We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!!!! Was a very enjoyable stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #20 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Awesome!!!! Was a very enjoyable stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Will stay there. Again. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay! Clean pool, lots of towels. Helpful staff. Loved the bottled water and chocolates . Nicely remodeled. Complimentary breakfast was good. Close to Duval street and near to 24 hour CVS store. Also near to Subway, for a quick snack.

Room Tip: Some 2nd floor room are not elevator accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
So happy that everything was good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    280
    42
    11
    11
See reviews for
319
398
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staying in the 2 queen bedded suite was worth the upgrade. Huge room for 4 adults. Very modern on the inside.Comfy beds, huge bath shower. Balcony with view of the pool was great. Have elevator to take you up to the third floor. Complimentary continental breakfast was great also. Free parking. Perfect location - only 2 blocks from Duval. Staff were friendly. Would stay here again and highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Suites are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 891travelling891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Very modern hotel with a private feel in the rooms. Spacious, clean, updated rooms. The pool was beautiful with lights at night and great pool furniture throughout. We had a sitting area right outside our hotel door with a couch and chairs that was great for breakfast or late night drinks. They provided a continental breakfast with the usual fixings and iced tea during the day by the pool. The airport is close as planes flew by often over top of the hotel. I never heard any when I was in our room but by the pool it was distracting but not a deal breaker. I would love to stay there again in the future even though it was a little pricey...

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are all nicely updated and contemporary in decor. The staff was polite and professional. The pool and outside patio was amazing with water falls and plenty of relaxing places to catch a nap. Great place for people of all mixes and nationalities...very European! The location was actually nice to walk down Duval St. to sunset, rent bikes next door and not be in the mix of things. I'll be back next time. If you can, splurge and get one of the penthouse suites. Excellent!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mortyman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had a European vibe to it. Rooms were immaculate with turn down services. Pool was beautiful, landscaping was beautiful. 2 blocks from Duval, walking distance to all bars and restaurants. The showers were awesome, the beds were comfortable, and breakfast by the pool was perfect.

Room Tip: Any room is great, we got the double king suite which had plenty of room! The king suite had a priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We appreciate the kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Recently stayed at the Truman Hotel. My friend had received a good deal during the off season, and we were not disappointed. The hotel, though quaint looking from the outside, had very sleek and modern look to it, well done in a contempary style. The music played was calming, and the continental breakfast satisfied the four of us. The beds were very comfortable, which helped after a day of walking the streets. The rooms were so beautiful and clean. Staff was very kind and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

working in the hotel business I spend more than half my life in hotels mostly throughout the Keys. I wanted to stay here to see what all the hype is about the Truman since they have one of the highest review scores on booking.com.This modern, clean beautiful hotel tops my list and met every expectation.From the outside looks like a normal hotel ( most keywest gems do) but inside the rooms are very modern, immaculately clean, and have all the amenitys needed, good quality free toiliteries, flat screen Tv, free wifi,private parking garage ( this is BIG for key west) central AC That works perfectly, spacious bathroom, AMAZING POOL AREA and centrally located very close to Duval street. the best part of this hotel among all these things is the service and staff. The gentleman that checked me in was extremely hospitable even carried my luggage up stairs, gave great recommendations on resturants in area and even come up to my room at close to 10 pm to help me connect to Internet. As I was walking to ice machine the housekeeper saw me and offered then almost Insisted she would get ice. was nothing short of my expectations from the great review scores I read.From a professional frequent traveler I recommend to anyone in key west! Great place to stay. Thank you Truman hotel staff for great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dovdorati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
It is always great to hear that our staff is helping our guest to enjoy their visit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Property: Truman Hotel
Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing