We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to the Dry Totugas with the Yankee Freedom III”
Review of Yankee Freedom III

Yankee Freedom III
Book In Advance
More Info
$178.99*
and up
Dry Tortugas National Park Day Trip by Catamaran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the eighth wonder of the world aboard the Yankee Freedom II Dry Tortugas National Park Ferry. Cruise in spacious comfort to Fort Jefferson Dry Tortugas National Park seventy miles southwest of Key West. Our veteran captain and friendly crew will take you to one of the most unique and spectacular national parks in the United States. Your trip includes breakfast, lunch, snorkel gear and guided tour of the largest brick structure in the United States.
Dayton, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Trip to the Dry Totugas with the Yankee Freedom III”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in the Florida Keys in April. We stayed in Marathon and using that as our base and ventured out to do a little island hopping. We new we wanted to go out to the Dry Tortugas. The fee is a little pricey but the experience is priceless! We had a wonderfull time. The crew was awsome. We had a delicious buffet breakfast and lunch. There are several areas of the boat you can go to enjoy the ride. It is a long trip about three hours each way. But, we used it to get to know other passengers and to catch up on some reading. We took our beach umbrella,a beach chair, a couple of towels and a small cooler of drinks & snacks. The crew was more than happy to store our umbrella and chair and made it avilable when it was time to use. My husband went snorkeling and I sat on the sandy beach area and watched the sea planes come in. The tour of the fort was informative and we took some great pictures! Thank you Yankee Freedom for a unforgettable experience!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank strickler1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    926
    144
    36
    11
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wien, Österreich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Day-trip to the Dry Tortugas”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

70 miles, even with a fast boat, is quite a long distance. You get a good breakfast when you start the trip earlly in the morning, About 50 minutes before arriving, the crossing of a deep-sea channel is announced, and even the sea does optically not change it gets really bumpy (and you hopefully don't get seasick). After this hurdle you arrive in a very deserted beautiful place with the large fort, waiting to be explored on your own or with a park-guide. At noon a small lunch is proveded. On one side of fort is a sandy beach, which can be used for swimming and snorkling. As we were there (the day before was stormy) the water was very sandy and we haven't seen even one fish. Bad luck. The return cruise turned out to be more convenient, as the channel now was crossed in the other direction and in another angle. The price for the trip ia quite high, but it is worth of it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The highlight of my trip to fort Jefferson!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Thank you crew to making our trip very enjoyable! This trip was worth every penny! They did a great job in providing all the snorkeling gear and where to snorkel on the island and what to watch out for. They also provided us with breakfast and lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paigettrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great time at Dry Tortugas!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We really had a great time on the Yankee Freedom III and Dry Tortugas. The food was great! The tour of the fort was well worth the time we spent. I wish we would have taken our own snorkeling equipment. This has been our 2nd time snorkeling, and I just think we need our own equipment to ensure it fits well. If you don't want to spend the money on your own equipment, there is plenty of snorkeling equipment available on the island. Take lots of sunscreen, and I would suggest a shirt to wear in the water. I wish there would have been coffee in the mustering area prior to getting on the boat. Next time, I would make sure I had coffee before I got on the boat. There's coffee on the boat, but it's not available until breakfast is served.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“girls' outing”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful trip to the Dry Tortugas in April, topping off a sisters' reunion / week in the Florida Keys. Can definitely recommend to anyone who wants a break from the craziness of Key West. Educational too! Learned lots from the crew who were all accommodating, knowledgeable and friendly. Snorkeling at the fort was wonderful as was the tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 43501969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yankee Freedom III also viewed

 
Dry Tortugas National Park, Florida Keys
 

Been to Yankee Freedom III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing