We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #21 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

They get it, and get it right. Great location near Duval. Clean well designed and maintained rooms. The pool is great, a real beauty at night. The customer service was excellent. The continental breakfast hit the spot and even the coffee was superior! Best of all was the parking! I hope they keep up the great work, and as long as they do my family and I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeroIslandStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
There are newer reviews for Truman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

I would like to thank all the staff you made our stay so memorable..well done.
Our choice of Hotel in Key West could not of been more perfect as we were first timers to Key West and so having a quiet beautiful oasis of calm to wake up to and arrive back at night was fantastic . The pool area is excellent and meant that we could chill out completely before walking the two blocks to Duvall and all the fun that it has to offer.
The breakfast buffet was also a great bonus and again was more than we needed to start the day.
It's a first rate Hotel and I would highly recommend it to anyone...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatcat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just returned from the Truman. Great hotel very new and clean. Breakfast was good usual of cereal bagels pastries etc served until 10am but no rush to leave which was nice. Staff were friendly and location was great. Although the pool area is about the average size for Key West there seemed to be plenty of places to sit and relax. Rooms were large and very clean and the bathroom was great! Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonnytc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Truman was fantastic. The beds were soooo comfortable, shower was amazing after a day of sight-seeing, room was very clean and modern. Pool and loungers were great for relaxing on in afternoon and hotel provides pool towels and free fruit punch.
We stayed in superior room with two queen beds, two wardrobes, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, pool view and really spacious balcony and AC (not sure all the rooms have AC so it's certainly worth upgrading if you can).
Continental breakfast was included, everything you could ask for to start the day - orange juice, tea, coffee, yogurt, cereal, toast, bagels, muffins, pastries and fruit. Hotel also provided free bottle of water every evening (attendant came round the rooms about 7 each night) and couple of complimentary chocolates - if we weren't in the room they would leave by the bed for us.

Hotel is located 5 mins walk from Duval Street, close enough for everything you want to do during day and at night but far enough away to be quiet away from the noise and the crowds. Car parking is available as well.

Would definitely recommend and would stay again next time in Key West.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade do for the AC and extra space
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

It is great to know that we are meeting our guests expectations. Thank you for the positive comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel has a very comforting feel to it. The beds were heavenly. The shower was amazing. Everything was modern and clean. The breakfast was continental (a true Carb fest) but the area and set-up was very quaint by the pool. There is plenty of outdoor space for sitting outside of the room or by the pool. The staff were nice and pleasant. The hotel allows children however, it is a smoking hotel so if you have any issues with smoking this may not be the hotel for you. The elevator was not working while we were there so carrying our luggage up to the 2nd floor was a bit of an inconvenience but problems happen so it's understandable. The hotel had plenty of parking. It is about 1-2 mile walk from all the action so we still had to take taxis when we went out. It was a little too pricey so next time I might try to find a cheaper hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizHerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thanks for posting. Our rooms are non-smoking however we do allow smoking by the pool. We are reviewing this policy. We appreciate the great comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I went to the Truman for our honeymoon. It was such a wonderful location, especially for the incredibly reasonable price. The staff was prompt and courteous. We were great with a complimentary bottle of champagne, which was much appreciated. The rooms are immaculate and the staff responds quickly with any request. The pool area was cleaned often and we were impressed with the level of cleanliness. We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool have a much better view, though they can be louder if party goers decide to contin...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brittonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Truman Hotel is located a short walking distance from Duval, but far enough to be quiet and feel secluded. Our room was very clean and nicely appointed. The staff was very attentive without being intrusive. For example, the hotel provides fruit punch by the pool. The pitcher was never empty for more than a minute or two before a new one took its place. Also, once a lounge chair was vacated, a new towel was quickly placed on it so another guest could use it.

I also enjoyed the fountains that shoot water into the pool and the waterfall next to the pool--both make for a nice relaxing time poolside.

Other posters have commented regarding the breakfast, which I found to be adequate. It had yogurt, bagels, oatmeal, assorted pastries, cereal, coffee, juice, and hard boiled eggs.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Key West.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ringo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for recognizing a few of the little things that our staff does to insure our guests have a great experience. We appreciate your post. Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#15 of 77 in Key West
1,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#13 of 77 in Key West
867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#7 of 77 in Key West
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $198 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing