We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Paris Room is Perfect”
Review of Knowles House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knowles House B&B
Ranked #28 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Knowles House for the weekend. What a great time. Bubbly Christina (the managing innkeeper) welcomed us with a smile. The room was spacious, clean and perfectly decorated.

We were fortunate enough to meet Paul and Les, the owners of the Inn. Great people, good times. They have a way of making you feel very welcome. An awesome location. Just steps from Turtle Kraals, the Key West express boat, and a stroll down the boardwalk to Duval street.

Thanks, we will be back!
Annette and Judy

Room Tip: Pick the Paris room of you can. Quiet, and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoMuchGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 576 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Knowles House. Loved our poolside room. Would definitely stay there again. It is not on the main strip but a nice walk away. Closer to the port area where all the boats dock. A small B & B - 8 rooms - so you get the personal touch.

Room Tip: Didn't get upstairs but all three rooms off the patio porch area were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay - If known before we would have stayed much longer.
We really felt at home.
Christina is an outstanding hostesse.
We really enjoyed the informality - everyone talked to each other - like a great Family.
Not to forget the Cloth optional Top Roof Sun Deck...
We will come back to such a "Home".
Tor and Anna

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A friend and I recently enjoyed three nights at Knowles House. While I've visited the property in the past, I never had stayed there overnight. It's a unique island of tranquility in Key West - - now a very busy tourist destination and cruise ship stop. Our room was very comfortable, the patio and garden was calming and the other guests we met were fascinating and fun. Christina was the perfect hostess making us feel welcome at the Knowles House as well as being an excellent reference for Key West points of interest. While the house was wonderful, the daily breakfast was routine B&B fare - - as in bagels, cereal, etc. Also, while fresh fruit was alway present, the quantity was a bit sparse. It could have been made exceptional by serving some of the pastries from the fantastic corner bakery! Finally, while our room was tidied up each day, I'm not sure that the bathroom was really cleaned or the floors mopped. In any facility the toilet should be scrubbed daily. Also the white tile floors that add to the tropical look, should at least be damp mopped.

Room Tip: Did not see any other room besides the one we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WineLuvrMilwaukee_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in February and just loved it. It's charming and low-key with a distinct Key West vibe. Christina was a wonderful host and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. She gave us lots of info on places to eat (the happy hour half-price oysters at Turtle Kralls were one of her great tips) and things to do. Our room was beautifully decorated and the common areas are delightful. (Love the collection of rubber ducks around the fountain of the soaking pool!) The location is convenient to both the harbor boardwalk and Duvall Street. Only downside was not meeting Les and Paul who were away during our stay. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Key West. S & E Dunner, Bucks County, PA

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We absolutely loved Knowles House. It was our first time staying at a B&B and weren't sure what to expect. Upon arrival, Christina was so wonderful, friendly and helpful. She was so informative and pointed us in all the right directions for great places to eat and drink. She told us about all the touristy things to do and was more than accommodating and eager to help us book our desires.
The breakfasts were lovely and had a huge variety. The rooms were small but cosy and had everything you could possibly think of. The outdoor area was stunning and the pool and spa were perfect temperatures. There was an outdoor shower and a deck for those who like to sunbake. The alcohol was complimentary along with softdrinks. We were there for our honeymoon so Christina made delicious chocolate coated strawberries for when we arrived. She was a lovely woman and made our stay that much more enjoyable,

The house is close to Duvall Street and the boardwalk.

We will definitely be back and will bring friends with us. The best place we have stayed at whilst on our 7 week long holiday!!!

We loved Knowles House!!!

S & S Nielsen
South Australia

Room Tip: Any room is great however try and get a room downstairs outside. Gives perfect pool access and away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JelBeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWInnkeepers, Manager at Knowles House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing such a wonderful review. You two really know how to honeymoon! Thank you for mentioning the little touches. Sometime when you travel, it's hard to pack and remember little things like q-tips, band aids & cotton balls; we have them in every room! Most of all, thank you for choosing Knowles House and allowing us to be a part of your celebration on your new journey together. Keep enjoying life and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

As far as Knowles House is concerned “It’s all been said before” So all I can add is this. On arrival and a couple of minutes after meeting Les as he took me around. I felt as if I had come home, he was so inviting. Except for one important fact and that is Knowles‘ House is so beautifully unusual and quaint. A description no doubt that our American cousins use quite frequently when describing the Old Country! The accommodation, location, service, etc,. is superb. But most important is how friendly Les, his partner Paul and dear Christine are. They made us feel so welcome and relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble. Unfortunately it’s a bit of a hike for us to return, all the way back from the Old Country. But if we do manage to go back, then one thing is for sure and that is the only place I would want to stay is Knowles House B&B. Thanks so much for a lovely time. Kindest regards Dave & Trish Carter from Surrey England. I did note on Trip Adviser comments about the size of the rooms. Its Knowles’ House for goodness sake not the White House!

Room Tip: Probably at the back of the house mid season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidCEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWInnkeepers, Manager at Knowles House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you so much for the fantastic review and for mentioning a bit of the history of the Knowles family home. With the original woodwork throughout the house, the charm and character deserve the respect. For those that love the "Old World" charm, we have 5 rooms in the main house; for those that love the charm, but prefer a bit more modern, we have 3 lovely large pool side rooms.
We were lucky enough to have you choose & stay with us. When you return, Key West and Knowles House welcomes you back with open arms. Take Care and keep smiling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#18 of 77 in Key West
805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
737 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#41 of 77 in Key West
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Authors Key West Guesthouse
0.8 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#27 of 77 in Key West
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knowles House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knowles House B&B

Address: 1004 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $188 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knowles House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Knowles House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knowles House Hotel Key West
Knowles House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing