We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem ! Great stay !! Loved it !!”
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #22 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem ! Great stay !! Loved it !!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in some swanky hotels and although this is only 3 star, I loved everything about it!! Great location to beach and duval street, cute friendly hotel with gorgeous rooms, cute little frilly lamps on the balcony, friendly staff, great breakfasts, turn down service with free bottles of water & chocolates. Great pool, very relaxed feel, would Definately reccommend to anyone wanting to be near duval but just out the noisey bit !! X x

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for posting here on Trip Advisor. We value our guest's comments here and we appreciate your time in posting. We are happy to know that your stay was enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    292
    42
    12
    11
See reviews for
336
406
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

great hotel, location, staff, cleanliness··· It was middle of the road for price compared to "downtown" hotel prices, however it was still $425 for 2 nights. I would definately stay here again. Hotel is near Duval St and is within walking distance to all of the touresty spots that KW has to offer

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_vogt9824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We appreciate your time posting here on TA. The staff at the Truman work diligently to provide the best possible stay for our guests. Thanks for letting us know about your visit........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have just stayed here for 3 nights on my first visit to Key West. I would recommend this hotel, rooms are quirky (in a good way) and clean and tidy. Very comfortable beds and quaility linens etc. Nice touch with chocolates and water provided each evening as part of the service. The continental breakfast was a good range of food and the staff all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Only slight negitive was the road noise, our room was on the Truman Ave side and it was quite noisey. Didn't cause a problem but worth mentioning. It wouldn't stop me booking here again or recommending and giving it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Would ask if possible to have a room not directly on Truman Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks! We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Ahh, what more good things can be said about the Truman Hotel that haven't been said already. It was just perfect for us. The vibe, pool, location, parking, breakfast at the pool, the brilliant decor inside and out! A jewel in the Key West crown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenkiDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I originally booked across the street at the Almond Tree Inn. They had some renovation issues and moved us over to the Truman Hotel. Because it was last minute they only had the one bedroom cottage available. We checked in Thursday and checked out Sunday. We had a great time and the hotel was sooo clean. Beautiful relaxing atmosphere, and beautiful pool. The breakfast provided each morning was plenty of food! We rented bikes that we locked up right outside, short 2 min ride to duval street, 10 min ride to Mallory Square. Subway and CVS right across the street. very easy and fast check in and check out. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We loved our stay at this chic, modern hotel. The location is just perfect - two blocks from the madness that is Duval Street - a bike rental place right next door, and plenty of restaurants all within walking distance. The pool was gorgeous - just the right temperature and irresistible after a hard day's sightseeing.
We had a King room with a great bed and the large two person rain-head shower really felt like value for money.
We'll be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Have no complaints! Rooms were updated with modern decor, beds were comfy, staff was friendly. Only a block or two from duval street, no driving necessary. A little pricey, but worth the price. Would deffinately come back

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelXpert2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.1 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#16 of 77 in Key West
1,439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#18 of 77 in Key West
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Property: Truman Hotel
Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing