recently married, sent a gorgeous fruit basket and bucket of Coronas to our room. What a nice surprise! The cold beer was the perfect way to kick start our weekend getaway….and very thoughtful.

I heard that the restaurant on-site is fabulous, but we didn't have the opportunity to experience it first hand. It looked busy in the evenings- which is always a good sign.

The resort charges a nominal Resort Fee, but includes parking, smoothies, bottled water and Wi-Fi. You CAN NOT beat that! These are all amenities one would take advantage of anyway. We didn't even have to pay an addt'l fee for lounge chairs at the beach. The beach is s short walk from the hotel…also a great feature.

I would definitely return to the Santa Maria Suites on our next visit to Key West. Perfect location (near Duval Street and ocean/beach area), luxurious spacious rooms, no nickel & diming and AMAZING staff.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor Suite, which was nice as we could sit in our lounge chairs on the patio (in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rarelywritesreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,443
    198
    49
    15
    8
See reviews for
686
508
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

This place was super nice and comfy and the staff was beyond accommodating. We travelled with another couple and this place was perfect because there are two king suites and you can meet in the middle (kitchen/living room) to hang out. Our unit opened right up to the pool, which was really nice and convenient. The amenities and decor were top notch, from granite and marble surfaces to stainless appliances and a full kitchen to a full size washer dryer. This is a block from duval (the quieter end) and a block from the beach. Free smoothies and dove ice cream snacks were a nice treat and the uber accommodating (and just plain nice) staff are there to help you book anything from excusions to restaurants to bikes. An amazing sushi restaurant is attached to the hotel. They have a bike vendor that will drop bikes off for your stay and you simply leave the bikes locked up when you check out. Spacious, clean, quiet yet close to action. Feels like a home more than a hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rainybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Santa Maria Suites is an excellent place to stay in Key West. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and well looked after. The whole place was very clean. The staff were very friendly and very helpful giving us plenty of places to eat, things to see and do. the small touches were ideal with free choc ices and muffins in the room every day. Happy hour from 4.00pm to 5.30pm with free wine. Well located and everyplace is in walking distance. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFHSCOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Outstanding in every facet of hotelery.As a former road warrior, and now retired,this was one of the best boutique hotels.Stayed with family in 2 bedroom suite with full kitchen,3 TV's and frozen dove ice cream bars,and fresh muffins delivered each day.Located at Southernmost point,it is walkable everywhere and near the trolley stop.Complimentary wine each afternoon and free smoothies at all times.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better than lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jjdaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had a four night stay at Santa Maria Suites, in a bi-level two bedroom suite, which was very nice.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, the pool area was nice and calm. The suites had a modern and coze feeling. The second bedroom of our suite was a little bit tight for two people, and had the air condition fan right outside the window, which was a little bit noisy. So if you have the opportunity grab the master bedroom (which also has a nicer bath):)
The beach was a short 2min walk away, where we got complimentary sun beds.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guestman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

From check in till check out it was 100% perfect. The 2 bedroom apartment is nicely decorated, clean and well maintained. Little details added to make your stay worry free. Very pleasant atmosphere throughout the hotel. A nice stroll to Duval street for the action, or to the beach for some fun there.
Our only regret is that we booked 2 nights, because we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trudydubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was our second time staying at the SMS. Lovely pool area, a lot of plants that provide both color and some privacy. The rooms are very nice and modern with all the necessary items to cook a full meal to washing your clothes. We had a second floor two bedroom this time and I really enjoyed the balcony which was shaded most of the day and looked out over the pool area. My only comment pertains to housekeeping...slow down and make sure there is toilet paper and the wine cooler doesn't have a block of ice inside.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvToTvl2578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing