We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Dry Tortugas”
Review of Yankee Freedom III

Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the eighth wonder of the world aboard the Yankee Freedom II Dry Tortugas National Park Ferry. Cruise in spacious comfort to Fort Jefferson Dry Tortugas National Park seventy miles southwest of Key West. Our veteran captain and friendly crew will take you to one of the most unique and spectacular national parks in the United States. Your trip includes breakfast, lunch, snorkel gear and guided tour of the largest brick structure in the United States.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We took this excursion from Key West in May 2013. The weather was perfect. Breakfast and lunch were great. Our time at the island was spent between relaxing on the beach, snorkeling and visiting the fort. Excellent time the entire trip. The crew was amazing, very informative and extremely helpful with any questions that came up and with getting us set up with snorkeling gear.

Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fort jefferson"
in 323 reviews
"dry tortugas"
in 603 reviews
"breakfast and lunch"
in 229 reviews
"day trip"
in 188 reviews
"boat ride"
in 125 reviews
"bagels"
in 79 reviews
"national park"
in 92 reviews
"great trip"
in 107 reviews
"camping gear"
in 15 reviews
"boiled eggs"
in 15 reviews
"potato salad"
in 41 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 49 reviews
"fish"
in 130 reviews
"nice breakfast"
in 23 reviews
"garden key"
in 27 reviews
"rough seas"
in 33 reviews
"guided tour"
in 85 reviews
Filter

967 - 971 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a trip well worth taking. Very well planned and very accommodating. Friendly staff and immaculate service. Don't miss this side trip when you visit Key West.

Thank TJW0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We traveled on Thursday, May 23, 2013 & had a great time! The weather was fantastic. Boat was clean and very spacious. We were to capacity and still had lots of room. Crew spoke about the waters and surroundings going to the Fort. Breakfast & Lunch were great! Restrooms were very clean. We took the tour of the Fort,in which one of the crew led and gained a ton of knowledge from his tour. We have recommended this to all our friends and people we meet! Great Day on the Water!!

Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We went on this awful trip on July 1, 2013 and it was just horrible! What started out as something I was looking forward to during my time in the Florida Keys turned out to be a disaster.
One hour into our trip it started to rain and really big swells started tossing our boat around and some people fell going to the restroom. About 60% of the people on the boat became seasick and were vomiting in these small white bags handed out by the staff, who, also were taking out the food for lunch. People were puking in the same room that they were setting out the food in! It was disgusting.
The trip back was even worse with more people puking and the staff handing out more bags. The swells were so big and our boat would literally go up in the air and slam down. We had to stay seated for safety reasons. The skies were gray, the water was almost black and we really feared for our safety. We could not get off that boat fast enough when we docked.

I know that some people would say, "well, you can't control the weather", but we found out later that there was a small craft advisory, and apparently "yankee freedom" didn't really care about that. Complaints to the company when we got home fell on deaf ears with no response. My thought is that you rely on the captain of this boat to be a professional and make an informed decision based on weather and water craft advisories to ensure the safety of the customers in his care - even if that means having to cancel the excursion because of weather conditions! However I did not get the sense that this company gave a hoot as long as they got your $164 per person fee ahead of time (yes, it is that expensive).

Beware if you go on this trip because you have to cancel at least 24 hours ahead of time and there is no guarantee that you will see anything when you get to Dry Tortuga. When we got to the island, it was drizzling and cold. The fort is old and crumbling and there is a lot of walking if you take the tour. The ground is unkempt and uneven and may not be suitable for those with mobility problems. The snorkeling was non-existent, and we could only attempt to snorkel on one side of the island because the wind was so bad. The currents were strong and the only thing I saw was seaweed. The south beach was rocky and the strong winds made it impossible to sit because the wind was whipping the sand at your skin and face, there are picnic tables, but no covered areas.

When we got back on the boat, we were cold and wet and we asked the staff if they could shut down the AC or warm up the cabin, they said no, they couldn't adjust the temperature, so we sat in a cold, air conditioned room with damp bathing suits/clothing on. They also ran out of some food which only consisted of sandwiches, chicken salad with a hair in it, and chips. After seeing people vomiting right across the aisle from where I was sitting, I did not really have much of an appetite.

I was really hoping that my excursion would have been as pleasant as those reviews I read about previously on Trip Advisor, but I would use caution in deciding to go on this excursion. You might be better off going on a nearby snorkel trip that is likely much less expensive and cares about its customers. If you are planning to take this trip make sure you are not prone to sea sickness, however I strongly advise you to skip this horrible trip.

2  Thank themanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Traveled in early June 2013 during short family trip to Keys. Made advance reservations and found check-in flawless. Beautiful and smooth ride over. Perfect weather. Ample inside seating as well as space outdoors to enjoy the breeze. Good continental-plus breakfast. Arrived at the fort on time, enjoyed exploring and snorkeling, returned to boat for nice lunch, then off again to swim and tour. At end of trip took advantage of the rinse off shower, found a nice cool booth inside, got delicious fru-fru drinks (very reasonably priced), some salty snacks and stretched out for the lovely ride back. Very pleased with the services of the crew, the ship, the amenities and the destination. What an incredible experience, and we were so well cared for. Plan on returning with other family members who could not come. My son brought fishing gear and had a great time, and caught some big fish right from the shore and dock. The snorkeling was incredible,as was walking the sea wall and watching he beautiful tropical fish.

Thank Jacksonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yankee Freedom III also viewed

 

Been to Yankee Freedom III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing