We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend your money and time elsewhere”
Review of Mango Tree Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mango Tree Inn
Ranked #60 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 24, 2007

This place is NOT worth the money. There are dozens of inns on the island, and I am certain one could find a friendlier, better place than this. The pool is a nice perk. However, the inn is located on a noisy corner, making it virtually impossible to enjoy a quiet afternoon by the pool. (Especially with the pool guys, electrician, and painter ALL working around us while we were staying there) The owners made us feel like we were bothering them by staying there, as if they are completely put out by people staying at their home. The room lacked charm, and would benefit from an interior decorator, despite the funky architecture and potential for a cool space. The bed was mushy and the sheets looked about 10 years old, and were in desperate need of updating. Our flight didn't leave until late afternoon on the day of our departure. When we asked if we could keep our bags there, they made us keep them outside on the porch, instead of having a place inside for them where we would feel they were more secure. It was clean, and if you are just looking for a roof over your head, this place will do. However, it will come for a pretty penny. Our stay at Mermaid and Alligator was cheaper, included breakfast, and was of such higher quality. Other reviews seem to be good... but for $220/night, we were unimpressed all around.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 88 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2006

We stayed at the Mango Tree Inn in Oct 2006. We booked it primarily because of the location and other Trip Advisor comments and we were totally thrilled with the Inn. The location could not be beaten. Two short blocks to Duval, everything was walkable and the street was really quiet and safe at night. What a beautiful Inn- everyone there was very friendly and helpful and more than happy to call cabs, reserve tee times or restaurant reservations. Everyday we were greeted with fresh flowers in our room. The inn only has a few rooms but they were spacious and comfortable (I wanted to take the mattress home with us!!!) and immaculate.
We expected to enjoy Key West and pretty much check it off our list of things to see and never go again but after our trip we both felt strongly that we wanted to go back and would definitly stay at the Mango Tree.
We took a sea plane to Dry Tortugas National Park. It was the highlight of the trip. The flight was fabulous. We saw lots of turtles, sharks, manatees and just beautiful scenery.
WE WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fritzidoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Mango Tree Inn last February and it was wonderful! Key West is one of those places that grow on you and we're not sure why. We are not big partiers and there are better places for beaches. Still this was our second trip to the Keys and we will be going back again and we will definitely stay at the Mango Tree Inn.

Peggy and Johnny were warm and gracious hosts and the rooms were fresh and clean. Even though it is located just 2 blocks from Duval the grounds have a sense of privacy and peacefulness and it is quiet enough to enjoy relaxing poolside with a tropical drink.

There are countless places within walking distance to eat. For the best breakfast in Key West you have to try "Blue Heaven" and just across the street from Mango Tree is "Sarah Beths". Our favorite place for dinner is the "Half Shell Raw Bar"

Hanging out at the Schooner Wharf and watching sunsets from the roof top at La Chonch Hotel is what we seemed to fill most of our time doing. It was great that we could park our car right in front of the Mango tree and never move it because we could walk wherever we wanted. Driving in Key West is not enjoyable and riding bicycles or skooters is a death defying feat.

If you get a chance to hear Raven Cooper perform she is absolutely the best in Key West. She can sing anything from Billie Holiday, Janis Joplin to Patsy Cline, Johnny Cash and Carmen Miranda. An absolutely all arouund entertainer and I do not know why she has not been picked up by a recording label yet.

If you're going to Key West Mango Tree is THE place to stay. Perhaps we will see you there!

If you are driving in from Miami and looking for a place to stay in Key Largo read my review of The Largo Lodge.

6  Thank trip_taker02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2006

Room decorations are beautiful. Garden is straight from paradise and the large pool is heated so night swims were great. Owners were so nice and helpful. They scehduled star watch cruise then checked weather that morning and recommended another activity as clouds were forcast. They know the island and best places to eat and tour. They have an oviously loyal following as we stayed there for 4th straight year and saw several guests from previous visits. Recommend reservations early or get on cancellation list.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank M3Company
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Gainesville, FL
17
Reviewed May 22, 2005

Just returned from KeyWest and our stay at the Mango Tree Inn was wonderful. Nicely decorated and good housekeeping. Owners were out of town but Sharon was great to work with. Helped us with reservations, bike rentals and the like. Full kitchen nicely equipped. Having few rooms kept the inn intimate and cozy. Recommended for a long or short getaway.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La stanza al primo piano è sicuramente confortevole per un soggiorno di due-tre notti
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FabrizioOrietta2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Елена Т
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#41 of 77 in Key West
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frances Street Bottle Inn
Frances Street Bottle Inn
#63 of 77 in Key West
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#44 of 77 in Key West
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean House
Caribbean House
#51 of 77 in Key West
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Tree Inn

Address: 603 Southard St, Key West, FL 33040-6837
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $119 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Mango Tree Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing