We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What difference ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Miami
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What difference ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We left the Fairfield Marriott Keywest and fell i to PARADISE!

This is what we are used to. Beautiful location. Wonderful service even a ferry to take you to a private Island for sun & fun!

Starbucks coffee in the room :)

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    627
    262
    148
    107
See reviews for
468
897
40
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Martin, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Westin is not paying attention to details. The suite at $900 average per night has major issues. The air conditioners are loud and noisy running constantly, the bathrooms are extremely small single sink, tub with curtain :(, the balcony is very small and the chairs uncomfortable, the refrigerator did not fit in the cabinet, the carpet needs to be re-streached ( tripped twice) plastic cups (really), no mini bar, towels are scratchy and the suite has no personality. If they had suites at Motel 6 this would be it.

The staff was ok, we were here for our 25th anniversary celebration and on the day of , on a four night stay, not even a congratulations.

Do not stay here it is not worth it go to Ocean Keys Resort Great Suites, Great Service.

Room Tip: Don't stay here there are other options that are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations other Westin Hotels have provided for you. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for your comments.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey CI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the Westin hotel key west, we had in the past stayed at the pier house and also at the ocean keys and even though they were very good, we were blown away by the Westin. When checking in we were upgraded to an ocean view room, the rooms were very spacious and had everything you could need. We used the pool, spent a day at sunset keys the hotels private beach which has a nominal charge (so worth it), we ate in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed all the hotel had to offer. It is the perfect spot to enjoy the perfect sunset.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review! We are THE place to watch the sunset, with our performers, drink stations and great view! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Check in went well. Front desk gentleman ( from Ireland -can't recall name) was very nice. Suggested Romance pkg...champagne and chocolate covered strawberrys...nice touch and beginning to a great couple days. Awesome location..right in the Duval St. area. Can walk to most sites. Check out the Truman White house down the street. Can over endulge in food and drink and easily stagger back to your room. The A/C unit in our room a little loud but not bad enough to not come back. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yortele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Everything was excellent. Service was top notch, very cordial at all times. Location is amazing. It was great being able to go back to the room with the baby for a nap, then wake up and in 2 minutes be back on Duval Street. Top notch hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josanjj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My son and I came for the first time for our annual Mother's Day weekend getaway and we had so much fun! The concierge helped arrange all our water activities prior and we spent a day at Sunset Key (a must!) The only meals we ate onsite were breakfast and lunch but it was all great. And the service was really so perfect and the staff were very friendly. We cant wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busybiztravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the good review. It's always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is right in the heart of Mallory square which is great for the sunset celebration and for walking around old town. Clean room. Wonderful concierge desk--especially Svetlana as her recommendations were fantastic and she was very nice and took her time with us. The wifi didn't work at all during our trip; I could occasionally pick up signal labeled cruise ships that was provided by the trolley tour company. An old message left on our phone for a previous guest suggested this must be common as it was from a staff member saying there should be signal and the case was resolved. We didn't call to complain after we heard the message, and we had our phones we could use. For the price of the hotel, it was disappointing to not have reliable wifi. As honeymooners with a 5pm flight, we requested late check out. I called Friday morning as we were leaving Saturday. I was told by the gentlemen to call back either really late at night or easy Saturday morning to make the request (the request was in our initial reservation made by our travel agent and we asked when we checked in but neither of those requests could be addresses-gentleman at front desk when we checked in said to call and ask the day before). So I called at 12:30am Saturday and a lady told me we could check out at 3. Luckily after breakfast, we came back to our room because a gentleman called around 12:45 and told us housekeeping informed him we weren't checking out until 3 and that could not be accommodated. I told him I had called overnight and the lady at guest services gave me that check out time. He wanted to know who I spoke with--I didn't ask her name! Frankly, I didn't know his name either as he phoned me. Super rude. Said we had to be out by 1:30 and he would address this with his staff. We immediately took our luggage down for the hotel to hold and managed to waste time until our flight. No real apology and I felt as if I were being fussed at as if I had made up my own check out time--could he not look up what females were on duty at guest services at 12:30am? Insult to injury, when we returned to collect our luggage, the girl at the front desk said we owed @$88. For parking. We did not have a car we told her. Then she said it was for valet. Once again, we did not have a car. Then she said it was for a ferry. We took no ferry. Then she decided it was for a glassbottom boat trip we took. I informed her we took the trip, booked thru their concierge service, and paid with a debit card when we booked. She then said she saw the visa charge and we didn't have a balance to pay. Bottom line, great property in a great location and great bellhops, but no one at guest services seems to know what they are doing, and don't count on wifi.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a water view and enjoy the spa and beach at sunset key
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Property: The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly Hilton Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#13 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural beauty and local charm make the Westin Key West Resort & Marina a remarkable destination. Located on the waterfront in the heart of Old Town, this resort is positioned on the sunset side of the island within walking distance of famous Duval Street. It is also one of the country's largest private ports which welcomes cruise ships from around the world. As the only full-service resort in Key West to hold the AAA Four-Diamond rating since 1999, The Westin Key West Resort and Marina boasts a reputation of unmatched hospitality and offers an ideal setting for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Starwood, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing