We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Well worth the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an ocean front room. It was pricey but well worth it. The sunsets in Key West are nothing short of amazing and they were right outside our window. We had Sunday brunch on the pier and it was excellent. The free mimosas didn't hurt either. The staff was courteous, helpful and accommodating.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much. We're glad you had a nice stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    634
    262
    150
    107
See reviews for
474
905
41
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very pleased with the hotel, its staff and accommodations. We only had a partial view of the ocean, part of which was blocked by a palm tree, so we didn't use the balcony very much. In addition, the cruise ships docking blocked the view of the water anyway. Overall, great trip.

Room Tip: To be close to the pool and the restaurant and have a view of the water, your best best is to be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I spent 5 nights at this property over Christmas and thought the grounds of the hotel and the location were wonderful. The pool area was great and it was a pleasure to not have to wake up at 6 am to get a chair in the sun. The rooms were big and spacious, but are in need of some updates. The heavenly beds are great, but that is about it. The pull out couch is old, the TV small, no towel bars to hang any used towels and the water pressure in the shower was nonexistent. After staying at 4 different Westin Properties this year, the accommodations at this hotel were the worst. However a few updates would make this place pretty amazing. Again, location was perfect and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We pass along all reviews to all staff for training and improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Booked two rooms for one night for my family. My child became ill a week before the reservation. I called and tried to change the reservation for three days later and was told by the rudest most arrogant hotel employee I have ever talked to ( a Don [-]) that I would have to forfeit my one thousand dollars that I had to pay in advance, and then pay another one thousand to rebook because it was not cancelable or changeable. Do yourself a favor and pass this place by. Or if you or your child become ill, be prepared to lose the money in total you spent to pay for this dump in advance.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're sorry you feel this, but I am familiar with your particular reservation, as I sit next to the associate that you are referring to and heard your interactions. While you did make a non-cancellable, non-changeable reservation (which we are not required to refund any portion of, because of the nature of the booking), Don explained that he was more than willing to refund everything, provided that you send a doctor's note explaining that your child was unable to travel. We're sorry that you chose not to take advantage of this offer. As you never saw the property, we feel it is unfair that you describe it as a dump. We wish you simply would have provided the proper documentation so we could have refunded your money, and you could have visited us at a later date when your child was able to travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice 2 nights romantic stay before Christmas. Outstanding location to visit Key West and unbeatable sea view, We were upgraded to a cozy sunset facing, marina view room, with a small terrace. Room , while a bit dated , was well furnished and clean. Air condition and telephone were not working but were immediately and efficiently replaced. Nicely located restaurant , on the sea promenade, but for the prices, would have expected better quality food and drinks.

Room Tip: Suggest to book the marina view rooms as some of the the deep sea/ keys view rooms face the cruise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pascucp2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We pass along along all reviews to all staff for training and improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Checked in for a week at this great property. The staff was pleasant and the grounds were really nice. We had two rooms, a one bedroom suite and a deluxe room. While large, the rooms were very dated. The sofa in the suite sagged in the middle, looked dirty and looked like something from the 70's or earlier. The 'in room' refrigerator was dented and scratched all over. It sat prominently in the room, a true eyesore. The carpet looked stained. Not something that was expected from Westin at over $700 a night. The window treatment let in so much light in the morning that we were up at daybreak whether we wanted to or not. On the converse, the beds were fantastic and sleeping was easy.
Really did love the location, the laid back pool and sunset watching from the terrace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vandyguy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We pass along all reviews to all staff for training and improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Recently checked in and was very surprised to find an average room at a 3 star hotel. Very tired room with lots of wear and tear. I do expect a full house over New Years down here but also expect better quality with this chain. I am a platinum guest with SPG and will say this is the biggest disappointment for Westin. On the positive the location is what you are getting here. Negative is you need to be waiting in line to get to the beach(private) which was sold out at 8:15 am (limited to 20 spots per day)!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew_the_Shoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We pass along all reviews to all staff for training and improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#30 of 48 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 2,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Key West Resort & Marina

Property: The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly Hilton Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#13 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural beauty and local charm make the Westin Key West Resort & Marina a remarkable destination. Located on the waterfront in the heart of Old Town, this resort is positioned on the sunset side of the island within walking distance of famous Duval Street. It is also one of the country's largest private ports which welcomes cruise ships from around the world. As the only full-service resort in Key West to hold the AAA Four-Diamond rating since 1999, The Westin Key West Resort and Marina boasts a reputation of unmatched hospitality and offers an ideal setting for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing