We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Nice Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Massapequa, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location - Nice Resort”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Hotel is located right in the heart of Old Town and right next to Mallory Square which is extreamly
convenient because there are a lot of really good bars and restaurants within walking distance. The room and grounds were very nice and clean and the hotel staff could not have been nicer.Parking is a problem in Key West and it will cost you $20 a day to park in the garage next to the hotel. The hotel is located next to the Cruise Ship Docks so things get a little hectic when the ships come in but it is not too bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    707
    296
    167
    128
See reviews for
553
1,025
45
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

So this was an impromptu stay in Key West. After departing from Fury's Commotion on the Ocean Sunset Cruise I was way too buzzed to make the 4 hr car ride back to Miami. And since I was staying at The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa in Hollywood, FL I knew this hotel would be good quality and a great night's sleep. The concierge even gave us two $40 complimentary breakfast cards for the Bistro restaurant. And I'm not talking your run of the mill continental breakfast! This was western omelet, eggs Benedict, mimosa quality breakfast with ocean front view on the terrace. And the pool was the best part- very relaxing, reminded me of a stay in Jamaica.
I seriously didn't want to leave !!
Next time in Key West I will PLAN to stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savy-mama97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

I have read your review and it sounds like you had fun time in Key West. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for five days in a two bedroom suite overlooking cruise ship docks. Suite was spacious and lovely - worth the price. The view was gorgeous - except when there was a ship in port and that pretty much blocks the view. Very convenient to old town and Mallory square. Pool was very nice albeit a little crowded. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. We are an active cruise ship port however, cruise ships do not dock here everyday. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Second time at this Westin and it is decent. I reserved the cheapest room rate they offered and got upgraded to a nice King room facing the water (red headed gentleman with the Irush accent at the desk was very accomodating). Folks complain about the cruise ships blocking the view (and that is true), but it's also fun to watch the big ships dock and to see all the passengers disembark ... we found it entertaining anyway. Room are a bit drab, nothing Key West-ish about them, but clean and quiet. Rooms at the Hyatt down the road are more unique (and costly), but they are loud (been at the Hyatt 5-6 times and NEVER got upgraded). If you want something unique, stay elsewhere. But if you want a clean, quiet, nice room close to the action ... stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. While we are an active cruise ship port, cruise ships do not dock here everyday. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I spend a few weeks in the Keys (Tavernier) every summer. Part of our visit is to take a trip to Key West and stay at the Westin. This has become an annual occurence for the last 6 to 7 years-celebrating our anniversary (35 years last year). Like other Trip Advisor readers, our visits for the most part have been positive but there have been a few bumps in the past. There are a few negatives-I think the most important one is the cruise ship blocking your view. But, after looking at the prices of other ocean front hotels this year (Hyatt, etc.) and the location to Mallory Square, this hotel is reasonable. We considered looking elsewhere, but very glad we didn't. Kudos to the Trip Advisor reader who advised us to mention 'frequent user upgrades'. We mentioned this tip at check in and were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite with our friends who were celebrating their anniversary/renewed their vows as well. Brittney and Hervin were very accommodating and professional at check-in and when we mentioned an anniversary, they not only upgraded but sent up a bottle of wine. Now, that's customer service. Our room was spotless and I had a difficult time leaving it!!! My only complaint is that the second day we were there and received maid service, the supplies were not replinished (soap, shampoo/conditioner, mouthwash, etc.). That's odd for an upscale hotel because we've received new supplies even in a budget motel. BUT, the maid service was done when we were out of the room and in a very timely manner (not after 5 like another Trip Advisor customer advised). If the cruise ship is an issue (we spent most of the two days away), don't get an oceanfront room (or at least ask beforehand). Also, consult with the concierge for help with activities, etc. I didn't get a chance to get her name, but one concierge we spoke with about the FURY trip was very helpful booking our trip and then cancelling it for us when a huge storm came through. Now, that's service!

Room Tip: Oceanview will help with the cost and avoid PART of the cruise ship view. All rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teacher_0n_Vacati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was helpful and accommodating. While we are an active cruise ship port, cruise ships do not dock here every day. The City of Key West has a cruise ship schedule available on their website; we are designated as pier (b). The cruise ship schedule is subject to change and therefore, we are unable to guarantee/predict/notify guests at the time of check in. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Key West and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Westin is a nice, clean and most of all convenient place to stay in Key West. The rooms were not the greatest but were above average and our view was an interior view of the pool. However, the location was perfect next to Mallory Square and Sunset Beach views. Close to Duval Street and restaurants; I would stay there again just for the location and the convenience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maverick09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

First off the location is both good and bad. Its good because its right next to Mallory Square, the festive place to be for sunset. Also this puts it close to the north end of Duval Street all the restaurants, shopping and bars. Since me and the wife were sans-kids this worked out great. The only downside is that large cruise ships dock right at the pier too. Luckily it wasn't until checkout day that one pulled in and ruined the ocean view and I read they leave before sunset but just be aware.
I thought the bed was quite comfortable.
Parking garage is $20 per day but convenient.
Pool was nice, a little small but good enough for us to hang. Hot is small.
The common stairwells and hallways smelled funky.
The biggest issue was my only experience with service and a call to request a cork screw. After 45 minutes it never came and I called again. The person that answered the second call said they were extremely sorry and would send it right away. After another 30 minute wait we gave up and left for dinner, chilled wine sitting there unopened...so much for a romantic glass on the balcony.
Since this was my only trip to key west I have nothing to compare this hotel with. Maybe location trumps service and they can get away with it.

Room Tip: If on bottom floor try to get facing ocean as the rest are around the pool and a bit louder/heavy gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#13 of 51 in Key West
2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina

Property: Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly The Westin Key West Resort & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#15 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right on the waterfront of Old Town Key West, just steps from the famous Mallory Square, and one block from Duval Street is the Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina - a hub of relaxation and luxury in the middle of all of the excitement that Key West is famous for. Experience the beauty of the sparkling sea, access to water sports, and endless dining, shopping, and entertainment options all just steps away. Our marina is one of the three cruise ports in Key West welcoming cruise ships from around the world. Dine on fresh island cuisine, indoors, on a deck, or oceanside. Sip a cocktail and lounge by our outdoor pool surrounded by lush native plants, or take a launch to the nearby private beach on Sunset Key. Rejuvenation awaits in the serenity of our massage studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing