We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like Home”
Review of Mango Tree Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mango Tree Inn
Ranked #60 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I fell in love with the Mango Tree Inn years ago while attending the Key West Songwriters Festival. Owners Johnny and Peggy Newberry are the most welcoming, kind people and they try to make ever stay at the Mango Tree Inn magic for each guest. From nice touches like flowers scattered about the room, to arranging entertainment options around town, they treat you just like family. The beautiful, large pool is only shared by four rooms, so you almost always have it to yourself. The beautiful front porch with ceiling fans is an awesome place to watch the world go by on Southard Street, just a block from Duval. Rooms in this late 1890's guest house are all beautifully decorated and have private baths. Our favorite is the pool suite that includes a small kitchen and walks right out onto the pool deck. Stay at the Mango Tree and get to know Johnny and Peggy. On your next trip, it will feel just like home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 88 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the Mango Tree Inn for an extended Memorial Day weekend. What a nice surprise this place turned out to be. Because of the reviews of noise, I was a little nervous. We are not 21 any more, and after a night out on Duval Street, we need as much good sleep as we can get!
The location is excellent. We were right in the middle of everything, and everywhere that we wanted to go. We stayed in the Orchid Room on the second floor overlooking the pool. The room was small, but not too small. The way that we view the room is that we're there to sleep at night, nap in the afternoon to get a break from the sun, and to get ready to go out for the evening. It was just right for the two of us. And the bathroom, which had been recently renovated, was very nice.
There were thoughtful little touches everywhere. Fresh beautiful flowers in the room when we arrived, along with a flower on our freshly made (and very comfortable) bed every morning when Kristina came in and tidied up for us every day. Yes, there were even flower petals in the toilet! The ice bucket was filled for us every day when Kristina came through. In the closet there was a beach bag with towels, in case we headed out to the beach, along with pool towels in the room for us. Unfortunately, it rained our last day there. But there was an umbrella in the closet for us to use. It was nice to not have to buy an umbrella!
For a smaller Inn, the pool was a nice size. We were only able to spend one day at the pool, but we had it to ourselves. We even had the chance to swim with Kaley, Peggy and Johnny's 10-year old dog.
As we were checking in, Peggy was very accomodating and helpful. She was able to book us reservations for dinner at Seven Fish one night. Usually we do this ourselves, but it was nice to have that taken care of for us! Anything we needed, and Peggy was there for us.
Noise was not an issue for us at all. We did hear our neighbors in the next room coming or going in the middle of the night on one of the nights, but that is something that you'd deal with any place. We also ran the AC every night, so that did a good job of providing the white noise to block everything else out.
Everywhere you looked at the Inn-- outside, in the hallways, in our room-- we saw personal touches. The care that Peggy and Johnny took in decorating the Inn, and the pictures on the walls tell the story of their love for Key West and for this Inn that they also call their home.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shamrock17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

As a couple in our 40s, this place couldn't have been better! We stayed in the poolside suite and it was perfect for us. It had a full kitchen which we only used to make sandwiches for the beach and the fridge to keep our drinks cold but if we were staying longer, I probably would've made a meal or two since there was a market right around the corner. The Inn was conveniently located. The pool was a nice size and right outside our door. There are only 3 rooms for rent which was perfect since the place was quiet and I think we were the youngest couple there. :) Peggy set us up with bike rentals which were delivered right to the Inn. Another convenience. I have not one complaint. It was clean and comfortable. Especially the bed! It had wi-fi. And everyone was friendly. I would definitely stay there again in the poolside suite! We loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CampHillGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had already booked the Mango Tree when I read some reviews complaining about parking and noise. We arrived with a little trepidation. So parking, we didn't really have an issue and Peggy is on the case anyway. Noise, yeah there is a little but not a huge issue, didn't stop us sleeping. The air conditioner was very loud but we were able to turn it off as the heat wasn't too bad. The inn itself is a delight, really nice, very quaint, just how we imagined it. We had the octagonal suite, very spacious, good shower room and kitchen facilities. Lots of really nice touches, the beautiful flowers already mentioned in other reviews, a beach bag with beach tools in it, how fab is that? Really good quality toiletries, coffee etc. We would definitely stay again if we came to Key West

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank LadyMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in the Orchid Suite B march 1-7 2013 which had a private entrance. The room was beautifully decorated with fresh flowers everyday. Peggy the owner was very helpful with any and all questions. Only downfall was trash truck about 3-4am a few mornings picking up dumpsters full of bottles. But didn't hinder our stay. Only one block off Duvall for easy walking. Bikes are a definite to get around. Would recommend this place to all. Beautiful pool which was heated. No kids allowed for a little more peace and quiet. Can't wait to go back. Ask for a suite for that balcony or porch and little kitchenette to make your stay even nicer :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just got back from our third stay at Mango Tree. It was fabulous as always. Peggy and Johnny treat you like friends and the location can't be beat. Rooms are all comfy and Christina keeps them clean and well stocked. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in the room on Simonton st
& it was very noisy at night & early in the morning
The A/c unit kept cycling on & off & was so loud we turned it off
The street noise from trucks,motorcycles, & blaring car radios woke us every night

Other rooms at the Inn might provide a restfull night. But not this one

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#41 of 77 in Key West
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frances Street Bottle Inn
Frances Street Bottle Inn
#63 of 77 in Key West
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#44 of 77 in Key West
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean House
Caribbean House
#51 of 77 in Key West
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Tree Inn

Address: 603 Southard St, Key West, FL 33040-6837
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $119 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Mango Tree Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing