We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but $$$$”
Review of Bistro Sole - CLOSED

Bistro Sole
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Local Seafood with a French and American twist. We serve Lunch, Sunday Brunch and Dinner, in a large outdoor garden surrounded by mature tropical trees and lush palms highlighted by bird of paradise. Our spectacular indoor dining room harks back to the Parisian bistros of the 19th century with warm wood and an enormous chandelier
Key Largo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good, but $$$$”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I live within walking distance and was really looking forward to Bistro Sole. Not a menu for everyone, but the food was very good. Excellent service, which was genuinely friendly. Atmosphere was very relaxing. Good wine list, but's expensive as is the food, for Key West. I have had as good in and Paris for less.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keyscritter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnrkw, Manager at Bistro Sole, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi Keyscritter93,
It was nice of you to take the time to review us. We love the neighborhood. We're pleased you enjoyed the food and the wine list. Sorry you found it overpriced. Our goal is to provide the highest quality food at the most reasonable prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    31
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Food at Reasonable Prices = Great Value”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had lunch on March 29th at this relatively new neighborhood gem of a restaurant, Bistro Sole on White Street. It was delicious. On a hot muggy day, the garden was cool, the Vouvray was properly chilled, and the Cold Leek Salad and Gazpacho were delicious, filling and refreshing. My husband had the Chicken Pate, which comes in a small jar. It is moist and spreadable - perfect with the accompanying bread - and literally mouthwatering! Altogether the experience was delightful.

In Key West there are many fish places. Bistro Sole is for the meat lover. The dishes are authentically French and truly delicious.

The prices are very reasonable, making it a great value for delicious cuisine. Both these fabulous lunches were appetizers. That is hard to beat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripleLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnrkw, Manager at Bistro Sole, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hello TripleLeo,
Thanks for taking the time to write the review. We're glad you enjoyed your lunch in the garden. We are happy to provide a French bistro experience right here in Key West. The meats really are terrific
but we have lunch guests that order the fresh fish sandwich du jour every time! Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just desserts...”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I worked as a chef in AMS and have been to France a couple of times. This is the real deal, excellent value for money quality good eats, casual ambiance and service being the norm. All the food is awesome PIGS EARS RULE with many items stupid cheap for KW. Only critique I have is the desserts need a little help...

Helpful?
Thank CEMott3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnrkw, Manager at Bistro Sole, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi CEMott3rd,
Thanks for the review. We're so happy you enjoyed the food. You are correct, we do strive to offer quality dishes at reasonable prices. This is, after all, a neighborhood bistro that very much welcomes tourists. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Not the "same old same old"”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

A great experience, a menu that made you think, lots of intriguing dishes had to be left behind, can't eat them all in one sitting! Can not say how many times I am disappointed with restaurants, this restaurant did NOT disappoint, it offered a menu that intrigued, so refreshing. Staff were attentive, and knew their job, including when a storm suddenly came in, they adroitly moved the guests inside, complete with food, drinks and a smile. If you don't want the "same old same old" try Bistro Sole

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnrkw, Manager at Bistro Sole, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi Fiona O,
We're happy you enjoyed the Bistro Sole' and it's menu. We are pleased to offer such unique and delicious bistro fare. Thanks for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

One of our new favorite places in Key West. On White Street, away from the crowds, Bistro Sole offers lovely outside seating, both tables and a bar. There is also seating inside. Eaten here twice now. First time we both ordered the prime rib (on the daily special). Born in Nebraska and growing up in Chicago, I know my prime rib and this was a delicious slab. Nice and rare with a really good creamy horseradish sauce. Came with tomato Provençal and potatoes dauphinoise. Price was very reasonable ($18), especially for the quality and quantity.
The other night my husband ordered the flat iron steak and I had the duck confit (wanted the lamb but it was already sold out). You get to choose your side and he had the potatoes dauphinoise while I chose the lentils. Both came with the tomato Provençal. The steak was great and my duck perfectly crispy outside. Both were $16 - I had the 1/4 duck, you can also order a 1/2 duck
If you like beers, you will love this place. Steenbrugge tripel,a Belgium beer is back on draft. Service is friendly. It's busy, we didn't make reservations and all the tables were full so we sat at the bar. The White Street bistro is a more relaxed locals version of its sister restaurant, Cafe Sole.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheLostTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnrkw, Manager at Bistro Sole, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hello TheLostTourist,
Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoy the casual neighborhood atmosphere and the menu. What a compliment when a midwesterner recognizes the quality of the delicious prime rib!
As of now, we are not taking reservations. You can, however, call ahead a half an hour prior to arrival and we will put you on the wait list. 305-922-2177
Come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Sole also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing