We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Southernmost House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Charles City, VA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful bed and breakfast”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Beautiful place to stay in the perfect location (on the beach, at the quite end of DuVal street). It was a little pricey, but worth it. Hard to bealieve that we slept in the same place that former presidents had stayed. This home is steeped in history. The pool is nice, and the breakfast was good. When we go back to Key West, we will definately stay here, if it is available. If not, we'll stay at the Southernmost Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_CharlesCity_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    103
    38
    19
    22
See reviews for
54
462
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Southernmost House is absolutely beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. As much as there is to see and do in Key West, you will want to spend most of your time poolside. I can not remember feeling such depression as when it came time to check out. You will not want to leave! We will, with out a doubt, be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 302. Views of pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Our first visit to Key West. Absolutely lovely! We frequently search for Bed and Breakfasts. How fortunate I was to make a find like this! A great location overlooking the ocean, restful, quaint. The location was very convenient. Our room was lovely; the staff was friendly and helpful. We interacted with Ariel a lot because she was the one on duty when we had questions or needed help. No matter what the question, she had the answer and was efficient and eager to help. We plan to return next year and stay in the same room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 723Susan723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I was in vaction mode and arrived to the airport with all my friends on Monday 2/20 expecting to leave the island travel back home to New Jersey. Turns out, I had mistakenly booked my ticket for 2/21. I frantically called every hotel and B&B on the island and was continuously told "sold out" as it was Mardi Gras and prime tourist time in the area. My first call was to Ted Palm at Southermost House with a rate of $350. After calling many more places; I called Ted back and asked him to book it. He was extremely calm, politie and friendly over the phone. I also had to call him once in the cab because there are so many "Southernmost" accommodations and I was not sure the exact location. Ted remeberered me immediatly and told me the diections. Upon arrival Ted greeted me, checked me in, showed me the amazing facilities, brought my bag up and made me feel at home. The room was gorgeous with the biggest king bed and most comfortable I have ever slept on. The next day I enjoyed a leisurly free breakfast on the second floor patio and spent the day relaxing by the infinity pool, beach chairs, hammock, all while sipping great frozen cocktails from the pool bar. Ted was everywehere and did everything. He was the reservationist, guests service agent, bellman, concierge, etc. I assumed he was the manager of the property. All observed encounters with Ted; he was welcoming, ccommodating, knowledgeablem, hospitalble and polite. He is an amazing employee and you are lucky to have someone with such passion for hospitality. I work for HIlton in HR so I know he is a keeper. Thanks Ted for your hospitality! I have recommended this location several tiems over since I have arrived back home to my friends and collegues in NYC.

Room Tip: My room - 203 was beautiful. Shower was a bit strange as it was half enclosed in glass so the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We just returned from our stay at the Southern Most and it just kees getting better everytime.We visit twice a year and have never been disappointed.We stay in the same room every time.A great addition to your staff,I must give the highest grade possible to Ted,this gentleman is outgoing always a smile and egar to assist.He made our stay a very joyfull event a great person.We have made reservations for our next trip.

Best Regards
Larry and Cindy

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Decklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Three rooms were booked at the Southernmost House for small family reunion and fun in Key West for one week... our time in Key West was complemented by Ted, at the front desk, who adeptly handled every possible question and concern. Ted was very helpful and patient in enabling our whole group to take advantage of so much of what Key West has to offer. The initial feeling you have upon entering this grand historic property is that you are staying somewhere very special, however, the welcoming attitude of the gracious staff makes you understand you are in for a real treat. Ted was the primary reason that our stay at Southernmost House was so enjoyable, as well as the primary reason that this particular property worked out to be so ideal for our family vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

If you enjoy history, elegant architecture and a really helpful staff, the Southernmost House is a great choice. We only stayed one night--our last night in Key West. Remember, it's an old house, and there are creaks and no elevator. So if you are looking for a traditional hotel this is not for you. We found it to be incredibly charming.The pool area is fantastic and a great place to watch pelicans diving for fish. The drinks at the pool area bar are very good.
To be honest, I think they could work on their breakfast selection---but still, eating a croissant overlooking the Atlantic in the morning was a memorable way to say goodbye to Key West!

Room Tip: Room 201 has an amazing porch that overlooks the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChanceUpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,663 reviews
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southernmost House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southernmost House Hotel

Property: The Southernmost House Hotel
Address: 1400 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Southernmost House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Bed and Breakfast on the Ocean in Key West, Florida. Located on Duval street and within walking distance of Museums, Restaurants, Bars and entertainment. Due to museum pieces within the Southernmost all guest must be 18 years or older. A sophisticated setting located directly on the Oceanfront. The Southernmost House stands out as Key West's most striking oceanfront bed and breakfast, with 18 spacious, exquisitely appointed, air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Refresh in the cool water of a glistening zero-entry pool as you gaze out at the infinite sea. Enjoy peaceful moments soaking in the sun and a delightful complimentary breakfast. Stroll down Duval Street, towards all the spirit and character that embodies Key West's laissez-faire persona. The Southernmost House is located just footsteps away from Old Town Key West attractions, restaurants & bars, shops and art galleries. Built in 1897 and electricity was installed by Thomas Edison in 1990. The Southernmost House is the 2nd most photographed home in the USA. The most requested location in the Florida Keys for Weddings. The Mansion has hosted presidents, movie stars and writers. Guest must be 18 years or older due to museum pieces throughout the Southernmost House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Southernmost House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing