We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't order sardines!”
Review of Mr Z's

Mr Z's
Ranked #60 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: When Key West locals need a late-night slice of pizza or an authentic Philly cheese steak, they come to us. We're local, we serve beer, we're open until 4 AM, and our food speaks for itself. Next time you find yourself in our neck of the woods, belly up to our counter, order a slice or some stromboli, and tell us it's not the best thing you've ever eaten.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just don't order sardines!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Been many times over the years, really good eats, without any fears. Done Philly style, to an obsession...don't ask for peppers, don't even mention. Get an Amoroso, filled with Wiz; steak/mushrooms/onions -n- hots, now that's the biz! Best value for money, fries with cheese. "Make 'em real crispy?" "Oh Yes Please!" A Ceasar Salad, to get it all through, with a side of gravy (tomato sauce) to mix in it too! Love the roast pork, with Provolone and rabini, looks like broccoli, but tastes like kimchee?
And remember, to luv the crew, they'd also luv, a few buck$ too...

I wanna Rolling Rock! Yous know what I means.
But don't yous forget, they got NO SARDINES!
zzzzz...dial tone...zzzzz

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CEMott3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    164
    35
    16
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Key West visit”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Was on vacation and needed to munch. This place is small but dont let that fool you, food was excellent. Had the buffalo chicken philly.

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not sure if this is good or not!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

There is no finer place to stop for something after a late night on the town. The pizza is as close to home as possible and the cheesecake are good too. It's one of those places we most stop every time we are in town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DJZ1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pizza / Cheesesteak!!!!!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just had my first ever Philly cheesesteak sandwich. Granted, I wasn't in Philadelphia, but Mr. Z's made an amazing sandwich!!! Awesome sandwich! Can't wait to get another! Highly recommend! Good also if you want to get away from the noisy bars and have a conversation. Well done!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Backwoods_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Owner and Best Food in Key West”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have visited Key West 8 times in the past 5 years and Mr. Z's is by far our favorite place to eat whether you are ordering late night or just stop in for a slice. There hasn't been one time that our food wasn't made to perfection. Another thing that we love about Mr. Z's is that when we stop in the owner Mike and the rest of the staff greets you and makes you feel right at home. You can tell that he genuinely cares about his customers enjoying the food and that he himself is just as hard working as the rest of his staff. We have had everything from the Stromboli's, Philly cheesesteak, pizza and even the fires are amazing. The prices are just as awesome!! We would recommend Mr. Z's to anyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sdilorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Z's also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Mr Z's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing