We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not sure its worth the investment, truth be told”

Old Town Trolley Tours Key West
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.45*
and up
Key West Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #35 of 283 Tours in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Don’t just visit Key West, relive it aboard Old Town Trolley Tours. Discover the island that charmed Ernest Hemingway, Harry Truman and Jimmy Buffet. The fully narrated, 90-minute tour covers over 400 years of history and over 100 points of interest. With 12 stops conveniently located, guests can enjoy shopping, dining, attractions and exploring on their own. Trolleys come by each stop every 30 minutes. Old Town Trolley Tours has a 100% money back guarantee.
New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Not sure its worth the investment, truth be told”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We chose this as a transportation option while in Key West, as it has 11 stops (including our hotel) and we thought it would provide us with a lot of history on the island. It does do that, but not as much as I had hoped and for $60, two adults can take a lot of cab rides or visit several museums for more detail on what makes Key West so historical. One of or drivers (Geoff) was really pleasant and entertaining, another (Richard) rather crabby - he spent more time complaining about the pedi cabs and other drivers than anything else. In his defense, it was Spring Break, and the place was a zoo. If this is your first trip to Key West, its probably worth it to get a general layout of the island and see a bunch of sites within the 2 hour loop, but as a transportation method, I would not reccomend -the buses are about a half hour apart (or more) and they stop running around 5 pm, so you wont get to do a lot og "hopping", even with the second day included.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LouisLeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyWestTrolleyTours, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours Key West, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our tour. Unfortunately, as you mentioned, you were visiting during spring break and the town is quite crowded with students. We are also in the middle of a three year construction project on US Highway 1, which has been challenging for our route and tour, so we are doing our best during this time to make the best this situation for our guests, our conductors and residents of Key West.

We do have a 100% money back guarantee on all of our tours and attractions which you can easily access by visiting the customer service area of our website.

Kindest regards,
Linda Test, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,124
    527
    167
    57
    44
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Town Trolley is a must!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great way to find out where things are located and a bit of history/local color of Key West. You can get on and off at just about any stop. The drivers we have had were friendly, upbeat, and you could obviously tell they enjoyed their job. I would definetely recommend this at the start of your visit to Key West to help you have a better feel for the island.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 88Patty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“shuttle to downtown was handy”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We liked this tour because it was convenient to grab tickets from our hotel and take the shuttle from the hotel to the marina. We didn't have a car on the key so the shuttle alone was worth the price. The tour guides were all different (Mike was our favorite with his grasp of history). If you hop on and off this tour you will enjoy different humor with drivers, convenience shuttle and a full range of all of the sights on the key including the beaches and museums. Good price for the 2 day ticket.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigourney, Iowa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Trolleys are the way to go”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Trolley's are the way to go when you are in Key West. Don't fight the traffic and pay for parking. We stayed at the Key West Ambassador and the trolley's stopped right at our hotel. They took us to all of the important places and told historical stories. Friendly Drivers! You are able to get on and off at any stop!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice tour to give you a flavor of Key West”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This trolley tour is nice to become acquainted with Key West. Louie was our driver and he was very informative and funny. You can pick up the trolley at any of the drop-off locations (where tickets are available for purchase). Our tickets were good for any 2 consecutive days so not a bad price overall.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wife2golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Trolley Tours Key West also viewed

 

Been to Old Town Trolley Tours Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing