We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have to say that I do a lot of research prior to traveling and was a little disappointed in The Albury Court. My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay, so enough time to settle in, but there is no way to settle in here. Rooms are very compact with no useful furniture in the room other than the bed. No dresser or cabinetry to hold clothing, 1 small bedside table, and a fireplace (?). The closet was extremely small with a safe that opened backwards, so to see in the safe you had to remove hanging clothes from the rack, open safe, duck under the door to look inside. If not done correctly you ended up with a huge knot on your head like my husband did....The bath has a pedestal sink so no place to put toiletries there either. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, in need of refreshing, the breakfast was unremarkable, staff was friendly, exterior space very cramped. Pool area has only 2 lounge chairs, small tables and chairs but limited space to sun bathe, the sun deck is across the street, 2nd floor overlooking a very busy noisy street. The location is good, we took bikes and rode everywhere. Was nice to be able to get around so well. Have been to KW many times, my least favorite place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 705 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Albury Court from April 6 through the 13th and they were the worst two rooms (I will get to that later) we have stayed in during our four separate trips to Key West. The first room we stayed in was small and very sparsely furnished. So sparse that they took the drawers out of the bedside stand and placed the mini fridge in their place. This left two drawers in the opposite bedside as the only place to tuck things away. The bathroom faucet was not located in the bathroom but in an alcove next to it that was so narrow that you cannot comb your hair normally as there is not enough room for your elbows. None the less we decided to make the best of it as we spend very little time in the room. This was the case on Monday when my wife and I returned from a night on Duval to find that there is not only a waterfall feature at the pool, There is one in room 20 when the people above get carried away with their hot tub. When we reported the situation, we were told to pack our things and they would find us another room. We were told that given the circumstances there would be no problem comping the room for two nights and they handed us the keys to 28. This room was very much like 20 except the bed doesn’t even have box springs. It was drier and we were tired. The next day we were told they intended to comp one night as that was all that was affected. Clearly they have never had to shuffle out of one room and into another it the middle of the night - then spend the next day getting back settled into a new room and drying your items as the waterfall falls directly on the only two drawers in the room. They did say they would look into it and we should check back. Several days later we were at the pool and met a couple. We began to tell them our story and low and behold they were in the same room. They asked what we hated most about the room and I thought it would be one of the complaints listed. It was not – it was that the room smelled very bad. This was not the case for us. It was obviously not cleaned properly prior to putting another guest directly back into the flooded room. We never did receive the second night refund but were told someone would call us the following Monday after our departure. Still waiting for that call two weeks later.

Room Tip: Do not book room 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The room we stayed in was an upstairs room and very clean and quaint. Two couples stayed here and it was just what we needed for a one night stay in Key West. Albury Court is in walking distance to Duval Street and Mallory Square. The room came with free breakfast which consisted of several choices (to our surprise). I am completely satisfied with Albury Court and would return tomorrow if I could. Check-in was very easy and everyone was very helful and nice to us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabo1Kentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

There was nothing impressive about the Albury Court. The staff was not particularly accommodating, the room was small, the pool was tiny and always crowded, and the breakfast was slim pickings. As a whole, I would not return or recommend the hotel to friends. I have stayed at two other Key West bed and breakfasts-both were booked-and prefer both of those to the Albury Court. All that being said, there was nothing terribly wrong with it either. They did provide breakfast and the room was clean and fresh. (Though they did not clean it until about 4:00 pm). The pool area, when not packed, was pleasant and the hotel was within walking distance to many places.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmw2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed two nights at the hotel. We had a wonderful room for 4 people up under the roof. It was all clean and we felt welcome and home. Check in was friendly and helpful. The location is good, you only have a few minutes walk to the wharf walk and Duval Street. Nice pool.

It is pricey and the street was noisy through the night. But that was to be expected.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

As a solo traveler I had a very small room which was a little pricey for what it was but thoroughly enjoyable, very clean and fresh decor and within a short walk to the ferry terminal and beginning of the wharf walk which has many restaurants to choose from and only two blocks from the bike rental shop. Just a short distance further is Duval Street, the museums and the west side of the island where everyone gathers for sunset. The continental breakfast was adaquate, nicely presented and served outdoors in the patio/pool area which is small, pleasant and cozy. The pool is small but just enough to cool off and refresh after a bike ride. Although my room faced a busy street the noise factor wasn't enough to interrupt sleep or annoy.

The staff is very accommodating and helpful. There was a small glitch with my reservation but it was handled quickly, efficiently and with a great attitude. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adams9976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

On the other end of Duval, but quaint little hotel that offers continental breakfast near the pool. Quiet end, even though we were on the corner of Eaton, a major road. We were at the end of the marina, so it was nice to walk the entire way, then Mallory Square and Duval. Even though we had a car, we left it parked right outside the hotel and rented scooters one day. Perfect location to head down White St. to Smathers Beach and Higgs(?) Beach. Then cruise around Duval, Southernmost point and to the Eco Center! Yes, it was tight, but so is all real estate in Key West.
One recommendation is to have drapes on the windows, along with blinds. Our adjoining bedroom was so light at night due to the hotel outside lights, and our room was very bright at sun-rise

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktmac230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.4 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.1 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,796 reviews
0 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#34 of 77 in Key West
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albury Court Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albury Court Hotel in Key West

Address: 1030 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range: $163 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albury Court Hotel in Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Albury Court Hotel located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 38 guest rooms and is located in a residential neighborhood at the corner of Eaton and Frances Streets in the historic district. Near the harbor, it is within walking distance of Key West's major attractions including Duval Street, the sunset pier, restaurants, shopping and nightlife, waterfront activities, and quaint island neighborhoods. This hotel offers a variety of guest rooms located in several buildings, each with typical Key West architecture such as clapboard siding, open porches, metal roofs, picket fences, and tropical landscaping. Free high-speed Wifi. Free continental breakfast. Upscale amenities. Outdoor heated swimming pool. Historic landmark guesthouse. Conveniently located in Old Town Key West. Lovely neighborhood setting. Pay garage parking nearby. Walk to Duval Street, The Harbor & beaches. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Albury Court Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albury Court Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albury Court Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing