We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Old Town Key West”
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #20 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel a block off Duval St. The hotel is located a bit away from the heavy nightlife area (a good thing) but an easy walk to all of the action (also a good thing).

Rooms updated and very nice. Pool is in a great courtyard which doubles as a breakfast area.

Nothing is cheap in Old Town but this was a good value and lived up to our expectations. There is some traffic noise from the nearby roadway, but nothing extreme. Would stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEG633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

The person at the front desk was very friendly and informative, the room was amazing, beautifully done and quiet, could not hear neighbors at all. Within walking distance to Duval St. Nice continental breakfast. My only complaint would be price, but we went in high season and it was in line with other hotel prices.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Walked past this hotel many times on previous trips finally called early enough to get a room on a holiday week. Rooms very nice and spotless. If I return I would request a n upstairs poolside room. Great heated pool (necessary in February). Breakfast poolside included. two blocks to Duval street, about 1/2 mile to Mallory Square.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewJerseyCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

There are so many charming places in town, but the Truman lacks a real Key West feel. It feels overcrowded, the complimentary breakfast is sad with guests struggling for a place to sit and eat. The rooms are new, but those in the ground floor lack intimacy, light and ventilation. The parking lot is always full. Just inconvenient, a no return.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lau74SXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

We understand that we will not fit every traveler's needs. We are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Thanks for letting us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Wow! What a nice, clean hotel. We came for the weekend and found this good value on line, We would recommend it to any one. Newly rennovated and peaceful. Contemporary Asian design is a nice relief to the Key West craziness. Nice linens, good service, small intimate pool area and continental fan are also included.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kincart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Wife and I stayed here Jan. '13. The rooms are clean, modern, well maintained & amply sized. But, all of that's to be expected for $218/night. What we came to appreciate as unexpected
values were the following:
Bathroom Showers - far above average
Heated Pool was quite warm and large for a <40 room hotel with massage jets & fountains.
Interior courtyard (all rooms face) very pretty, lush and quiet.
It may only be a continental breakfast, but it is high-quality and served poolside.
One and one-half short blocks from Duval's restaurants and taverns.
Would stay again, nothing was amiss and nothing disappointed us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2geezrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Everything about this hotel is nearly perfect, the posh atmosphere, beautiful scenery and even the wonderful attentive staff. Even the fruit punch they offer during the day makes a great mixer for drinks.

But there are a few things that need improvement. First, the gate around the pool, anyone can walk right in. They need to have it so you use your card to enter the pool area from the parking garage and the front entrance off the street. There were some bizarre people wondering around at night that were not staying at the hotel while we were enjoying a night swim.
Second, for what you pay a night; the breakfast is unquestionably dreadful. It’s the same every morning, eggs floating around in this yellowy water, toast, cereal and generic pastries. Don’t even get me started on the coffee, YUCK! We stayed here for two weeks and after the second day we couldn’t stomach it anymore. Do you a favor and order breakfast from Cuban Coffee Queen, it’s the best. There is no reason why Truman Hotel can’t order from a local bakery. I’ve been staying in Key West for years now and most hotels down there offer this wonderful amenity.

If you stay here you will love it. But like I said, it’s a wonderful hotel; it just needs a few modifications.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fl0ridaTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Please if you see suspicious people wherever you stay, report them to the front desk. Not all properties can be secured in the manner suggested however we do have someone on the property 24 hours which is not the case in many of the smaller properties. A call to the front desk would help. We offer a small breakfast because we do not have a restaurant license to do more. We just don't have the space. Sorry. There are so many wonderful places to dine within a few steps of the property that the choices are endless. We hope that our guests experience all that Key West has to offer. Thanks for your business. And thanks for posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duval Gardens
Duval Gardens
#19 of 77 in Key West
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Douglas House
Douglas House
#30 of 77 in Key West
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westwinds Inn
Westwinds Inn
#40 of 77 in Key West
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $198 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing