We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful home, great location in need of tlc” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Southernmost House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Southernmost House Hotel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Longwood
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, great location in need of tlc”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

My husband and I along with another couple rented 2 rooms in this lovely B&B last week. it is one of the oldest and most majestic homes on the water with access to a private beach just a few feet away. The main house has three floors but no elevators. There is a gentleman who will take your luggage up to your room. here is my take on the place:
PROS: located in a central, yet quiet area with ocean views
Wonderful large balconies with nice seating
Beautiful, original decoration and chandeliers in every room
Comfortable beds and nice size rooms
Friendly, helpful, responsive, and attentive staff
Gorgeous pool that can be used late into the night
Nice size bathrooms with tubs and showers
CONS: Furniture needs reupholstering. Material is ripped in most chair/couches
The corners are filthy. Even though the bottom floor was professionally cleaned and waxed while we were there, there is a great deal of accumulated dirt in ALL corners.
The breakfast is pitiful. The fruit is thinly sliced and not a lot of variety. The danishes, breads and bagels are from the local Winn Dixie and not so fresh. The cubed cheeses looked like yesterdays left over each and every single day.
The pool is in desperate need of resurfacing with chunks missing
The chairs by the pool are so brittle from the sun that they cannot be kept in an upright position
The air vents all over, but especially in the rooms, are filthy

CONS:

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    99
    33
    20
    22
See reviews for
42
391
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

what a place. I cant say enough about the southern most house. excellent everything. Great staff great rooms. most fun in along time.If you are looking for the best views of the ocean. look no more. take sometime and go to this house for the best vac. you can have. I am already book for next year.

Room Tip: take room 202.ocean view at its best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbrewer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

We loved it and we'll be back :) Great hotel, Super nice staff....Great vieuw.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmitNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Over all this was a great place the location was great our room was perfect with the exception of a slight moisture like odor in the air but was cover by good fragrance. Was not noticable after a while. The room was clean and looked great! Just what we were looking for. The shower was big and nice walk-in type. The balcony was a nice spot to have a few beers before going out. During the day the sounds near by are great and relaxing same at night, however, if a busy night you can hear people down on the street and sometimes a bus or truck comes by in the early morning and makes some noise. It didn't bother us too bad we fell back to sleep. The rooms on the other side may not have that accurance but this is the first time I stayed so I don't know yet. We do plan on going back and staying there again. Although, the staff was nice, there are not to helpfull should you have a personal issues... after checkout I go to leave and find my car battery drained... I know, trapped in paradise! But we were ready to hit up Miami so I was ready to bounce. With no one else near being a option to ask for a jump I ask the guy at the front desk if he could give me a jump, well he said they are not allowed to get involved and could give me a jump... he asked maintenance if the had a charger but to no avail. I suggested one of the near by scooter rental place as a place to find a charger and maintenance introduced me to one of his buds and found a charger for the battery. So they redemed them selves a little... otherwise it was great and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pirateslife420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

What a fabulous stay. The accommodation (Lopez House) was fantastic - luxurious linen and great comfortable beds. The location was idyllic, with a fabulous infinity pool. Wonderful service and a great location, well situated at the quieter of Duval Street - the best in Key West we think!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northeast16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

If you have the opportunity to stay at this gorgeous B&B I highly recommend it. What a romantic and beautiful place right on the water. We loved how they maintained the historic elements while at the same time ensuring the bedroom/bathrooms were up to date and beautiful.

Staff was friendly and helpful but lacked consistency. While some staff was fantastic, others didn't always follow up on things as promised.The only thing to be aware is that the service is B&B style - staff is not available 24 hours a day in case you need something.

In the end, if you're looking for a nice relaxing breathtakingly beautiful place to stay - this place is perfect. Loved the hammocks and beach chairs by the water.

Room Tip: It's nice to stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbuckmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottleville, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We actually stayed here in May of 2010. The staff was very courteous. This place was an excellent place to stay. The staff were very friendly making our stay very nice and relaxing. We loved the location, room was very clean, breakfast was included. Simple but good breakfast. This was a great place to be close to everything in Key West yet still isolated enough to have peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmw1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#15 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southernmost House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southernmost House Hotel

Property: The Southernmost House Hotel
Address: 1400 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3133
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Southernmost House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated setting located directly on the Oceanfront. The Southernmost House stands out as Key West's most striking oceanfront bed and breakfast, with 18 spacious, exquisitely appointed, air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Refresh in the cool water of a glistening zero-entry pool as you gaze out at the infinite sea. Enjoy peaceful moments soaking in the sun and a delightful complimentary breakfast. Stroll down Duval Street, towards all the spirit and character that embodies Key West's laissez-faire persona. The Southernmost House is located just footsteps away from Old Town Key West attractions, restaurants & bars, shops and art galleries. Built in 1897 and electricity was installed by Thomas Edison in 1990. The Southernmost House is the 2nd most photographed home in the USA. The most requested location in the Florida Keys for Weddings. The Mansion has hosted presidents, movie stars and dignatarys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Southernmost House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing