We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, standards and service... shame about the cruise liners.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Key West Resort & Marina to your Saves list
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Hilton Key West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, standards and service... shame about the cruise liners.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel has a great vibe to it. Very friendly and helpful front desk team who make you feel very welcome. The main accommodation area is in a separate building to the reception, but this does make the lobby of this building feel more relaxed (concierge is in this area).

Rather long corridors to some rooms due to the design, but the rooms themselves are well decorated, maintained and very clean. "Heavenly" beds and bathrobes are fantastic - no wonder they sell both! Bathroom areas are divided into basin area and then a sliding door to toilet and large shower. Excellent well lit mirror above basin area.

Starbucks coffee in the rooms, but the fridge isn't stocked in the room with beverages - which does help avoid overpriced temptation! The bar is very reasonably priced and breakfast was good with more very friendly service.

If you are considering staying here - read into the hotel's own island! We didn't see this on the website and only found out about it on arrival. It has the Spa area, upscale dining and also a private beach which they only allow 20 people to use per day. Definitely one to book in advance.

Downsides - the cruise liners who dock at Key West are in front of the hotel, which when they are there block the view all day. Sadly we were there on one of these days - sunset was at 5.45pm and the ship didn't leave until 6pm, so sitting on the sun deck waiting for it to happen was a bit of disappointment. Also, the pool area isn't very big and the sun only gets around 60% of the loungers due to it being in a courtyard in the middle of the main accommodation block.

But overall a very good hotel - very convenient to Duval Street etc.

Room Tip: Try and get an outside facing room - the 'garden view' ones look onto the not large swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyFromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin and time in Key West! While we do have an active cruise ship port, cruise ships are not docked here everyday. The City of Key West has a calendar available on their website. Our dock is designated as pier B.Thanks again for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    615
    258
    147
    105
See reviews for
453
880
39
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We visit every year in early December - before it gets really busy. The hotel in modern & clean & has the BEST location. We fly in (no car needed) & we walk everywhere. This year we had a 2 bedroom suite on the 4th floor - 1st time we were ever on this floor - wow - nice views & very private on the balconies. The pool is always clean & refreshing - not chlorine - it's that modern saline water that all the green hotels are using. The jacuzzi is great & is chlorinated. The breakfast outside is wonderful - great food with amazing view. We check when the ships come arrive & depart - to enjoy watching them tie up & leave - what an operation. We had a small refrigerator & a couple free bottles of water daily - that was really nice & unexpected. We love the inside hallways here instead of outside room entrances at some neighboring hotels. The tropical nights are the best!!!! The only odd things that happen once in a while is that the rooms get cleaned really late in the day & sometimes they don't leave the soaps & shampoos every day, but when we called they hand delivered plenty, which was really appreciated.

Room Tip: Don't need a room with a view - a view is steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BearsFans51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bressanone, Italy
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

You might want to avoid a room in the main building that is at the corner of the so called "toy factory". A large tree will obstruct your view and there is some kind of high powered rather noisy equipment right outside will certainly not contribute to having a great stay. We got assigned room 343 first, one facing the tree and said equipment, and the noise was almost unbearable albeit the rooms was very nice.
However, with the help of the vey friendly guy at the front desk and a little extra money we got a wonderful room facing the marina.
Really funny is having breakfast out on the boardwalk when a cruise liner docks. The bow of the ship towers high above you. Feels kind of "Speed 2" ;-) Really funny and entertaining.
Gym is ok.
Hotel is well up to the usual Westin standards.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the noisy equipment of the toy factory or the tree right besides said machinery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fritzmoedinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skive, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a good place to stay in Key West - Location, Location, Location.
Good service, perfect view, fantastic breakfast - at all other times we where dinning out at other nice restaurants in the nearby area.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karstensaugstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great stay. Loved the location. I was here for a conference the rooms were great, I had read some reviews that were not favorable when compared to the price of the rooms, my room was clean upgraded and very comfortable. I loved the coffee station with the different types of tea. Complimentary water was nice too. Although when I asked the desk while I waited for the room where to buy water they might have wanted to mention that. The beds were very comfy. It was a great stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the time you took to write this review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Key West Resort. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Key West is funky so is the Westin Resort and Marina. I would rate the location as 5 Star because it is right in the middle of many Key West attractions including Duval Street, Hemingway's House, Mel Fisher's Museum and tons of great restaurants. The hotel water shuttle is also the only access to nearby Sunset Key which was quite nice.

The hotel itself gets 3.5 Stars. I am SPG Platinum and we had room 449 which is a one bedroom suite with partial water view. Our AC was noisy all three nights and was not fixed as requested. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Million2Miler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed our resort and also Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After or late arrival an settling in to or room or air conditioner wasn't working right and we could not get or back door unlocked or open for some reason? A call to the front desk put us on hold but or room was right across from the maintenance room/house keeping etc. I flagged down
This guy was nice named Tim. He said he was the maintenance engineer, he came into our room showed us how to work the air and fixed or back door we watched him fix the lock on the bottom of the floor so we could open it. He talked to us about where to go and what to do while we were here on this beautiful island he should of been a travel agent, This hotel is lucky to have such a employee running around here. We watched him opening doors for other people and talking to them they why that he did with us. The hotel is very nice and were thrilled to be here .....We will be back!!

Room Tip: Best location if your going to enjoy Duval street.....really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and for mentioning staff by name!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Property: The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Hilton Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#12 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural beauty and local charm make the Westin Key West Resort & Marina a remarkable destination. Located on the waterfront in the heart of Old Town, this resort is positioned on the sunset side of the island within walking distance of famous Duval Street. It is also one of the country's largest private ports which welcomes cruise ships from around the world. As the only full-service resort in Key West to hold the AAA Four-Diamond rating since 1999, The Westin Key West Resort and Marina boasts a reputation of unmatched hospitality and offers an ideal setting for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing