We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin by any other name is not a Westin.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Westin by any other name is not a Westin.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Heavenly Bed is worth the extra few bucks ... especially after a long evening of enjoying all that Key West has to offer the evening before!! overall the staff was friendly, the property was in good shape and the pool is well worth coming to for an afternoon. Also go early and get passes for a day on their private beach on the island for a great private get away!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool for quiet time or over looking the water for a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 140-6_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Westin Key West Resort and your time in Key West. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    701
    288
    163
    126
See reviews for
534
1,017
45
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a good, but not great, hotel. I may echo some other comments, but I want to ensure I thoroughly review it. It is a fantastic location, close to everything; no car or even bicycle is needed. First the good: the Westin beds are good and we enjoyed sitting on our balcony watching the Marina. The restaurant is excellent - some of the best food and service I've had in awhile. The front desk was mixed; they were good at check-in, but we had to wait a long time for our room and they just didn't seem concerned about us. Also good was that they had free Wifi and the bathrooms were furnished nicely. The mini-fridge was nice. The size of the room was good. We didn't notice the hotel being dirty, but they did deodorize a lot. Now the not so good: yes, the cruise ships come in and block your view so I think you just have to set your expectations that way and enjoy other parts of Key West during those times. The HVAC was terrible -- so noisy it was hard to sleep. The pool area was quite small for this size hotel and the rooms were practically on top of the pool, so I don't think I would want a pool-side room.

Bottom line is that I would go back here, but I would ensure I talked to the Front Desk about the type of room I was getting and recognize cruise ships will be coming.

Room Tip: You really need to know the property and your own tastes to choose the room you like. Just know tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Buff_BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this thorough review. We are happy to hear you overall, enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

It has been almost 1 year since I've last stayed here but I can't believe I never reviewed it. I've been here 4-5 times since 2009 and it is one of my favorite hotels. Staff is always very friendly/helpful, hotel is nice, clean, spacious, and the location could not be better. Right next to Mallory Square, Sunset pier and only a block away from Duval/Sloppy Joes and the heart of Key West. Food from the restaurant never dissapoints. After the first two great stays there, my (then) fiancé said she wanted to get married there so we did and had a amazing wedding on Sunset Pier. Can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: get a room with a view over Sunset Pier. It is worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17traveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the time you took to write this positive review. It is great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Key West Resort and that you enjoyed your special day with us as well! Thanks again for the positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The Westin is in a great location. We liked the property and thought the staff was nice. I will echo the reviews from other people on the ocean view room - don't bother paying up for it because a huge cruise ship will block your view the whole time. Seriously - I didn't realize how close the cruise ship would be to the hotel until we saw it. Overall we would stay at this place again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wharthog521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Key West Resort. It's always nice to hear when our guests enjoy their travels. We do have cruise ships that port at the Westin Key West Marina but cruise ships do not dock here every day. The City of Key West has a calendar available on their website-our dock is designated with a (B). Thanks again for the positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very mixed experienced. Concerige desk forgot to call the bike rental company to tell them we were done using bike & come & get it. we almost got charged forever....but the bike company had the sense to call to check if we wanted to continue renting. that kind of slippage out weighs an other wise good rating for this 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a map before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank recouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I apologize for the issues you experienced with the concierge returning the bicycles. We review all comments with staff for training purposes. Thanks again for writing this review.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Four of us just spent two nights in a suite at the Westin KW. Our experiences were mixed. Undeniably, the location is excellent being just a few blocks from Duval Street and positioned right on Mallory Square - a great place to watch sunsets. We booked a two bedroom suite and found the room(s) wanting in many aspects. For $700+ a night - we expected something very nice. It wasn't. To create the suite - the hotel architects merely took four contiguous "normal" rooms, kept the two end rooms as bedrooms, and left the middle two room areas as the living area. The design simply didn't work! The living area was uninviting, had no wall decorations, and we spent almost zero time enjoying it. Cleaning services were wanting - there was a towel left-over from a hot tub visit that sat wadded on a bench in our room for two days. Did I mention the bachelorette party group booked next door to our room? "Quiet" was not in their wheelhouse. I'm not doing the poor room design justice here (it was actually worse then this reads) - suffice to say: DON'T EVER BOOK A SUITE AT THIS HOTEL! BTW, the hotel concierge was located in the lobby of our building. We all, separately, commented on how unfriendly these people were. An occasional "hello" would have been nice, especially after passing by the desk 10 times a day...Next visit to KW we'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the time you spent to write this review and it is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides us with valuable information. Thank you again for your comments.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

In Key west they worship the sunset, so getting the view is an expensive and elusive thing to do. I thought we had a room with a view, and we would have, except for the 2 cruise ships docked nearby. I gather they're there during week days. We still enjoyed a room on the second floor looking to the south along the pier, from our balcony. I think the location is excellent. We've stayed at 3 of the 4 main hotels on the northwest corner of the island, and I have to say I do like the overall ambiance of the Westin. There is always a short walk to your next meal, drink, or shopping. It's the best part of Key West to stay in. There sunset deck and pool area are the best around, in my opinion. It was our 6th trip to the island, and we've driven down from Ft. Lauderdale 4 times. After this visit, we'll fly in from now on. The Keys are great to drive through, but it seems they've added alot more stop lights south of Miami that added 45 minutes to the drive(it used to take 3 hours). Great scenery from Islamorada on down. If you want to be treated special, stay with Westin in Key West, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I don't think the cruise ships are there on Friday thru Sunday, so you expect a real oceanview t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post this positive review-it is always great to hear when our guests enjoy their travels. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina

Property: Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly The Westin Key West Resort & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#15 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right on the waterfront of Old Town Key West, just steps from the famous Mallory Square, and one block from Duval Street is the Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina - a hub of relaxation and luxury in the middle of all of the excitement that Key West is famous for. Experience the beauty of the sparkling sea, access to water sports, and endless dining, shopping, and entertainment options all just steps away. Our marina is one of the three cruise ports in Key West welcoming cruise ships from around the world. Dine on fresh island cuisine, indoors, on a deck, or oceanside. Sip a cocktail and lounge by our outdoor pool surrounded by lush native plants, or take a launch to the nearby private beach on Sunset Key. Rejuvenation awaits in the serenity of our massage studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing