We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively in Key West”
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #21 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot with lovely rooms and decor. Was noisy at night (thin walls) and there is not enough room round the pool for all of the guests (we never got chance to spend time round the pool as other guests were up at 7am 'hogging' the loungers with their towels! Would go back as really liked the place but the management need to address a few issues,

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireTravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

TheTruman Hotel is a 35 room independently owned boutique hotel just off the beaten path. It is walking distance to everything, great value and spotlessly clean. Our room included free internet, free parking and a great little breakfast. It had nice linens, comfortable beds and good pillows. It is very quiet and seems to have many young families and couples. The pool was lovely with an endless supply of free fruit punch on a hot day. It is owned by and built by Real Americans who care about quality. It is trendy but not snobby. The rooms were small but well appointed with everything you need including free bottled water, coffee maker, bar frig and good lighting and even chocolates at night. Hotel staff were knowledgable and eager to please.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyWindsor_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is wonderful. Rooms spacious, updated, WIFI, big batheroom. Perfect location being 2 Blocks from Dual Street. Continental Breakfast in the morning....we enjoyed our 1st trip to KW, and having the Truman as a home base was great. Will return to Truman when back to KW.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jfalcetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Seeking hotels in Key West proved to be an arduous experience since location, parking and a three night stay were the main requirements. This boutique hotel is pricey, but Key West in general is just that. We walked to everything we wanted to experience, enjoyed the poolside breakfast, and left the car parked in covered parking the whole time we were in Key West. Although we had a few memorable room experiences (the smoke detector went off late at night) the desk clerk came and took care of it immediately. I particularly liked the laminate floors, which give the feeling of cleanliness (rather than carpeting), the unique glass bowl sink, and the beautiful shower. The beds were great. One thing it could use is additional electrical outlets to keep all the technological gadgets charged.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Park2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My friend and I spent two nights here in February. i am still in shock at how expensive the Key West Hotels are in Old Town ($550 for two nights), but they all seemed to be that much and at least the Truman provided wi-fi, free parking, and a nice breakfast around the pool. The beds were comfortable, we could walk to everything, and I also liked the tables and chairs for two outside every door.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbinsroost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was surprisingly quiet considering how close it is to the main streets. Cottage at back of property, poolside, staff, were all excellent. Nice landscaping, clean, safe, plenty of parking. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is a little pricey but was excellent service, buffet breakfast was very good, served around the most beautiful courtyard garden at pool side. Rooms were comfortable and very clean. This hotel is in a great location within two blocks of Duvall St. Management were very friendly and helpful. Parking garage included.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duval Gardens
Duval Gardens
#20 of 77 in Key West
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Marlin Motel
Blue Marlin Motel
#32 of 77 in Key West
1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
1,098 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westwinds Inn
Westwinds Inn
#43 of 77 in Key West
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $198 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing