We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some great staff & fantastic location can't overcome inconsistency”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Key West
NYC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Some great staff & fantastic location can't overcome inconsistency”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great location. Absolutely amazing. Walking distance to just about everything you need and a launch to Sunset Key beach.
(Too bad I had no idea about this or the spa on Sunset Key until I got there, since there is no information about this on the Website or in the room.)
Mac at the valet/entrance is fantastic. He was incredibly helpful.
The woman who checked us in was great, as well. We arrived about 1pm, and we didn't need our room early, so as a Platinum member I was willing to wait and get a better room. We got one! It overlooked the sunset, and it was stunning.
(The next morning a Carnival Cruise Ship came in, and it blocks the view for almost all water-facing rooms, except a couple, so I can advise to check the crusie sked before you pay up for a waterfront view!)
The aircon is fine.
Room service ends at 10pm, which is insane at a resort! Especially one in a town where the culture is to go out drinking. The woman at Service Express was helpful and gave us a couple of places that deliver to the hotel late-night. Mr. Z's was good. It took about an hour, though.
They were skimpy on the washcloths. A room with 2 beds, clearly for 2 people. Just 2 washcloths? Guess we were only supposed to wash our faces one time each.
To give them credit, we called, and they came fairly, relatively quickly.
Our TV was broken, as in we couldn't get it turned on. It took the engineer more than 20 minutes to get there (the resort is poorly laid out, so the trek down the hall from the lobby of the 2nd building is insane). Turns out the batteries in the remote were dead. Guess housekeeping didn't check that.
He then apologized because the picture was terrible, but Comcast, the cable provider was supposed to come the next day to fix it.
The bathroom set-up is great, with the toilet & shower separate, which allow people to prepare while others are using them. (Weird that our shower didn't have the typical 'Heavenly Shower' with two shower heads...)
The wall under the toilet paper holder was patched, not with the wallpaper, which was yellow, but with white spackling.
The next day the people weren't so good.
I asked for a late check-out, as I'm Platinum and am supposed to get 4pm. The woman gave me 1pm, because they were "busy" - this is for a Tuesday night. She gave me the line about how it is a resort, etc. I finally told her, I don't need excuses, just an answer.
Too bad for them, as we would have used the spa, shopped more, etc.
At least we got to see Mack on our check-out, as he is so pleasant & helpful. What a fantastic ambassador for the hotel.
Would I stay again? Possibly. Needs work, but the location is terrific.
The list:
Towels: average
Phone service/attendants: Average.
Shower pressure: Average - but for some reason our room didn't have the dual head Heavenly shower.
Front desk: Inconsistent. The woman on Sunday was great, the woman on Monday not so much & not into helping Platinum
Bed: Above average - typical Heavenly bed.
Sheets/Bedding: Above average
Room size: Average
Location: Great. Walking distance to Duval St., Whitehead St., Truman Little White House, Hemingway's House, etc..
Room service: Closes at 10pm, way too early. OK & typically priced.

Room Tip: 262, 263, 362, 363 have views that won't be 100% blocked by a cruise ship.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilovemanhattanNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed our location and thanks for mentioning staff by name. We're sorry you didn't know about The Spa at Sunset Key. We do have information about The Spa at Sunset Key on our website and we have recently placed more information in the guestrooms regarding the spa. Our concierge could have also helped with any inquiries you may have had about spas. We have a limited room service menu after 10pm because of the numerous food options very near to the resort that also deliver. Our shower heads are not the standard Heavenly Shower because we are located in a fragile and remote ecosystem and we must comply with local water restrictions/regulations in order to conserve our planet for future generations. 4pm late checkouts are only granted to SPG Platinum members if available. This is clearly stated on the policy you receive from SPG. We are a very busy resort, so we can rarely grant late checkouts as we must prepare the rooms for the incoming guests. We hope you do stay with us again so you can experience more of what we have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    687
    282
    162
    119
See reviews for
519
989
45
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reynoldsburg
Level Contributor
138 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

A very roomy and clean space. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel room. We had a balcony room facing the sunset. It was wonderful to share a glass of wine and watch the sunset in our own private space. The location is ideal - just a few steps from all the attractions such as Duval and Whitehead streets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckeyemom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thanks for your review. We're thrilled you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

As for location, you really can't get any better!

We were able to walk through historic Key West and catch all of the attractions, shops and incredible restaurants. It's all right there - including the dock for the cruise ships!

The front desk staff and the valets were super friendly and helpful. The pool area was nice and private, in the middle courtyard area, surrounded by lush greenery. Our room was poolside and very spacious. After our day of walking the beat... it was nice to come back to the hotel and climb into a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shasher_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thanks for your review and photo! Join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Where to start? Broken glass in the hallway for the first day we were there. Cushions on the pool lounders dilapidated and soiled. Elevators dirty all the time. TV never worked properly, snowy picture on half the channels. Phone was out one day. Wifi was out one day. Liight never worked on cosmetic mirror. Bar closes at 10pm. Otherwise it was a first class hotel LOL! Certainly not worth the money for the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NMHeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're sorry you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. We wish you would have let our staff know about the light on the mirror, as they would have been happy to replace it for you. We did have a few days where our cable was snowy that took Comcast longer than anticipated to repair. We are in the process of replacing our pool cushions in the near future. Additionally, the closing times of all of our dining and beverage outlets are clearly stated on our website. We pass along all reviews to all staff for training and improvement purposes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The Westin key west is one of our favorites ! Walking distance to fine dining and directly on Mallory square can't be beat !

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thanks for your review. We agree - our location is awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is our 4th yearly visit to the Westin, and while there are sometimes minor glitches, we are already looking forward to next year's trip. We stayed April 14th to the 18th. Normally we are here Thanksgiving weekend, but because of a conflict this year, we had to postpone until April. Luckily, Spring Break was mainly over, so there were no real crowds to deal with. One of the staff told me that the hotel was only 66% occupied. As SPG Platinum members, we were upgraded to our best room yet, Room #103, which faces Mallory square. As a ground level room though, you still have limited visibility over the crowd gathering in front of you. Room #203, if that is the one directly above, would have been perfect. In the past three years, we have been in rooms #138 (did not like at all), #311 (okay with pool view), and #226, good ocean view room looking out over the marina.

Check-in was very courteous at around 12:00 noon, and because the hotel wasn't full, we were able to go to our room immediately. Room was clean and everything worked, althoug a few of the stations on the flat screen TV were slightly fuzzy. I almost called engineering, but didn't bother. I did request extra pillows from the service line, and they arrived within 20 minutes.

There was no cruise ship on Saturday, however, a Disney cruise ship arrived at approximately 1:00 pm on Sunday. Because of the late arrival, it did not depart until 9:00 pm. We could just see the sundown in front of the ship from our balcony, so we did not have to walk farther down the pier. There were two other cruise ships on Monday and Tuesday respectively. They arrived around 7-8:00 am., and departed by 4:00 pm, therefore long gone by sundown.

Only negatives this trip were sporadic maid service. We had to call one day since service wasn't completed by 5:00 pm, but was completed by time we got back from dinner. We had "turn-down" service on only one evening, so I don't know if this was a special occassion, or just wasn't done the other three nights. Hallways could have used some extra vacuuming, and there was a musty smell in the one exit area going out the side door to the marina. We only had a USA Today delivered on Monday, as Tuesday and Wednesday I had to visit the front desk for an extra copy. Other than those minor issues, everything else was perfect. Next year, our status will have dropped to "gold level." I'm hoping we will still get a decent room, and the same level of service.

As noted by many others, the location is perfect, and we never rent a car, as we can easily walk to all our favorite locations. We always spend one day over at the private Sunset Island Beach. It is not free, and costs $20 per person, with a limit each day to 20 persons. Reservations are strongly recommended. We think it is worth the $20, as Key West has limited true beach space.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidS050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for your review and for your loyalty to our resort! We did have a few days where our cable was snowy, and it took longer than anticipated for Comcast to repair it. We apologize for that. Glad you enjoyed our location and also Sunset Key Beach. Please note guests cannot reserve passes to Sunset Key Beach ahead of time. They are sold on a first-come, first served, basis on the day of. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

I chose this hotel because of the close proximity to the docks. My son and I had booked a trip on Danger Charters that left early in the am. We arrived in late from Islamorada and were greeted by the pleasant staff. They went out of their way to provide a room with an excellent view for my young son. I had booked an oceanfront but all that was left was the ground floor, so he put us on the third floor on the marina side. Which was perfect because my little one wanted to see the boats and cruise ship that would be docking in the am. The rooms are very pretty and modern. The beds are so comfortable ! The hotel itself is nice, but you are paying the high price because of the location. You are within walking distance to everything ! It's perfect for families or couples. I think my husband and I will stay there next time on our annual trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmommy028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thanks for your review. So happy that you enjoyed our location and our outstanding vendors in the marina - so convenient! Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.2 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina

Property: Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly The Westin Key West Resort & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#13 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right on the waterfront of Old Town Key West, just steps from the famous Mallory Square, and one block from Duval Street is the Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina - a hub of relaxation and luxury in the middle of all of the excitement that Key West is famous for. Experience the beauty of the sparkling sea, access to water sports, and endless dining, shopping, and entertainment options all just steps away. Our marina is one of the three cruise ports in Key West welcoming cruise ships from around the world. Dine on fresh island cuisine, indoors, on a deck, or oceanside. Sip a cocktail and lounge by our outdoor pool surrounded by lush native plants, or take a launch to the nearby private beach on Sunset Key. Rejuvenation awaits in the serenity of our massage studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing