We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully managed,Comfortable atmostphere”
Review of Caribbean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caribbean House
Ranked #51 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed for 4 days in April and wish it could have been longer. The owners made us feel as comfortable as family and all of our neighbors were friends before we left. We couldn't have ask for a better place to spend our time while in Key West. The restaurants and general store in the neighborhood was convenient and fun. We loved Blue Heaven. We could walk everywhere we went and yet enjoy our quiet little neighborhood. I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happynowDestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 261 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

Our stay was for 3 days. Couldn't ask for a better location, 3 blocks from Duval, across the corner from Blue Heaven, an easy bike ride to Old Town and must-see sights. The owners are fantastic, so hospitable. The room was very clean and the property well maintained. Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AERogers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend several years ago. The owner are very nice, the place was soooo clean and it was an easy walk to everything we wanted to see. We also were able to bring our little dog which was great!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaElaine32605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in March. This location is close enough to Duvall St., a short 5 minute walk but far enough from all the noise. I meet people that stayed on Duvall St and they said it was too noisy to sleep. People party till the early morning hours on Duval St.
Rooms were very clean and well kept and were offered at a great price. The only minor complaint would be that the rooms were really small but I got the impression most hotel rooms in Key West had similar size rooms. Owners were also helpful and friendly.
We went down to Sunset pier to watch the sunset one night, it gets crowded so you have to get there early if you want a table, order some food, drinks and relax while the band is playing.
The next morning we took a flight with Key West Seaplane Adventures. We took off from the Key West Airport and landed on the water at the Dry Tortugas National Park. This is the hardest Naional Park to get to, can only get there by float plane or boat. It was amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonnencosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We were two couples; we stayed in room 4 downstairs, our friends stayed in room 9 upstairs. The rooms are very small but clean & comfortable. Marie is so friendly & makes you feel at home. The price can't be beat & neither can the location - it's within walking distance of all the usual Key West spots. We ate breakfast at a couple of French places Marie recommended nearby & they were good. If you're needing spaciousness this is not your place; the bathroom is quite small, as is the shower, & there are window A/C units. It's not a lounging-around-all-day kind of room, & it's more of an inn or motel rather than a hotel. Nice little balcony or outdoor sitting area though, cute decorations, free nearby parking, & pet-friendly.
When we got home to Atlanta I realized I had left my pajamas in the room. I called the number, Marie answered the phone, & cheerily & promptly sent me back my PJs. Merci Marie, we enjoyed our trip to Key West & our stay at the Caribbean House!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coastal6107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I can't really compare this B&B to anything because it was the first time I have stayed in a B&B. I can however say that it was clean, tidy and comfortable with a very helpful and informative owner who made sure we were all right. It was close to all entertainment, bars and restaurants in the lower Key West and had many cafe breakfast venues around it. Parking is not easy but it seems that is a common complaint around the area. We did enjoy our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Just book on line we had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Key Largo for our honeymoon. We received a Jet Ski Tour from Barefoot Billy's as a gift and were just going to drive to Key West for the day. Well, my parents surprised us with a nights stay at the Caribbean House as a wedding gift. We LOVED it. It was small, clean and cozy, which is just what we needed as we were just there to explore Key West. The location alone is worth the money. This is close to everything. We planned doing our jet ski tour at noon and exploring Key West at night and driving back to Key Largo in the morning. We ended up staying in Key West until 8pm! It was a great time. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: This is not a stay a week with a family in kind of hotel. It was great for our overnight stay, and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJS3911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.3 mi away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#9 of 77 in Key West
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#61 of 77 in Key West
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#54 of 77 in Key West
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duval Inn
The Duval Inn
#52 of 77 in Key West
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean House

Address: 226 Petronia St, Key West, FL 33040-7374
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $144 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Key West Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of Old Town Key West. This fantastic spot in Old Town is just 2 block from Duval Street. Blue Heaven, Firefly, Santiago's Bodega and Blue Macaw restaurants are within 1 blocks of our door, walking distance to Fort Zachary Taylor State Park Walk an the famous Sunset Celebration at Mallory Square. Come enjoy our new Complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast served daily. We are minutes to Hemingway House, Key West Lighthouse, Southernmost Point and much more Off-Street Parking for 4 cars (based upon availability) at just $15/day- a rare find in Old Town Key West FREE WiFi - Check-In and post pictures of your vacation Shops and Entertainment at your fingertips ​ The Caribbean House is a charming and unique Bed and Breakfast located in Bahama Village Key West. Our location in the heart of Old Town Key West, along with our unusually reasonable prices earns us the title of the “Best accommodations at the best price in Key West.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caribbean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing