We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed one night at the Westin in Key west. Great location, close to everything and right down on the water. Close to the action at Mallory Square, great dining and drinking on Duval, and the magnificent sunsets. The restaurant at the Westin was excellent. We sat outside and had a great meal and people watched. The room was modern and extremely comfortable and clean. We also had a great view of the dock and the navy ships from around the world that were in participating in games.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelforever60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed yourself. All those Navy ships were so cool - what a treat you were here to see them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    694
    287
    162
    121
See reviews for
524
1,004
45
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Unfortunately, due to a delayed flight, we were only able to stay in Key West for less than 24 hours. But our time at the Westin was perfect! We made it JUST in time for the famous Key West sunset, right behind our hotel at the marina (which was just steps from our hotel room).

The options for entertainment, restaurants and bars near the hotel seemed endless. You can just stroll your way through the streets and have a great time! My husband and I ended completing a self designed little bar crawl...one drink at each stop. It was the perfect way to spend the little time we had.

The hotel room its self was clean and enjoyable...but if you have ever visited Key West you know that you won't be spending too much time indoors! I highly recommend this hotel mainly for its location and the friendly staff is just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaKron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much. We're glad you enjoyed your short stay and hope you return for a longer visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I admit I am fairly loyal to Starwood Hotels. There is a certain expectation when staying at a Westin but this hotel falls very short of that. It is obvious they have a great location and that's why they have a high occupancy. They are not putting money into this hotel -- the pool chaise lounges are falling apart & the cushions are ripped, stained, basically worn out. The rooms are "bare bones." Beds are good enough. Towels are gray and old. No refrigerator -- even in the suite! The furniture was chosen for durability and has the feeling of an institution. Yuck. So, why are they NOT putting money back into this hotel??? --- they don't have to ... they have a great location, can ask whatever price they want and will get it. But I have a choice and will not stay here again until they make basic improvements.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank golfcrab7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're sorry you weren't completely happy with your stay. We have good news - all pool furniture is brand new as of this week! We do offer complimentary refrigerators upon request. We hope you reconsider and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is an upscale hotel just a few steps off Duvall Street, the main drag, and close to some great attractions. . .the Customs House Museum is next door, the Truman Key West White House is just two-three blocks away, as is the "Audubon" House (it wasn't really his house, but he did stay there and the guides and staff are wonderful, the garden charming). The hotel's rooms are nice, service is commendable, but there are some inconveniences that might cause problems for those with limited mobility. The hotel parking ($20/day!) is in an adjacent parking garage. I was also attending a conference off-site and had to use my rental car every day so I chose to self-park rather than use the valet service. There is no way to get in or out of the parking garage without using the 4-5 steps that finally lead you into the main hotel and the elevators. If you have limited mobility, you'd have to use the valet service.
I had a nice room with a partial sea view in an annex requiring me to leave the main building and walk approx. 200 yards across a public commons. Once I took the elevator to the third floor, it was another long trek down a winding corridor to my room. In the room, I opened what I thought was the mini-fridge. It was apparently an old mini-bar, unstocked, with black mold growing inside. I called the desk, they apologized and brought a replacement mini-fridge up to my room. The pool was located in the garden area of my building, and it was a pleasant surprise to discover that it was a salt water pool. But don't think you'll get your laps in here. It was irregularly shaped and if there are even two or three other swimmers, you'll not be able to maneuver easily. This is also not a pool meant for children.
I ate most of my meals in other restaurants, but I did have a snack at the poolside cafe. . .don't order the conch fritters---deep-fried, breaded, rubber gaskets! When the waiter asked about my meal, I was candid but pleasant with him as I should have remembered conch is always this tough. He quite happily suggested I try the crab cakes instead which he brought me at no extra charge. The room service breakfast was nicely done, and the early casual dinner I had at the hotel's cafe (same kitchen as the poolside cafe) on the public promenade was nice. This is also a great spot to people watch, and in Key West that means you're likely to some really interesting characters and street entertainers. And did I mention the sunsets. . .and sunrises. . .and light afternoon showers. There's nothing like cloud-watching in Florida. . .spectacular!

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the pool, ask for the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. Sounds like a mixed bag, but it seems that we rectified any problems for you as best we could.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My girlfriend (now fiance thanks to the help by the folks at this Westin) and I stayed for one night on September 16. The purpose of our one-day visit to Key West was for me to propose. Being frequent Key West visitors from Miami, my fiance and I always love experiencing new hotels. We usually stay at the Sheraton on S. Roosevelt (which is also very nice), but this time I wanted something closer to Duval, and being an SPG member, I wanted to fully utilize my member rewards. What can I say, this SPG property is breathtaking, and its location is amazing. Within a two minute walking distance is Mallory Square, which is a staple on our visits, all bars are within walking distance, and the shops and Marina behind the resort are lovely. I had contacted several people on the concierge team to set up my proposal to my now fiance. So before anything, I would love to thank and forever give my gratitude to the "CONCIERGE GIRLS." Svetlana, Monica, Becki, Jane, Christina, and Diana. THank you so much for helping me set up my reservations at Latitudes (feel free to read my review about this amazing restaurant) and for the complimentary strawberries and "bubbles" after the night was done. You guys are a HUGE reason why we will be going back to the Westin. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful in providing me easy check in and a breathtaking room. Imagine waking up to a beautiful sunrise overlooking the water and watching in splendor as a cruise ship docks behind your hotel. It was fantastic. The front desk staff, especially SHANNON and DARRY, were a huge part in making it a wonderful stay. They both were vital in getting me to our dinner on time and making sure the room was ready early. Thank you both for going the extra mile. The room itself was great, the Westin prides themselves on their comforatble beds and sheets, and, I CAN ASSURE YOU, they are pretty much the most comfortable beds you will ever sleep (or whatever) on in any hotel you may stay in. The room is nicely decorated, the closet has ample spacing, the bathrooms were immaculate and the balcony was overlooking the pool and all of Key West's scenic water views. There just really are no words to describe what an amazing time we had at the Westin. From the Valet staff, to the front desk, to the concierge team, and to the housekeeping staff, the Westin is worth every penny. I want to thank all the staff for making this an unforgettable stay. I would hands down recommend this SPG property to anyone visiting the Conch Republic! The next time I stay at the Westin, I will definetly utilize the Spa, which I hear is the best!

Room Tip: They are all very nice rooms, just relax and enjoy the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much and congrats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I reserved two rooms for the weekend of the Poker Run that was scheduled September 14-16, 2012 at a rate of $350.00 for the ocean view room and $296.00 for the tradition room. I reserved one of the rooms for two couples that where traveling with me, and one for my boyfriend and me to spend a romantic weekend, since we were celebrating our anniversary.

At the time we checked in the agent informed me that I only had one room under my reservation. When I presented the agent with an email confirmation showing that I had two rooms, he then presided to inform me that they only had one room available (single room) and that they were sold out. Which I was later told by the manager “that was not true and that they were not sold out.” He then informed me he would be able to up-grade us to a two bedroom suit for the same rate that I was paying per night. This meant we would have to share a room with the other two couples and that one of us would have to sleep on a sofa bed.

After driving 4 1/2 hours we decided to go ahead and stay in the suit. I specifically asked the agent three times what would be my night rate for the room, each time he responded “the same rate you where paying per night $350.00 since they messed up our reservations”.
At check-out, they then informed me that we were being charge $700.00 per night, which was equivalent to $350.00 per night for two rooms. In fact this met they charged me more than my original reservation. This again is not what I was told at the time we checked in.

When I spoke to the front desk manager Alberto [--], and explained the issue he then told me to speak to the agent that check us in, and there was little to nothing he can do. When I spoke to the agent the story then changed again! He then told me “they were not sold out, that he simply wanted to keep the group together and at the time we checked in he did not have rooms together”. It was never my intentions to have rooms next to each other or even close to each other. I booked an oceanfront room for myself and a tradition room for the other couples; therefore impossible for the rooms to be next to each other. The agent misleads me and inconveniences me and my parties in order to sale more rooms.

What was supposed to be a romantic fun weekend for my boyfriend and I turned out to be a nightmare!!!

BEWARE!!!! The agents are misleading in oder to sell more rooms!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ody0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. Since submission of this review, we determined the problem to be a communication error at the Front Desk. The guest was sent an apology for the inconvenience and the bill was adjusted the $296.10 per night, for two nights, plus taxes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a really nice property in the heart of Key West. When I pay that kind of money during the off season I expect a few little amenities. This is a classy place but they only have plastic beer cups in the room? for that kind of money you have to pay extra for parking? the pool was in a whole other building? Im not knocking this beautiful hotel (not resort) very clean very modern but they miss out on the little things.

Room Tip: no need to pay any extra for upgrades. pool view would be just as nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. We pass along all reviews to all staff for training and improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.2 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina

Property: Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly The Westin Key West Resort & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#14 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right on the waterfront of Old Town Key West, just steps from the famous Mallory Square, and one block from Duval Street is the Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina - a hub of relaxation and luxury in the middle of all of the excitement that Key West is famous for. Experience the beauty of the sparkling sea, access to water sports, and endless dining, shopping, and entertainment options all just steps away. Our marina is one of the three cruise ports in Key West welcoming cruise ships from around the world. Dine on fresh island cuisine, indoors, on a deck, or oceanside. Sip a cocktail and lounge by our outdoor pool surrounded by lush native plants, or take a launch to the nearby private beach on Sunset Key. Rejuvenation awaits in the serenity of our massage studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing