We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and location”
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #21 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay and location”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

For the price and the location you really can't beat it. The rooms were clean and had everything you'd need for a lengthy stay. I will agree the pool can get a little crowded and loud due to its location but if that's the only drawback to what was otherwise a perfect stay in great accomodations, trust me as a regular visitor that's really small potatoes. Especially if you're going to Key West "for the pool". Will definitely book again and for a much longer stay knowing how great the location is.

Room Tip: Rooms poolside can be noisy. But there were no late night incidents during my stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    281
    42
    12
    11
See reviews for
320
401
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The checking was not a great experience, largely due to the people in front of us who didn't have a reservation and took over 30 mins to decide what they wanted !! , meanwhile were were left standing in the tiny and very warm reception area - not a great start. The rooms are small, as are the beds and there was a table and 2 chairs outside the room - not great when there are 4 of you. Breakfast was included in the price, which was a big plus although there was no real breakfast area as such and you could struggle to get a table to sit at. The pool wasn't particularly big and whilst there were signs up all around the pool area, there was a family who consistently brought their drinks into the pool with them. They did this from late morning until late evening and it effectively ruled out a tea time swim for the rest of the guests.No one from the hotel made any move to challenge them, which was disappointing as they got progressively more drunk as the day wore on. Strangely the hotel were quick to phone our room to tell us to remove a pair of swimming shorts from our balcony. Funny that ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belfastgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We have a diverse mix of visitors here in Key West. Sometimes one guest will offend another for reasons we cannot guess. We ask that if you find yourself in a situation not to your liking, please speak up. Tell the employees what is going on and how it is affecting your stay. I assure you that any issue will be addressed immediately. If the pool area appears to be fine and everyone seems to be getting along, we have no reason to think otherwise. Rules about glass at the pool are strictly enforced however there is no rule about bringing a drink to the pool in a plastic cup. If you are uncomfortable, tell someone so that your stay is not ruined. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We checked in with ease and parked our car in the free parking garage. Our room was #110 - poolside on ground level. Staff were friendly, breakfast was included and was a perfect start to the day - eggs, muffins, yogurt, toast, cereal, fruit. It was stated that room did not have air conditioning although our room stayed cool despite 80+ degree weather. Would definitely come back to Truman - great hotel, great location!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Great to know that our guests are happy! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
343 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Loved this hotel from the minute we walked in! Friendly, helpful staff were always around, but not in the way. It's a small boutique hotel decorated in a beautifully modern chic style. The pool is lovely with different kinds of seating so you can enjoy it even if you're not in it.

Our room was large and well laid out. Just wish they put little safes in the closet. They do have a safe in the office you can use if needed though.

It is a 20-minute walk down to Mallory Square, but that's one of its assets. Quieter, yet plenty of great restaurants and stores close by. There is covered secure parking (not always easy to find in KW), which was great because we never used our car except to go to the airport.

You will definitely be happy if you choose this hotel - we were!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Lovely hotel in Key West, would definitely return.
Fab location, walking distance to everything.
Great staff, and very informative.
Super rooms,with modern shower room, and tea/coffee facilities, and mini fridge.
Heated pool with water features, music, and pool lit up (different colours) in evening. Feels very atmospheric. Great sunbeds, with pillows.
Inclusive parking and wifi.
Continental breakfast included, with fresh pastries, by the pool, or in your room, or even on your own table outside your room.

No fitness centre, but not a problem for us for 3 days.

Would definitely recommend this hotel. It was a real find for us.

Room Tip: all rooms are great position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was our first trip to Key West, we were very lucky in picking this hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the furnishings very hip. Morning breakfast included) by the pool is a great way to start the day, excellent pastries. Easy walk to nearby restaurants or Hemmingway House. Lots of in International travelers and staff which is great to get global view points. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msadventure2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Happy guests equal happy hotel! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I came here for the first time December 2011 with my girls. We all came back September 2013 to celebrate one of the girls' bachelorette party. We had an amazing time both times! The place is absolutely wonderful, away from all the craziness that is the partying on Duval, but close enough to be part of all the partying within minutes. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds are comfortable, the showers are great. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: Pool View rooms are always great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CM0187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Property: Truman Hotel
Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing