We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Hotel”
Review of L'Habitation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Habitation
Ranked #47 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night during our first trip to Key West. As this was our first visit to Key West, we cannot really compare it to any other hotels in the area. The proximity to the night life on Duval St was great. We were a 2 minute walk to all of the restaurants and bars. Our room was a good size, had plenty of space for storing our bags and even had a couch in it. The shower was tiny, I am a normal size person and could barely fit in the shower.

As was mentioned in many other reviews the breakfast consisted of Coffee and Tea, cold pastries, donuts, oatmeal and fruit. We ended up going out for breakfast.

Lastly, in looking for a hotel, L'Habitation was much more affordable than other properties with similar reviews and locations. Overall, we will likely stay at this hotel again if we return to Key West based on the price and the location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbucker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for L'Habitation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 235 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and a friend decided to take a road trip one day to key west not knowing it was hemming way days and I think we got the last room on the island staff was extremely nice! After a long night of partying we woke up on our day to leave to realize we lost out truck keys! We walked down stairs and told the owner what happened she held our luggage for us until we back tracked where we went to! I'm going to the key west poker run 2013 and this was the 1st and only place I looked to reserve a room can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missmuddy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in peak period and found all to be highly satisfactory.

Simple breakfast on verandah was great for chatting with other guests.

Free parking available in surrounding streets

Room had fan and air conditioning.

Communal coffee machine was great.

A bit noisy but we were very central on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DXBTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We absolutely adored our first stay at L'Habitation in January, and we're positive it won't be our last visit! Our room was very very quiet, on the first floor at the back of the house. The room, bathroom and closet/storage area were perfect, just what we needed to come back to when retreating from either the heat or the Duval street craziness. The proximity to the attractions we wanted to see (Hemingway house, Mallory Square, etc.) was perfect, and it was just close enough to make the shops & restaurants on Duval street convenient without being right on top of the noise and nonsense. The door to the bathroom is a vented door (like what you'd find on a closet), so if you're super-modest you might find a sheet or beach towel to drape over it for a little more privacy, but maybe I'm the only shy one ;)

Keep in mind, it is a Guesthouse, NOT actually a B&B (their own website doesn't claim it's a B&B, so some travelers may be confused by some of the travel websites' classification of it with B&B's....). Coffee, tea, donuts, pastries etc. were served upstairs in the mornings (the stairs are a *little* steep so if you have any mobility issues you might be better off sending a friend/family member upstairs to bring food back down, my husband had this issue), and there are front and back porches to enjoy your down time. There is an ice machine upstairs and 2 small refrigerators in the lobby with water & soda with a $1 honor-system basket. (There was also a small refrigerator in the room, just perfect for sodas and a 1/2 gallon of milk)

There is little free parking in old town Key West, we lucked out and found a free spot for 4 days, but for the most part you do have to pay to park on the street or the lot in front of the post office (or the municipal building parking lot around the corner during the weekend).

Overall L'Habitation was a WONDERFUL place to stay and we're already plotting another visit for later in the year :)

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter (away from the street) If anyone in your party has mobility issues ma...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LillyJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

L'Habitation was a great find. Located close to the (overrated) Duval street, Hemingway House, beaches, state parks, shops and restaurants, and Truman Annex. The guest house has a relaxed feel, with free tea, coffee and donuts available, as well as a great selection of magazines and books. Breakfast includes pastries, muffins, oats, fruit, and can be enjoyed on the upstairs terrace. There is also a lovely front porch with comfortable lounges- a great place to have dinner/a drink and watch the world go by. The staff were exceptionally friendly, providing directions, information on free parking, and free towels for the beach.

Our room with two queen beds was spacious and tastefully decorated, and the housekeeping was faultless. The only negatives relate to the large hotel located directly behind L'Habitation; their garbage compactor's odor can be smelt from the upper terrace of the guest house, and on a Tuesday morning we were woken up at 4:30 by the garbage trucks. Minor issues to be sure, and they certainly didn't impact on our enjoyment here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcf171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

23/11/2012

We drove down to Key West on Thanksgiving Weekend without a place to stay.

Having stayed in Key West a few times before, I was aware that accommodation can be expensive during holiday periods.

L'Habitation was keenly priced.

The room was excellent, TV had cable (so a Brit like me could watch soccer on Fox Sports) and the breakfast was very pleasant.

I had only taken my ipad to the States and needed to use a PC for a business issue - The owner of L'Habitation informed me there was a Lap Top for residents use in the lobby.

I can't recommend this charming B&B enough.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnlmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at L'Habitation for a week to celebrate our anniversary. We rented a car and drove from the Ft. Lauderdale airport. We only rented the car for the day, so we had no problem parking right in front until it was time to return the car.

The location was perfect if you want to walk around, or bike around, and explore the Old Town and everything it has to offer. It was also perfect when shopping on Duval St, we could drop off our purchases at our room and keep shopping without going too far out of our way!

We got the room on the bottom floor with a king sized bed (Rm 17) and I agree with some of the other reviews that the bathroom and shower were small, but honestly we really didn't care because it is a bathroom! How much time do you really spend in there? Also, the hot and cold water was reversed in the shower, but we were smart enough to remember each day that they were reversed and it was not a problem. The room was cleaned every day and I think she even changed the towels and sheets every day, even though we hung up the towels to indicate that we were okay to use them again.

We rented bikes on site and the owners were very helpful during the week if we wanted to know anything about the area. If you are looking for a place to "hang your hat" while you really get out and explore Key West, this is the perfect place. It is quiet and remote when you are there, but yet is it so close to everything once you walk out the door.

Other reviews mentioned the breakfast and we felt that it was sufficient for most days. There were a couple of days where, because of our plans, we wanted more than oatmeal, fruit and fresh pastries, so we went out to one of the nearby restaurants and had breakfast out. It just seems like breakfast is not a big deal in Key West in general. Most places do not even start cooking breakfast until 8am. I think Denny's was the only places we could find it before 8am, but I'm getting off topic...

In conclusion, if you are looking for a "hotel," where the staff follows you around to make sure your every need is met at every hour of the night, this is probably not the place for you. If you are like us and you are looking for a laid-back atmosphere with warm and friendly people who treat you like friends staying in their home, this is exactly where you should stay. We will definitely stay here again if we come back to Key West (and I hope we do!!!)

Room Tip: The rooms are all very different and it depends on what you are looking for. I would suggest callin...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa 325
Casa 325
#27 of 77 in Key West
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#50 of 77 in Key West
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smallest Bar Inn
Smallest Bar Inn
#69 of 77 in Key West
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn
0.0 mi away
The Banyan Resort
The Banyan Resort
#36 of 77 in Key West
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Habitation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Habitation

Address: 408 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6512
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $155 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Habitation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful historic Conch home, built in 1939, with eleven spacious, individually personalized rooms, all with private bathrooms, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, less than 1/2 block from Duval Street. Our rates are competitive and include a daily continental breakfast, and complimentary welcome beverage (wine between 4:00 and 5:00 pm on Fridays and Saturdays), and concierge services available at the front desk. All rooms have a refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your L'Habitation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Habitation Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing