We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Key West icon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Meson de Pepe

El Meson de Pepe
Ranked #95 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $18
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Key West icon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The best Cuban food on the island located behind Mallory Dock. Service is excellent and they have a killer Mojito!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    508
    174
    82
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HartfordCt
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Breakfast was great and a good price. Unless you like waiting in line go early, before 9:00 am. Outside seating is available, but on uneven surface.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank volleyball-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“My 1st Cuban Restaurant - Good choice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had dinner at at El Meson de Pepe , our 1st Cuban food. It was excellent. We got a platter and my husband and I split it. There was plenty for both and we sampled several different types of Cuban foods. We had # 80. Completa de Caballo Grande
- Sample our 3 most popular- Cuban Dishes: #69 Lechon Asado, #62 RopaVieja, and #61 Picadillo Habanero; served with white or yellow rice, black beans, plantains, and
yucca - $19.25
Everything was tasty and we were impressed. Then we finished with a slice of their home made Key Lime pie...which was excellent. It had the merinque on top.
They do add a gratuity, so be sure and watch for it. We sat outside on the patio and you are close to Mallory Square and can sometimes see the sunset. They have live music outside on stage also. Our waiter was very attentive and was very knowledgeable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kbentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A fabulous visit to Cuba without going there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

A fantastic find. The service is fantastic and the service is great. The waiter we had was fabulous I never got his name but i have included a photo of him. He alone is worth the stop. The food was fantastic and i had one of the best Charasco's i have ever had. The Phlan was very good and the drinks were generous. Great music and dancing if that is your thing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toberua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Beware that 15% service charge is included at the bar”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

A large group of us stopped at El Meson de Pepe after sunset at Mallory and ordered many drinks, taking turns buying rounds. We tipped generously, only to later find out that the tab included a 15% gratuity on every drink. When we asked the bartender, he pointed to a very small sign behind the bar among many big signs. Seems like a scam to get bigger tips and we felt like we'd be had. I would understand if every bar in Key West did this, but I believe they are the only place with this deceitful policy. The mojitos were good, but not $13 good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meson de Pepe also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to El Meson de Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing