We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice cuban place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Meson de Pepe

El Meson de Pepe
Ranked #97 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $18
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A nice cuban place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nice outdoor seating close to Mallory square but not disturbed by it. They have live music, average prices ( for a touristy city) and good sangria. Would eat here again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLWS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    515
    180
    83
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
22407
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Key West Cuban atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Loved our evening at El Meson de Pepe. We shared lovely tapas and had custom made drinks by the excellent bartender at the outdoor bar near the music stage. The Cuban band played excellent music and it was a treat to see so many folks dancing in the sultry evening. Definitely something to do in conjunction with the Mallory Square sunset celebration.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank harris1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For something different try Cuban”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

It was a nice change from seafood. The portions were average, Overall, it was a nice change from Duval street and never being in the Mallory Square area. Food was done well not too spicy and bland. Very nice atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Real authentic cuban place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very nice authentic cuban restaurant with nice authmosphere, really good food, gift shop. And CIGAR shop!!! Very friendly service, live rooster and chickens, and great location from where you can walk and watch famous sunset on the Keys.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hagani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In the Country, NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Four of us were looking for a cool (with ac) spot for lunch one humid afternoon and came across El Meson de Pepe. I have been in the building many times, an old brick building that I believe was at on time the Customs House, a warehouse and everything in between. A nice location while in the Mallory Square area.
Given the choice of indoor or outdoor seating, we chose inside because as mentioned it was a hot afternoon. We were promptly seated in the dinning area, at a nice roomy table, the ac was just right, and Cuban music playing in the background, made a perfect setting for a nice lunch.
To be honest, I was pleasantly surprised by the whole place. I always thought it was one of those tourist tramps, but I was wrong. The menu is extensive, with a large variety of Cuban, Spanish and American food. And the prices were very average for the area we were in.
I ordered the Cuban, with a side order of plantains. Very, very, good. The plantains were served with 2 different dipping sauces, that complimented them. My husband ordered the Coconut shrimp appetizer, and a bowl of Chicken Noodle Soup. The shrimp were done perfectly, and the soup was light, and very simple-just what he wanted. Our friends also ordered a Cuban and a Chicken breast sandwich, both with plantains. They said the chicken was a little plain tasting, but not at all bad.
I honestly do not know what the bill was, but I do remember it not being a lot at all. They do add an 18% service fee on the bill, it is printed at the bottom, and also an explanation of the charge. Something like the tip needs to be split by the server, busser, bartender...It is your choice if you want to leave extra, above the 18%. We did not mind this at all, as it was clearly marked on the bill.
On our next trip to Key West, we will be going back to El Meson de Pepe.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meson de Pepe also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to El Meson de Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing