We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #21 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel was in a convenient position, the room and the bathroom were comfortable. Breakfast was fine, the swimming pool was nice. There was a garage.
We booked after reading the comments of previous guests on Trip Advisor and we were satisfied with our expectations and our stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chiara n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    277
    41
    11
    11
See reviews for
307
391
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We has a great suite #301 with a perfect location over looking the pool. The staff was pleasant and helpful, the room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable! I loved the breakfast buffet to pick up a light nosh before exploring the town. Can't wait to get back to the Conch Republic!

Room Tip: Pay extra for an upper deck suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbarry24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are pleased that the property met your expectations. Thanks for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I came across this place as one of what appeared to be just a few available for our dates of travel. As we wandered around Key West I noticed many other boutique hotels which advertised vacancy, but I'm glad we were at the Truman. Charming rooms, friendly staff, lovely pool. We skipped the morning breakfast for sleep instead. They deliver bottled water and mints to your room in the evening, nice! I agree with other reviewers that although it feels pricey, I think it is likely comparable to all other similar choices in Key West, and the location makes it worth it. Our car did not move the entire time we were there. This is located two blocks from Duval and near enough to the "end" of Duval that you don't hear all of the commotion that goes on into the wee hours. I'd recommend it to anyone, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drsparty93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Great - our location and free parking make our guests happy. This makes us happy! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

A very nice room. Affordable and smallish but new and clean. Nice pool area and close to the main part of Key West. Staff friendly and helpful. I'd definitely stay there again.They also provide a wonderful breakfast to the guest.

Room Tip: Sit out by the pool at night and watch the colors of the water change. It's a great way to wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaemicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for the kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Two blocks from Duval and a quick walk to everything, the hotel was a wonderful retreat. We usually stay at the Westin, but it was not available; so we had to find another location. I literally looked at every hotel and was so lucky to finally pick this one. The room was really clean and super cute. I loved the pool and the breakfast each morning. It never felt crowded and we usually had the pool all to ourselves. Nickolaus at the front desk, went out of his way to make our trip special and always had great advice for things to do. Stay here and you will always go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestinManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We think our location is the best too! Thanks for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at the Truman April 10-14 and we fully enjoyed the experience. The Truman is small, but nicely appointed and the staff is extremely attentive. We were originally in a room above the office but the sun came in through the window in the morning and woke us up. We asked for a pushpin or something to tack the curtain down and they immediately offered to move us. Our second room was more spacious and a little easier to move around in.

If I had a complaint, it would be that in the first room, the shower head is so close to the wall that you had to stand almost all the way up against the wall to get a good wash. Pretty funny considering the shower is quite sizable- you use 1/4 of it! The second room had a smaller shower that leaked water all over the bathroom floor. So really, no major complaints.

Aside from that, we LOVED it. It originally felt pricey for the size of the room but the proximity to Duval and other attractions can't be beat.

I would fully recommend a stay here. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the three story building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essexville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I plus another couple were making our first trip to Key West. We wanted to be able to be close to Duval Street but not right in the middle of it. The Truman is located two blocks off Duval, which made it perfect. We were close enough to be able to walk to almost everything we wanted but far enough away that we could relax by the Truman's pool without all the noise. So as with most real estate, it location, location, location and the Truman has it.
We had a room on the second floor. My wife loved the bathroom, with all the tile, counter space and raised bowl sink. My friend's wife took a picture of their bathroom within two minutes of being there!
The A/C worked great, the bed was very comfortable and the pool was a very nice feature. We spent more time than I thought at the pool, either in the morning while enjoying the continential breakfast or in the evenings after a long day of walking, bike riding, eating and drinking.
From the moment we checked in, the staff was accommodating and very friendly. The cost is reasonable considering the cost of everything on the island.
I am recommending this hotel to friends of mine who are going to be visiting Key West in October.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptBacchanalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Happy we provided you with a great visit to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#17 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#20 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Property: Truman Hotel
Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing