We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Southernmost House
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

On our way to the southernmost point, we stopped at this B&B to take some quick pics. Seeing as how it is on every tourist map I thought we should see it. As I was taking pictures the inn keeper came out and basically told us to leave unless we were staying there. Obviously it was rude and it rubbed me wrong. I'm sure tourist stop by all the time to see it, and seeing as how they make their living off tourist , you think she would have been nicer!
My advice to any tourist who may stop by.....don't! You just might get yelled at.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadi637, General Manager at The Southernmost House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Christina S., We pride ourselves on being friendly and the Southernmost House has visitors every day take pictures on our front porch and they respect the privacy and security of our guests who stay at the Southernmost House. In your excitement to take pictures you and your family ran up the stairs leading to a private porch area of a guest room. We advised you that it was a private area and that we were a Bed and Breakfast and that our guests had complained of visitors coming up to their private porch areas and were startled when strangers appear on the stairs. It is a delicate balancing act to be welcoming to visitors and to keep the privacy and security of our guests at the same time. We apologize that you felt we did not want visitors taking picture... Actually we often assist in taking pictures for our visitors so everyone can be in the picture on the porch of the Southernmost House. Kadi Kay - Innkeeper Southernmost House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 715 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Key West and my wife and I could not have picked a more perfect location to stay. The hotel and grounds were beautiful. The staff amazing and accomodating with suggestions for dinner and side trips. It was a wonderful 5 day getaway. We will definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying here on our next trip to Key West.
Bill Langlands

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A truly relaxing and wonderful place where staff is great, accomodations superior but the view and ambience are unbeatable. Close to attractions, restaurants but at the quiet end of Duval St., which is the main entertainment venue in Key West. The staff really enjoyed giving you special service and made my wife and I feel "special" but they made everyone feel that way. A great place to unwind or spend some special time.

Room Tip: choose the one with the private balcony or a pool side bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My sister and I happened on the Southernmost House and we are so happy that we did. Kadi and Ted are very nice and were so welcoming to us. We had to move from our upper level room (fantastic in and of itself!) to a different room and they put us in a cottage! Talk about feeling very special! This place is by NO MEANS dirty as put on another review. Absolutely spotless! The pool area/garden is stunning as is the pool. The pool bar is another wonderful surprise! We made mention that one of the other guests recommended going to Backyard Louie's for dinner and Ted made our reservations for us on the spot! That was a very pleasant walk 2 blocks away and the food was absolutely fabulous!

We have already recommended to our friends and family if ever in Key West to treat yourself to a wonderful time and stay at The Southernmost House and eat at Backyard Louie's, you will not regret it at all!

Can't say enough how sweet Ted and Kadi were to us!

Room Tip: If you can, choose the cottage, we sat on the porch the night we were there and watched a thundersto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gail s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I was visting my sister for a week in Miami, we decided to stay at the Keys for a couple of days. We arrived to see the inn and request some information. Some nasty lady rushed up to us and said "we are not a museum" We explain we wanted some information about availability for the weekend but after that rude remark we went somewhere else. Lock your gates if you don't want people coming to your door!!!!!

Room Tip: Place looks dirty from outside
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadi637, General Manager at The Southernmost House, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Nat M.,

We are an 18 Room Bed and Breakfast that does have a lobby entrance for visitors to enter, however, some of your family members instead went up a staircase that lead to some of guests private room and porch area. While we enjoy having potential guests come view our property it is with the understanding there are public areas and there are areas for guests staying at the property. Our guests security and privacy are very important along with being Welcoming to visitors stopping by to get information for future stays with us.

If you felt we were rude we apologize. Many visitors assume we are a museum and don't realize that they are in a Bed and Breakfast and will wonder off to all areas that are private to our guests thinking they are free to explore ... So that is why we let our visitors know that we are a Bed and Breakfast and not a museum. We do hope on your next visit to Key West that you and your family come back to the Southernmost House so that we can show you the beauty of the house and the hospitality that brings our guests back year after year!

Kadi Kay - Innkeeper
The Southernmost House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have stayed at The Southernmost House several times in the last year. The first time was about a year ago. It was nice, but I just kept thinking how much potential this place had to be THE Jewel of Key West! It seemed unloved. I had the pleasure of going back a few weeks ago and to the joy of my heart there was a new innkeeper and she had put the cherry on top!!! What a spirit of hospitality! BEAUTIFUL! Things were clean and really looked cared for and finally LOVED!
I can't wait to go back! LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Any chance of a frequent guest program!? :)

Room Tip: Although I love the main house, my favorite place to stay is in the cabana house, room 102. It is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bekibobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We lucked into our stay at this hotel. We had booked reservations at a sister property and when that fell through at the last minute (we waited in their lobby a couple of hours and then were told they couldn't honor our reservation) we ended up with a free (wow) room at the Southernmost House. This is a huge mansion with amazing decor. Outside there's an infinity pool that makes you feel like you're swimming to Cuba. Our room was in another impressive pile across the street. There was lots of light in the room, with huge windows on two sides and doors that opened onto a wrap around veranda. I sat out there with a beer and a book and felt very special. We then moved to lounge chairs near the pool and gazed out at the ocean. Huge soft very orange towels were provided ( a nice change from the usual ratty dirty-white towels at most hotels). Restaurants and many attractions are within walking distance. Kept wondering if any of the famous former guests might have stayed in my room -- was I sleeping where JFK slept by any chance? It was a great experience -- I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: For good views, get a room in one of the houses instead. For proximity to the pool, stay in one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southernmost House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southernmost House

Address: 1400 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $303 - $708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Southernmost House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Bed and Breakfast on the Ocean in Key West, Florida. Located on Duval street and within walking distance of Museums, Restaurants, Bars and entertainment. Due to museum pieces within the Southernmost all guest must be 18 years or older. A sophisticated setting located directly on the Oceanfront. The Southernmost House stands out as Key West's most striking oceanfront bed and breakfast, with 18 spacious, exquisitely appointed, air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Refresh in the cool water of a glistening zero-entry pool as you gaze out at the infinite sea. Enjoy peaceful moments soaking in the sun and a delightful complimentary breakfast. Stroll down Duval Street, towards all the spirit and character that embodies Key West's laissez-faire persona. The Southernmost House is located just footsteps away from Old Town Key West attractions, restaurants & bars, shops and art galleries. Built in 1897 and electricity was installed by Thomas Edison in 1990. The Southernmost House is the 2nd most photographed home in the USA. The most requested location in the Florida Keys for Weddings. The Mansion has hosted presidents, movie stars and writers. Guest must be 18 years or older due to museum pieces throughout the Southernmost House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Southernmost House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing