We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with friends!”
Review of Knowles House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knowles House B&B
Ranked #28 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was our 4th visit to Key West as a couple, having stayed previously at Heron House on Simonton and twice at the La Concha Crowne Plaza. We really feel like you don't get the true essence of Key West unless you stay at one of the funky, friendly, unique guesthouses. We love the harborfront area so selected Knowles House for our recent stay (to be honest, also chose it based on some of the hotel's hilarious responses to negative reviews here on TripAdvisor). We enjoy visiting Duval but not staying too close; we like it to be an option rather than a constant battle against the tide of spring-breakers to get where we want to go. We love to walk, but if you're more of a riding person there are many options for renting bicycles, mopeds, golf carts, even the old-fashioned "taxicab" method if you're so inclined.

At first, we spent 3 nights in the Country Cottage room, which is spacious and light and homey - so many people recommended it their reviews that I had to go for it! The king bed was VERY comfy, with all kinds of pillows (including some antique embroidered throw pillows to complete the look of the vintage quilt). There is only a shower (no tub) in the bathroom, but having 24-hr access to the small pool and the outdoor jacuzzi made that a non-issue! Though the house itself is quite old, the rooms are well-appointed with a mini-fridge, flat screen TV, and other thoughtful amenities like Q-tips, makeup remover pads, bathrobes, and importantly: earplugs! I had heard the Cottage room could be a bit noisy due to it facing busy Eaton St (the room also has its own porch on Eaton, with chairs for people-watching). Honestly, there was not much street noise between midnight & 7am, other than the occasional rescue-vehicle siren, but there is a very vocal rooster who lives right next door and wants to serenade right into your window from 3am-6am! It was kind of hilarious and very Key-West-ish, but at some point a person needs to sleep, and the earplugs worked just great. There is a small, pretty window near the ceiling that lets in plenty of morning light, so bring a sleep mask if that bothers you. The room also comes equipped with a cute teddy bear in case you forget yours!

We realized a few weeks before arriving that we would be able to stay an additional night, and unfortunately the Cottage Room had already been sold for that night but they were able to book us into the Caribbean Room for the last night. They kindly moved all our luggage for us and gave us new keys before we wandered off for the day, and offered to move any food in the mini-fridge to the one in the new room. The Caribbean is upstairs inside the house, facing the pool, and much quieter (it was also hotter on our last night so the A/C unit ran a lot more too, nice for white noise). It's smaller but still very comfy and adorable with pink Hawaii-themed bedding - a location ironically NOT in the Caribbean, but when a room is this cute who can argue? The bathroom is teeny and up a small step - I could really have used a nightlight but surprisingly managed to get around in the dark without stumbling (who can say THAT after 4 days of partying in Key West)?

The property is lovely with tons of character. The pool is TINY but refreshing (Christina looked at us with absolute seriousness and warned "No diving!" - we laughed out loud), and the jacuzzi after dark was just what the doctor ordered. There's also a rooftop deck with chaise lounges for sunbathing or moonbathing after your swim. Breakfast is served daily with a variety of hot and cold treats, included with your room fees and quite delicious. But the best part, truly, are the hosts. Christina greeted us upon arrival as if we were old friends, and made us feel like we were welcome and trusted pals with the run of the kitchen, patio, pools, etc. She even offered us a glass of beer or wine to sip while we settled in, which was much-needed after a long rush-hour drive down US-1 on a Friday afternoon! Each day she seemed very happy to see us and help with anything, including arranging our transportation to the airport on the last morning so we wouldn't have to worry.

Though there is some road/chicken noise if you're facing the street, the walls are virtually impenetrable! I've never stayed anyplace so quiet, in that respect - if I hadn't seen other guests milling around at breakfast, I never would have known we weren't the only ones there! It was just wonderful - friendly, interesting, romantic, fun - we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Cottage Room is quite spacious and well located, but you'll need those earplugs. The smaller roo...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanniepep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
There are newer reviews for Knowles House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 563 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

In no small measure, the great time we had on Key West was the direct result of the hospitality we found from Christina, Les, Magda and all the guests at the Knowles House B&B. The warmth, comfort, friendship along with each morning's quiche was just about the best we've encountered at any bed and breakfast anywhere. In fact during one afternoon's wine hour (or two), some guests returned from a fishing trip and served up huge portions of just caught mackerel and yellowtail snapper -- your choice: blackened or fried -- to all the guests gathered on the covered patio by the plunge pool. It's that kind of place.

Room Tip: The Country Cottage room was fresh, clean and well appointed. The only downside were the roosters wh...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great location if you want to get away from the excitement of Duval St. yet close enough to walk to it. Boardwalk with all the boats and restaurants begins just a few blocks away. Hosts Les and Paul could not have been more welcoming and accommodative. This is a very small B&B but that is meant to be complimentary as it has a very homelike atmosphere. Pool, deck and hot tub were nestled below huge slowly swaying bamboo trees which always reminded you that you were on an island in the gulf stream. We loved Key West and the Knowles House

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevskimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent four nights here in early February, and it was a great location from which to visit Key West. We were in the Caribbean room with a king size bed (VERY comfortable!) and lively Caribbean themed decor. It faced the charming small garden and was very quiet. Les and Paul and Christina were all delightful and helpful hosts, making some excellent suggestions and reservations for us at restaurants and activities. They are about five blocks from Duval, two blocks from a trolley stop, and only three from the Ferry terminal and dock, so are well within a comfortable walking distance to pretty much everything in town. The breakfasts in the lovely garden each morning were a delightful way to start each day, and we also enjoyed the offered wine or soda at the end of the day. They even allowed us to leave our luggage with them the day we checked out so we could take the ferry to the Dry Tortugas. A delightful experience!

Room Tip: Since it is an old home, the bedrooms are not large, but they are very comfortable. Our room faced t...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyNinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The owners, Les and Paul, do a wonderful job making you feel welcome. The rooms are very pleasant and the home made breakfast was very good. Knowles House is a short walk (about 3 blocks) from the Ferry dock. We enjoyed walking around town so their location allowed us to check out the island and go "downtown" without having to be in "downtown". They were very accommodating about watching our luggage during our check out day until we were ready to leave for the return ferry.

Room Tip: The blue room is near the front on the house and you can hear roosters. We stayed in the red room an...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed the first weekend in December for the Pirates Festival and Holiday Parade. As usual, Christina made us feel like we were family arriving home - she could not be friendlier or more welcoming. We missed Les and Paul since they were traveling, a shame because its always a treat to visit with them.

Knowles House is a great place to stay in Paradise - we especially love the rooms in the pool area. It is located near the harbor which has so many great restaurants and is so wonderfully decorated for the holidays. It is a five block walk to Duval Street, a good thing since you are away from the noise and celebrations there. The cost of the rooms is quite good for a historic B&B in Old Town and one of the remaining few actually run by the owners.

The pool is a small plunge pool, just right for cooling off after a warm day spent exploring and riding bikes around town. And for late night relaxing, yu can't beat the hot tub.

Magda keeps the rooms spotless and gets the nice breakfast ready each morning. I especially love the quiche and fresh fruit. All of the rooms have small refrigerators, handy for keeping snacks and a bottle of wine cool. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious.

Our favorite place is the outside porch area in the evening, wine in hand, chatting with other guests and enjoying this beautiful property.
We've already booked for December 2014 - come join us!

Room Tip: The poolside rooms are right next to breakfast, the pool and the hot tub - very convenient.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLSPalmBeachGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for a week in Key West and bought a package from Knowles House that included passes to a number of local attractions. It was a great deal; Christina helped us make reservations for some of the events. We had one of the smaller, older rooms (Country French room) that faces the street, and had been warned about noise in a street-front room. Eaton street is noisy even into the wee hours of the morning, but it wasn't a problem for us--ear plugs, A/C running, exhaustion---no trouble sleeping! The breakfast was good and plentiful, and nice to have available whenever we were ready instead of by-appointment as with many B&Bs. Our room was comfy, cool, and perfectly adequate for what we needed. We peeked into the newer rooms that are right off the patio-- they are very nice and would be wonderful for more than two people. But our older smaller room was equally clean and well-appointed with a fridge, closet, chest and nice big bathroom. Paul, Les and Christina made some great recommendations for restaurants---we enjoyed Cafe Sole, Rooftop Cafe and Azur especially. We spent three of our days there Scuba diving, one day on a sailing/kayak/snorkel trip with Danger Charters (highly recommended), and a couple of days walking, walking, walking to all the various museums, shops and restaurants. Knowles House is located so that you can walk to wherever you want in the Old Town area, Duval street, and the waterfront. We didn't rent a car or even bicycles. We used one of the free passes to ride the trolley to the other side of the island to see some of the sights over there, which was a nice change of pace from walking everywhere. We found Key West to be a very busy town--no sense of the "laid-back island" feel we expected---even in the lower season when we were there (June). But we had a great vacation and Knowles House was a lovely place to land every night.

Room Tip: Street-front rooms are noisier but was not a problem for us. Larger, newer rooms surround the dippi...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingLight421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#31 of 77 in Key West
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#12 of 77 in Key West
890 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#18 of 77 in Key West
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.5 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westwinds Inn
Westwinds Inn
#45 of 77 in Key West
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knowles House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knowles House B&B

Address: 1004 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $153 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knowles House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Knowles House Bed And Breakfast
Knowles House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing