We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Azul Key West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Azul Key West
Ranked #48 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
south florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice get away”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just returned from a 3 day/2 night get away to Key West, and stayed at the Azul. Our manager during our stay was Gail, and she was terrific. Very helpful & gave us lots of tips for enjoying our trip. We had booked 3 rooms several months ago online, and had found the Azul on Tripadvisor. I will admit it was much nicer than the photos that appeared on their website.

The location was convenient, close to Duval, yet away from the crazy crowds. The rooms were very clean, and seemed to be recently renovated. Breakfast was very nice. They had lots of tropical cut fruit, fresh muffins, cereal, tropical yogurts, toast, hard boiled eggs & juices. We were situated upstairs on the pool deck over looking the pool.

That said, there were a few issues that i thought I should bring up. My husband & I stayed in the Flor de Cana. If you are someone who needs a dark room to sleep....this isn't it. There are no black out shades on either the door or the very large window in the room that faces ENE. The wall mounted air-conditioner was extremely noisy. By the second night I thought I was hearing someone scrapping paint outside, but came to realize it was just a crazy sound coming from the AC. Our mattress was sinking in the center, so we tended to roll into each other all night. Finally, the shower in our room had very weak pressure & continually went from warm to scalding while we showered. Now, in fairness to the Azul, our friends in the 2 adjoining rooms claimed they had really strong shower pressure & great mattresses. They were also in rooms that were much darker, with smaller windows not facing the sun in the morning.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the Azul & I'd stay there again, but in a different room.

Room Tip: Very early risers who like bright rooms & a lot of AC noise while they sleep would like the Flor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    104
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
18
362
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
407 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Azul Key West has the classic KW appearance, with white clapperboard, endless balconies and an inviting pool in the centre. Rebecca on reception was extremely helpful and went to lengths to orientate us to the delights that KW has to offer, which included advising on, and booking, the best restaurants. She also mentioned that the rooms didn't have fridges and that cooling wine entailed filling a cooler with ice and then carrying that to one's room, which didn't sound ideal. On other days, Michael was on duty and he was equally helpful.

Our room was on the top floor and described as the "luxury suite". This has to be accessed via a narrow spiral staircase which definitely isn't for those who are obese, scared of heights or carrying oversized suitcases. Initial impressions of the room were very favourable: a long room under the eaves with a king size bed at one end and a seating area at the other. But it didn't take long for niggles to emerge. Because of the construction of the space, the bathroom is underneath where two eaves slope down. This creates a very cramped space, particularly if you're more than average height, so doing just about anything in the bathroom means stooping. The shower and bath were similarly affected by the height restrictions and we also noticed long hairs in the bath that shouldn't have been there. The grouting around the edge of the bath was less than adequate. Surprisingly, there was no way to lock or even close the bathroom door properly. Long hairs were also to be found in our bed when we got up the first morning and they certainly weren't ours.

Breakfast is complementary and there are tables and chairs on the front deck. This is strictly self-service and there's a good range of fresh fruit, boxed cereals, bread, jams and fresh coffee. Yoghurts are synthetic and glutinous despite the 'probiotic' label. As there are only four tables, sharing is often necessary but this is a good way of finding out what's good in KW.

Because of the layout of the deck and balconies, there's no one spot that gets sun all day long. The deck immediately in front of the breakfast area is best during the morning and the balcony on the floor overlooking the pool is good in the afternoon. The luxury suite has its own balcony which is long and narrow, but it's not a good spot for the sun and gets rather breezy.

Overall, a classic place to stay in that's peaceful and well away from the madness of Duval Street. There are some minor niggles, but that's made up for by the general atmosphere of the place and Rebecca and Michael's genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Park, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location - walk to all the action on Duval. The staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The grounds are well kept and provide an overall great atmosphere. I will definitely stay here again on future trips.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mykmarquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Azul while visiting Key West for the first time last weekend, and I couldn't have been happier with my experience at the hotel. I'd definitely stay there again if -- or should I say when -- I go back.

Loved that it was located a short walk from town -- it was like returning to a hidden oasis after the hustle and bustle of the tourist area (and the pool in back is especially lovely).

The room was beautifully appointed, replete with porch which we made good use of. Breakfast in the morning was the perfect casual way to start the day, and Michael was a wonderfully friendly, helpful, and attentive manager. The place is just so relaxing -- Azul is a gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Corona...the rooms in the back are probably naturally more quiet, although ours th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Charming old house, convenient location and fantastic service. Michael was so helpful--suggesting restaurants that the locals love, attractions that we thoroughly enjoyed, and other hints that made our short trip very special. Our room was tiny yet pleasant, although I would have liked brighter lighting for reading.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is the second time we stayed at Azul - this time to celebrate my 50th birthday. The mansion is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is very good. What makes Azul the bed and breakfast go/to for us though is Michael. He's everything you could ask for in a concierge. He's not only attentive to his guests, he's fun. We did not spend much time with Becca but she also is very attentive and quite nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
561 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been a few times in Key West. We spent this time the new eve holidays. A plus for the azul is certainly the fact that the policy for this period is flexible: not the usual 4 or 5 nights. The mansion is nice, a feeling of historic. Your hosts are really helpful and available. A nice swimming pool but not really with a good orientation (not really sunny) and the place to stay around is limited. I think the best is ask a room upstairs with terrace. Our room was clean but not really updated (and the same for the bathroom). That's mean: maybe not a good value for the price. The breakfast is nice. Totally: average but a good option in case of strict policy. The situation is really good (not far from duval street)

Room Tip: ask upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
725 reviews
0.6 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#12 of 77 in Key West
908 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelers Palm Inn
Travelers Palm Inn
#40 of 77 in Key West
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#33 of 77 in Key West
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Pensione Inn
La Pensione Inn
#60 of 77 in Key West
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Key West

Property: Azul Key West
Address: 907 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Azul Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul Key West is a classic Queen Anne mansion listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Three buildings surrounding a sparkling blue pool with tri-level decks overlooking old town and the gardens of Key West. A classy blend of tropical modern and historic, Azul offers off-street parking, breakfast and WI-FI. Just three blocks from Duval Street and a short walk to everything else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Azul Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Key West Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing