We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butterflies Everywhere!”

Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Narrated Trolley Tour
Ranked #1 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Butterflies Everywhere!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

This is a very typical butterfly attraction. It's large and very beautiful. The admission fee seems pricey.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CarCrazyMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,569
    1,742
    341
    45
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The highlight of my Key West visit”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Great for kids. Great for photographers. Great for nature lovers. Simply great.

My boyfriend went with me to this exhibit because he wanted to be supportive, but he ended up loving the place nearly as much as I did. More than just butterflies, you're going to see a great variety of plants and birds (ones that don't eat butterflies, obviously).

The real stars of the show are the butterflies, of course, and I was thrilled to see so many in so many different shapes and colors.

I must admit I was unprepared to be so charmed by the exhibit "janitors," i.e. the adorable Chinese Button Quail that keep the ant population in check. They run all over the exhibit and are a treat to watch.

Totally worth the price of admission.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Leitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Loved the butterflies -- they're everywhere -- but the birds were equally amazing. Saw a Gouldian Finch which was the most stunningly colorful little bird.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ldarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We saw this as #1 rated attraction in Key West. Having been to these type of conservatories in the past and been disappointed, we were skeptical. Upon entering the main conservatory though, we were speechless. Butterflies were everywhere - and so MANY of them. It was breathtakingly amazing. The butterflies were accentuated with multiple types of beautiful birds and neon blue fish also.
This is not the usual attraction one visits Key West for but don't dare miss this - it's worth the trip!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Clevelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Much nicer than I had imagined.”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

After walking past a string of cheap t-shirt shops and loud bars, my expectations were not high. Entering the place with the gift shop in view, and paying for a family of four, I almost turned around. I am so glad we didn't. It was one of the nice natural aspects we had come to Key West to experience. Do take a coupon with you before you go.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank wbdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing