We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Solid Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I started a five-day reservation made by a family member for us, but it didn't begin well. The reservation had been removed, for reasons unknown by either the hotel or our family. We ended up with a night while there, two nights in another hotel and two more in the Westin. We felt that the hotel was doing it's best for make things good for us, but the reality was that every room was filled on most of the days. Our final room was on the ground floor, looking through vegetation to the pool. It was pleasant to see the activity at the pool, particularly by many well-behaved kids. The room was large and comfortable, and the sound from adjacent rooms was entirely muted. A very good desk permitted lots of computer work with ease. The location on the marina was very enjoyable and gave us a good area to walk our small Yorkie dogs. Walking along Front was easy and pleasant in the heart of downtown Key West. Cruise ships were anchored adjacent to the marina and the Westin, and with two of them in on one of the days there were always hundreds of visitors walking through the hotel area. We checked out in a heavy rainstorm, and wished there had been a dry route under protection from our building to the entrance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunsmurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room and the surrounding areas during your stay. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,333)
There are newer reviews for Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,305 - 1,311 of 2,333 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time to Key West. We choose this hotel because of the location, pictures on line and what we had seen of the exterior during our last visit. The pool was extremely small and was definitely not kid friendly. The concierge was rude and less than helpful. To order a drink by the pool made me feel like it was an inconvience to the staff. I felt the room and lobby was dirty and out dated.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karajackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All reviews are important to us and are passed along to the staff for training and improvement purposes.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had no big problems. The room decor is pretty tired, but everything worked fine. We had a third floor, interior-facing suite so no views of the ocean or cruise ships. Noise was not a problem even though we were there during spring break. The water pressure in the shower stinks but the water is crip and clear, not swampy smelling like in some other Florida communities. It's a great location. Keeping a car here is very expensive but you shouldn't need a car if you stay at this end of town. Most everything is within walking distance or a short cab ride away. Food in Key West is pricey so it came as a surprise that the Bistro 245 restaurant within the hotel had very good food and was no more expensive than most of the area restaurants. It's breakfast offerings are more varied and a step up in quality from other restaurants in the area. And you can't beat the view: right on the water. The concierge services were good and conveniently located however I found their restaurant recommendations to be questionable. Using the TripAdvisor reviews was more useful. Everybody was friendly and nice.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom suite which was huge but in need of new decoration. Third floor suite had thre...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin and your time in Key West!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I had a 2nd floor suite with a balcony overlooking the marina where the cruise ships docked and we really enjoyed seeing the cruise ships come in, albeit, very early in the morning.

The location is very nice on the marina and a short walk to everything else. We had a great outdoor breakfast at Bistro 245, which was right out on the marina (Cuban Eggs Benedict w/Yellow Tail Snapper, mmm, a must!).

An absolute must is dinner at Lattitudes on Sunset Key, a private island owned by Westin. The boat comes right to the marina resort to pick you up and takes you to this private beach, outdoor dining patio. It doesn't get any more romantic than this.

Room Tip: Facing the marina and water.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My friends and I enjoyed a 4th floor suite with a balcony overlooking the water where many ships docked, including nice cruise ships. We loved the view and decks designed for watching the sun set over the gulf. Service was excellent.

Room Tip: We picked this place on impulse after walking around our first day. The guest cottages on the priva...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHansard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in early February. We thought it was just about the best location in town. If you get one of the trolley tickets that is good for 2 days you can get pretty much anywhere you want to go on the island, and if you buy tickets to things like Hemingway House or the Winter White House at the same time you get an attraction discount. The hotel is fine. We were in the building which is not attached to the main building where you check in. Staff was nice. Can't remember the room # but it was quite a hike to and from the elevator. Not a problem for us but might be troublesome for anyone with mobility issues. They have an outside bar where you can get a drink in the afternoon or early evening but it was open for only very limited hours. Room itself fine, clean and yes, you will have your view blocked by cruise ships during the day. They leave around 5:00. No complaints although many people might prefer the atmosphere of the smaller guest house type places. I will say that when I was in Key West 30 years ago the town was much more of a unique experience than it is today. Just my opinion.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
1  Thank Westshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My family and I were recently in key west. This was our first visit. The area is interesting with a lot of things to keep the average person busy. The major surprise to my wife and I was the cruise ships. We had a ocean view the night we arrived, and by morning we were looking at a 20 story Carnival Cruise liner. Surprise! Besides the obstructed view, now 3,000 plus are flocking to Duval street. Sure the ship leaves around 5pm, but the next morning it's ground hog day all over.
The hotel was average, the people including the manager are very nice, and they try hard to make your stay accommodating.
The hotel is in a good location, and has a nice hot tub and pool. The rooms are average and probably would only come up to 3 star standards.
I can now say I've been to key west. Can't say that I would be looking to go back anytime soon!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank drgreatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy you found our staff and management team friendly and overall, you like the location of the hotel. While we are a cruise ship port (which we state on our website), cruise ships do not dock here everyday.The City of Key West also has a schedule on their website available for everyone to see. Our dock is designated with a (b). The schedules are subject to change and therefore, it is not possible to predict/guarantee/notify guests about the presence or absence of a cruise ship when a guest books a room. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.3 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina

Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly The Westin Key West Resort & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#15 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $282 - $734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right on the waterfront of Old Town Key West, just steps from the famous Mallory Square, and one block from Duval Street is the Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina - a hub of relaxation and luxury in the middle of all of the excitement that Key West is famous for. Experience the beauty of the sparkling sea, access to water sports, and endless dining, shopping, and entertainment options all just steps away. Our marina is one of the three cruise ports in Key West welcoming cruise ships from around the world. Dine on fresh island cuisine, indoors, on a deck, or oceanside. Sip a cocktail and lounge by our outdoor pool surrounded by lush native plants, or take a launch to the nearby private beach on Sunset Key. Rejuvenation awaits in the serenity of our massage studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing