We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing short of Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing short of Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was my 2nd visit to the Santa Maria Suites. I did not think they could improve from my 1st experience but to my benefit the experience was even better than before. The greeting upon my arrival was excellent. The 2 room suite by the pools was decorated perfectly for the keys and equipped with everything you can imagine. My youngest child is not hooked on Dove bars after getting them FREE day and night. The smoothies by the pool were delicious and FREE! It is not about the money – it the experience they create by offering services rarely found at resorts. We enjoyed the resort so much we extended our stay an extra day cutting short another resort stay because we knew they could not match the comfort and service at the Santa Maria. My congratulations to Mr. Mungall for running a world class suite resort.

Room Tip: They are all great but I prefer the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMBBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,413
    195
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
667
501
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Went to KW for a girls get away and stayed at Santa Maria. We had a two bedroom suite for our party of three. The suites are very nicely decorated - modern, sleek and clean. The beds were comfortable (so was the pullout couch) and 2 1/2 baths was perfect for three women. The staff is also absolutely wonderful. When we checked in we were greeted by Ken, who promptly offered us something from the happy hour menu and escorted us to meet Derek by the pool. Derek is absolutely one of the best hotel staff members that I've had the pleasure of meeting. He's friendly and so helpful. The other young lady that works in the pool area on the weekends was great too.

Santa Maria emphasizes the small details and I think that's what really sets the hotel apart from others. The complimentary pool side happy hour, free smoothies all day, nightly dove bars/chocolates/muffins and turn down service are great complements to the friendly staff, location and nicely decorated, well maintained rooms.

We loved our stay and can not wait to return to Santa Maria!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFLGirl703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We loved our two bedroom suite. We are a family of 5 and found this to be perfect for us. The rooms are beautiful, modern and extremely well appointed. We loved having the kitchen and we had two kings which was perfect for us. I would highly recommend this to others. We loved Derek at the concierge he was very helpful and friendly. We loved the wine at happy hour and our kids loved the smoothies all day long. The location was perfect and the rooms are so sound proof we never heard a thing. Just what you want on vacation. All the staff was friendly we would definitely stay here again if we were to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cicero59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Outsanding hotel. Room is better than perfect, large bedrooms excellent beds, outstanding equipment - tv s in each bedroom and salon, real laundry with washing machine and drying machine, full y équiped kitchen including friche and freezer. Everything is beautiful, design furnished.... There s no breakfast but free tea and cofee in the suite, plus fresh muffins délibères every morning for tour NeXT breakfast. On top it s vert central so that you have excellent restaurants or take away s d'or every meal at a 5 minutes walk. A lot of family with kids, excellent pool area, very relaxing and 2 bedrooms suites are perfect for familles. Excellent concierge service that arrange tour leisure. This ressort CAN easily compete with mots of 5 *.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaki_mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Fantastic accommodation, excellent service. Huge thanks to Derek the concierge for his wealth of knowledge and patience in making the best iced coffee - delicious! Kids age 16,15 and 10 had a ball.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gowerfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

As first time travelers to Key West, we didn't know where the best places to stay were. We hit the jackpot on the first try! Not too far from the "action" but far enough to feel like we were in our own paradise. Our concierge by the pool - Derek - was great. He was interested in making sure we were taken care of and finding the best ways to enjoy the area. Everything was as advertised - yes there are free smoothies by the pool & muffins in the morning! Although the hotel was full, it did not seem crowded. It's not huge, so they're able to give great service.
we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naskam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

From the moment we checked it, we found nothing but friendliness and helpfulness. Wolfgang gave us the break down on what to expect in the hotel area as well as some local night life. We found everything he told us to be very helpful at some point during our stay.
The rooms were sized well enough for us and at no time did we have any trouble. The only hotel room change I would make is a larger coffee pot. We had a two bedroom suite, but the coffee pot made 2 cups.
While sitting by the pool we found Derek and Summer to be very friendly and helpful in booking events. They made you feel as though they could not do enough for you. The pool area itself was very relaxing. The smoothies and the happy hour were a definite bonus that we learned of in our stay.
Unfortunately we did not get to try Ambrosia Restaurant during our stay. From the outside though, it appeared to be very refined.
We stayed here a total of 3 nights and have no complaints about any of them from checking in, staying, relaxing, parking and checking out. I recommend this place to anybody looking to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shevchja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing