We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Can't wait to return!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I will NEVER stay anywhere else. The staff is fabulous, gotta love free wine by the pool in the afternoon, free bottled water and reasonable drink prices for all other drinks. The 2-bedroom suites are equivalent to a condo. The hotel is on the quiet side of the island, so if you want to be close to the noise this is not the place for you. You must enter and exit the property through the office which makes this a very secure hotel. The staff knows who is staying on property and you get a friendly greeting coming and going. My only complaint is the 2 bedroom suites need a full-sized coffee pot. If that is all I could find wrong then they are doing everything right!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank roadwarrior106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
There are newer reviews for Santa Maria Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,193 - 1,199 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I are what you call maximizers. We want the best at fair cost. Before coming here we checked out a lot of hotels and their reviews. This hotel was amongst the best rated, well.... there was no lie in that. The rooms ar awesome and have everything you can wish for. The kitchen included. My girl is pregnant so we requested a room with kingsize bed. That is not something you can select when booking. The hotel staff gave us a double room apartment with one king size bed, how is that for service! The staff is very friendly,Everything is new, clean and well organized. The pool services complimetary drinks such as smoothies, wine water and also fresh fruit. Normally we like to also stay at the beach but ther is no need for that here. The beach is close by but it smells and there is a lot of weed and the water is not clear at all. Again this would not stop us from booking again. The price is not very cheap but when you buy groceries and make breakfast and lunch yourself you also save a lot of money. When you take that into account the hotel is cheap when looking at service, amenities and state of the property. All and all a hotel I would highly recommend. Next to this hotel is 'The Reach'. You would pay parkinng and a day and higher resort fee. Parking is free of charge here and resortfee is 10 bugs lower.

Room Tip: We were in room 11 which is at the side of the resort away from the main road nearby and not too clo...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BesTrippr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

When you pull up to the Santa Maria, you can tell that you've arrived at a very special place. And then... you walk into the Santa Maria..... and YOU LOSE YOUR BREATH!! In a good way, of course! They make check-in so quick and easy so that you can walk right through the glass doorway from the lobby to....well....Eden! This place is so unique, so inviting, so beautiful, so comfortable and so perfect. The doorways to each suite face the pools and garden, creating a very "we're all going to have the best time together" sort of feeling. The best part, you don't have to be all together with other guests if you don't want because each suite has its own veranda with loung chair and chairs and table, all surrounded by beautiful plants and flowers that provide the perfect amount of privacy. Every afternoon at the pool is happy hour with complementary wine, smoothies and chips and dips! They really thought of everything!

The interior of the suite was just incredible - so well done! It truly was so unique, like nothing we've experienced - and we've travelled our fair share. Not to mention the fresh muffins they provided in the morning - what a way to start the day.

If you're looking for a place that makes you feel like you've really "gotten away from it all" and that defines relaxing, you will not go wrong! My wife and I are already talking about dates for our next visit!!!

Room Tip: If you want direct sun when relaxing on the private veranda, choose a 2nd floor room facing the pool...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NRBAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I took my husband to key west to celebrate his birthday. Based on the recommendations of others on trip advisor, we chose Santa maria suites. We loved it! Everything was great. The space, the staff, the other guests were cool, and the location was just fine. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

After lots of research and discussions with Derek the concierge and Steve the GM, all of our expectations were met. We loved all the activities that were planned for us, jet skiing, bikes delivered, and reservations.

The hotel was small and quaint. We described it as a boutique hotel, not a big resort, which is what we were looking for. For those of a certain generation, we felt like we were in "Melrose Place". We were in a group of 16people, but still enjoyed getting to know the other hotel guests.

The rooms had all the amenities of a home: laundry, full kitchens. The bedrooms were small, but had plenty of closet space and areas to keep your things. The rooms were very quiet.

Derek was amazing, he should be given a big raise!! I love having opinions and suggestions going into a trip, I like all the decisions to be made ahead of time, Derek helped with all that.

The night life was more than we expected, we had very late nights. Some nights we walked back from Duvall street and other times we took a cab. Cabs were easy to get and inexpensive.

Room Tip: ground level to avoid stairs
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichelleBartels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We just stayed 3 days and 3 nights at the Santa Maria Suites. It was so easy to get around town from this location. Our concierge Nordie set us up with some rental bikes and we used them to go to all of our site seeing destinations.
The suite itself was spacious and clean. The grounds of the Stanta Maria Suites were well kept and the pool was refreshing. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMelloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

There were 3 of us, so we had a two-bedroom suite. The first floor of our suite had a living area, high-end kitchen and half bath. The upstairs had two bedrooms, each with its own bath. This was really luxurious vacationing. The beds were very comfy. It's interesting though that the master bedroom was a little tight on space. There's about a foot on either side of the bed, so one ends up bumping into one's spouse quite a bit!

The whole facility is impeccably maintained. I'm not sure where they could put this, but I missed having a common space (lounge) to go to work or read. Agree that a loaner DVD collection and some books are a nice touch at resorts of this caliber.

I can't say enough about Derek, the concierge. I adored him. He was helpful and very well informed. He remembered our names and our room number (for charges). We became conditioned to get "home" in time for happy hour so that we could have our smoothies and wine by the pool. The pool is heated/salt water - a heavenly combination. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweetietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites Hotel

Address: 1401 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $323 - $762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Santa Maria Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing