We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms and price were very disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The pictures on the web site were very deceiving. It appears to be a quaint boutique hotel however our rooms were across from the main hotel in a building that appeared to be an old office building that had been made into hotel rooms. The floors were tile but the grout hadn't been cleaned in so long it was horribly black. The only way we could tell the original grout color was to look close to the baseboard!! One of the rooms didn't have a closet. When we asked the desk clerk about it she said there were pegs on the wall to hang clothes on. The ac was so loud you couldn't hear the Tv. The courtyard where the continental breakfast was served was unique and attractive and the beds were comfortable. However, I would never stay there again or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Albury Court Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

The accommodations at the Albury Court Hotel are actually located throughout five historic "Conch- style" buildings," each with typical Key West architecture such as clapboard siding and metal roofs, rather than being in just one main or even two separate buildings. Our room rates are competitively priced, and among the most affordable within the Old Town / Harbor area of the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 697 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We arrived in Key West with no reservations and drove around a bit. We encountered one of the Albury sister hotels and called and asked if they had a room, they said yes - but when we went to check in they said it wasn't their hotel that had a room it was their sister hotel, the Albury. Well, it was immediately apparent that the Albury was not as nice as the hotel that we thought we were getting into but we took the room. The room itself was fine (average) - while it is billed as a historic property I didn't see it. The location is quite a bit farther than most other hotels you can find that are closer to the beaches, shops, restaurants. I will say that the staff was quite nice. For what we got I think this property was overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank td_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Our room was the size of a large box, and the finishes were cheap and cracked. The thermostat on the a/c was broken and it roared all night long, making my husband so cold he had to turn it up to 80 degrees. No space in the bathroom for a cosmetic bag, not even a hook to hang a bathrobe on. Our room looked out on an Ace Hardware store, although other rooms had nicer views. The continental breakfast was nothing special; although the coffee was good, there was only non-dairy creamer, rendering it unpalatable. We opted to skip the complimentary breakfast and get good coffee and breakfast at Old Town Bakery across the street (corner of Grinnell and Eaton). The only pluses: the room and bath were clean, and there is lovely, well-designed, if smallish, pool area, where we could rest and relax. Clearly The Albury Court took a small historical house and turned it into an inn, then added a motel across the street. I really expect much more for $300 a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inn side of the street, and avoid the motel side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KateLDB172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Albury Court Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

The Albury Court Hotel has some of the most competitively priced guestrooms in the historic "Old Town" area of Key West. Our complimentary continental breakfast includes freshly baked bagels delivered daily from a local bakery, freshly baked croissants also delivered daily from another local bakery, fresh fruit, assorted yogurts, various cereals, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee, tea, and milk. The non-dairy creamers are popular with many of our guests, but again there is also milk for those who prefer dairy in their coffee. I wish you would have told us at the time of your stay that you were having trouble with the air conditioning thermostat, as we could have quickly and easily had one of our maintenance team come to your room to take care of it for you. There is a 24 hour manager on duty always happy to assist with guest requests. Thank you for being our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Checked in to a mildew pillow and a smell that I couldn't identify in the room. It was clearly apparent that this room had not been stayed in for quite some time. In addition, the A/C had not been turned on prior to my arrival and it was very warm. I turned on the A/C and attempted to turn on the television, which didn't work. Bathroom also had mildew in it and a shower door that only covered half the shower which caused water to spray all over the toilet and bathroom floor. For $300 a night I expected at least a clean room, which is not what you get. Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zach T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Albury Court Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Hello Zach,

We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations. The air temperature had dipped down to 66 degrees earlier that day so air conditioning wasn't necessary, but as it went climbed into the upper 70's in the afternoon, you are right that we should been proactive and turned it on again. The guests who checked out on your day of arrival didn't mention any trouble with the television, and we've checked to ensure that it's working right now, so I'm not sure why you had difficulty with it. I wish you would have spoken with us at the time of your stay so that we could have resolved your issues for you.

We will have our crew take a look at the bathroom situation that you mentioned as your feedback is very helpful in our constant effort to make all guests' stays comfortable and enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I'm surprised at the high-ish ratings for this place. I'm giving it 2 stars because even though it was gross for us they worked to effectively fix the problem.

We had booked at Albury Court after reading reviews here. When we checked in after a long day of driving the smell if mold was so overpowering that we asked them to do something about it. At first she sent us back to the room with a bottle of air freshener, but when the front desk person finally entered the room she agreed that it wasn't livable and moved us to a slightly more expensive room at another location owned by the same group, the Lighthouse Court. Lighthouse was a much nicer place than the Albury and we were happy with the solution despite the slightly higher cost ($100 more total, for all 3 nights of our stay).

The front desk person was helpful, and nice under the circumstances.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Albury Court Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hello Ella,

We checked the room thoroughly and didn't find any evidence of mold or dampness. (Our engineers have a moisture analysis testing device/meter to investigate for potential problems.) Having said that, we've thoroughly cleaned and aired out the room from top to bottom based on your comments that the room had a musty odor. We apologize for any inconvenience, and are pleased that we were able to assist in finding you alternate accommodations for your stay in Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

$300.00 a night isn't cheep, but in Key West, $400-600 seems to be common and if I'm spending that, I'm in Paris.
The hotel is clean and acceptable. The staff is very friendly, accomodating and they overcome any obstacles that may arise with their extra effort and charm. The breakfasts are OK if you want continental with good coffee. The breakfast/patio area is cute but with power lines overhead, a tiny pool and confined space, it is not exactly a tropical paradise. The location is wonderful and you will not need a car to experience the entire town. We had a lovely time but the hotel is not a place that will be remembered for anything but the fact that it was less expensive than the others.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hobbitnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Albury Court Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

We're so glad you liked the Albury Court's convenient location, friendly staff, and awesome coffee! We have some of the most competitive rates in Key West and pride ourselves on guest satisfaction. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Dodging Hemingway cats? My guess: to score a room at Albury Court. Look, I don’t know what we did to deserve the delightful experience, but sure earned points with my wife and adult daughter (3 January nights). We’d go back in a minute.
General: B&B quaintness, with extremely personable Jennifer, Kaya & Lynn at reservations and front desk. Yet the professional standards in housekeeping, maintenance, etc., of the actual 38 room, boutique hotel it is. That occasional home B&B feeling, grandpa may have passed away in that very same bed? Not here. Don’t be misled by required exterior historical preservation; inside, tasteful, functional, contemporary renovation, room spotless.
Comfort: Maybe not all rooms, but ours was spacious and configured as if the beds were in two separate rooms; so: 2 flat screen TVs, 2 adjustable ACs. Electric wall fireplace. Large bath w/ like-new spa, enormous glass shower, long counter + mirror, hair drier,semi- posh toiletries, facecloths fan-folded like by an origami pro. Kitchenette w/ microwave, trendy under-counter glass door fridge, sink, coffee maker, cupboard w/ enough packets that you’re not stuck with only decafe left until the following a.m. room service. Closet, small bureau, safe. Most likely got lucky with a best available room. I don’t think this qualifies as a suite (no couch, sitting area), but if it is, well worth whatever little more paid for a short stay. Loved it.
Privacy/Quiet/Relaxation: Appreciated, exterior room entries & wooden stairway, private or semi-private sundecks (at least in building A). Air-dried swimwear/towels. Only others run into were the 2 or 3 dozen at relaxing, leafy courtyard tables for very nice, continental breakfast (fresh bagels our croissants, hardboiled eggs, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice) -- some finding their way to your kitchenette for late risers). No spring breaker/raucous family atmosphere. Middle aged and young couples, about half seemed travel savvy Europeans, with an occasional single infant or toddler. (Not kid-unfriendly, but didn't see any really kid-oriented activities -- although the small and sparkling dipping pool with waterfall would likely be enjoyed.)
Convenience: Relatively quiet historic street with parking or lot nearby, as were a good restaurant, neighborhood market, bakery and wine/liquor store to inexpensively stock your fridge ( no pricey superfluous room minibar). Wouldn’t think of staying anywhere but Old Town. WALK the 7 short blocks to Duval St., 9 to Mallory Sq. and sunset, 5 to historic seaport restaurant /shops/attractions. Hey, others pay big bucks for that type of walking tour, past many of the 40-odd beautiful historic homes with explanatory plaques. Even better, start your day 4 blocks away, where tour trolley stops every 15 min.. Hop on and off at will at 8 stops near anyplace you’d want to go ($20/day, 2nd day free with receipt)—even to the beach.
Recommendations: Almost all short sleeves/shorts, etc. Tropical humidity made long sleeves uncomfortable day & night, even in January. Butterfly Conservatory a must – feeling a little like you’re in “Avatar.” Get “rough & ready” swimming/snorkeling at Zachary Taylor State Park’s (safe but no lifeguard) uncrowded beach (also even in January); admission $2.50 or so; snorkel gear rental $13/day. Bring a blanket or large hotel pool towels (chair/umbrella rental $35/day). Beach bag from home also for shopping( lots of reasonably priced casual wear). Cabs were $8/person, not by distance; hotel will call you one. And pulleeze remember: be in FOREGROUND for photos, not way back smack up against the attraction, like amateurs.

Room Tip: Suggest an upper floor in Building A (same side of street as office) if available. If you have spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Albury Court Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Hi Roger,

Thank you so much for taking time to post your review. We are delighted that you found us, and are especially glad to hear that your stay at the Albury Court Hotel helped you to win points with your family!

We hope to see you here with us again soon for another unique, authentic Key West experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#19 of 51 in Key West
1,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albury Court Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albury Court Hotel in Key West

Address: 1030 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range: $163 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albury Court Hotel in Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Albury Court Hotel located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 38 guest rooms and is located in a residential neighborhood at the corner of Eaton and Frances Streets in the historic district. Near the harbor, it is within walking distance of Key West's major attractions including Duval Street, the sunset pier, restaurants, shopping and nightlife, waterfront activities, and quaint island neighborhoods. This hotel offers a variety of guest rooms located in several buildings, each with typical Key West architecture such as clapboard siding, open porches, metal roofs, picket fences, and tropical landscaping. Free high-speed Wifi. Free continental breakfast. Upscale amenities. Outdoor heated swimming pool. Historic landmark guesthouse. Conveniently located in Old Town Key West. Lovely neighborhood setting. Pay garage parking nearby. Walk to Duval Street, The Harbor & beaches. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Albury Court Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Albury Court Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albury Court Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing