We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - no complaints!”
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #22 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect - no complaints!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We checked in with ease and parked our car in the free parking garage. Our room was #110 - poolside on ground level. Staff were friendly, breakfast was included and was a perfect start to the day - eggs, muffins, yogurt, toast, cereal, fruit. It was stated that room did not have air conditioning although our room stayed cool despite 80+ degree weather. Would definitely come back to Truman - great hotel, great location!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Great to know that our guests are happy! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    292
    42
    12
    11
See reviews for
336
406
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Loved this hotel from the minute we walked in! Friendly, helpful staff were always around, but not in the way. It's a small boutique hotel decorated in a beautifully modern chic style. The pool is lovely with different kinds of seating so you can enjoy it even if you're not in it.

Our room was large and well laid out. Just wish they put little safes in the closet. They do have a safe in the office you can use if needed though.

It is a 20-minute walk down to Mallory Square, but that's one of its assets. Quieter, yet plenty of great restaurants and stores close by. There is covered secure parking (not always easy to find in KW), which was great because we never used our car except to go to the airport.

You will definitely be happy if you choose this hotel - we were!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Lovely hotel in Key West, would definitely return.
Fab location, walking distance to everything.
Great staff, and very informative.
Super rooms,with modern shower room, and tea/coffee facilities, and mini fridge.
Heated pool with water features, music, and pool lit up (different colours) in evening. Feels very atmospheric. Great sunbeds, with pillows.
Inclusive parking and wifi.
Continental breakfast included, with fresh pastries, by the pool, or in your room, or even on your own table outside your room.

No fitness centre, but not a problem for us for 3 days.

Would definitely recommend this hotel. It was a real find for us.

Room Tip: all rooms are great position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was our first trip to Key West, we were very lucky in picking this hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the furnishings very hip. Morning breakfast included) by the pool is a great way to start the day, excellent pastries. Easy walk to nearby restaurants or Hemmingway House. Lots of in International travelers and staff which is great to get global view points. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msadventure2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Happy guests equal happy hotel! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I came here for the first time December 2011 with my girls. We all came back September 2013 to celebrate one of the girls' bachelorette party. We had an amazing time both times! The place is absolutely wonderful, away from all the craziness that is the partying on Duval, but close enough to be part of all the partying within minutes. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds are comfortable, the showers are great. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: Pool View rooms are always great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CM0187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had an awesome time in Key West, FL. We stayed at the Truman Hotel, which is located 1 block off Duval Street. The hotel is very well located and this made our stay excellent. We stayed in the "Truman Cottage", which has very small rooms. Other rooms are larger, but the rates were the same.

The swimming pool is nice, but not large. Breakfast is included, which is a very good value. I would definitely book again, but try to get a newer and larger room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family-Photog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Loved my stay. This hotel is clean, convenient, and classy. I would highly recommend this hotel. We walked every place without ever a need for a vehicle. I would stay there again without a hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UPThimbleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
So happy to hear that our guests are happy! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.1 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#16 of 77 in Key West
1,440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#18 of 77 in Key West
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Property: Truman Hotel
Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing