We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COSY and wonderful!”
Review of Knowles House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knowles House B&B
Ranked #31 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
miami
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“COSY and wonderful!”
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We went to Knowles house about a year a go, I loved the place so much that I felt I should write a review! The hosts of the B&B are Les and Paul, both equally wonderful and helpful. It was our first time in the Keys and we were hoping to get the real feel for the keys, Knowles house was exactly that. It is small and cozy, clean and we felt right at home. Once my little one is older we plan on stying there again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lemzeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    70
    19
    12
    5
See reviews for
34
396
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Upon arrival Les was wonderful. Knowles House was the perfect B&B with great hospitality at every point in our stay. Close to the historic sea port, far enough away from the noise of Duval. Les and Paul were the perfect hosts, always answering questions, making reservations, and guiding us to wonderful destinations. Definitely recommend the package deal and making sure you stay in Key West at least three days. Little White House, Snorkeling, and the Dolphin Research Center are musts!

  • Liked — morning breakfast and afternoon complimentary drinks
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Michael_deBlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2008

We recently spent two nights at the Knowles House. It was our first trip to Key West. We stayed in the Country Cottage room, which was spacious and inviting (king-sized bed, vaulted ceiling, beautifully decorated). Les was a gracious host, helping us with restaurant reservations and tips about what to do in our limited time on the island.
Knowles house is a place we would be happy to visit again.

  • Liked — Great room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LindaAnnCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, FL
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2008

It took me several years to convince my husband to stay at a B&B. (He was certain that we wouldn't have privacy, it would smell musty, or we would have to socialize with the other guests.) Our stay at the Knowles House was a turning point for him! None of his concerns were evident in our stay with our hosts, Les and Paul.

We were greeted immediately upon arrival and offered an ice cold drink as we toured the quaint property. Each room is decorated in tasteful style with an eclectic mixture of antiques, folk art, and pieces from world travel. The colors and textures are magnificent and added to the comfortable "at home" feel. Each detail from ear plugs to cotton swabs was provided. The bedding was cozy and we slept like babies!

In the evening, the pool and patio area are transformed into a peaceful gathering spot. A glass of wine, the garden bathed in tiny white lights, and memories of a great day of sight seeing- what a wonderful way to end a day in Key West!

We simply MUST return, because we did not try the hot tub or the private outdoor shower. I asked Les and Paul if I could be their new "sister" so we can have frequent family reunions!!!
Susan and Gary, Brandon, FL

  • Liked — Genuine and personal hospitality of Les and Paul
  • Disliked — Having to go home
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2008

I booked this thinking we would need a place to sleep and shower. I had no idea how incredibly helpful, welcoming, friendly, and above the call of duty Les and Paul would make us feel while we were there. Les and Paul make sure you know that this is home, home-base, or whatever you call your "humble-abode"! This makes the difference between Knowles and the rest of the island. The rooms are clean! The bathroom immaculate! There were extra towels and an endless supply of beach towels!!!! The jacuzzi was just what we needed after a long day of sight seeing! Les and Paul suggested the big sights as well as off the beaten' path places that were the local favorites!!! Absolutely unforgettable vacation and will definitely be back next year!!! Don't miss this place.....you won't regret it!

  • Liked — We were able to leave our luggage after check out until time to catch the ferry! Excellent amenity!!!
  • Disliked — There is nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AmySeguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Knowles House for 3 nights...and we wanted to stay forever! The rooms are so clean, along with the kitchen and back patio. Breakfast is out on the patio and is very refreshing. They even provide you with earplugs because Key West is full of so many morning noises. It seems that Les and Paul thought of everything. They were great! Next time I am in Key West, they are definitely my first choice!

  • Liked — The owners were friendly and the house was so clean/welcoming.
  • Disliked — Loved it all!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cquinn210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross GA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

I can't say enough about Les and Paul and the Knowles house. Let me start with clean oh my everything stayed spotless from the main rooms the meeting areas to our room. We loved our location such an easy walk to everything and the lively parts of duval and the historic sea front. Les and Paul helped us rent a electric car and also returned it for us so we could depart early morning which was great! They even picked up a birthday cake for my husband and where so very nice it made you feel like your staying with family. I would definetly recommend this B & B to all my friends and will stay here on a return trip.

  • Liked — location and value
  • Disliked — nothing negative to say
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partyofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#13 of 77 in Key West
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
0.4 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knowles House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knowles House B&B

Property: Knowles House B&B
Address: 1004 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knowles House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knowles House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knowles House Bed And Breakfast
Knowles House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing