We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #20 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arcadia, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Hotel is within walking distance (a little bit of a hike) to everything in Key West that we wanted to visit - but next time we will rent bikes or mopeds, which were located right next door. The room itself was a little small for my tastes and the bathroom was tiny. It was very clean and quiet at night - even poolside on the ground floor. I agree with other reviewers that a bar would have made the pool area perfect. The front desk was very helpful making plans for excursions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvNewPlaces_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    279
    42
    11
    11
See reviews for
318
397
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Truman Hotel was the perfect location to stay in Duval. It's within walking distance to everywhere. The hotel itself was clean, the upgrades were great! And the service was wonderful. I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights back in June and it was a very good stay. Our room was very big, with the biggest bed that I have ever slept on! The room and the bathroom were very clean. We were on the ground level, next to the pool, but we were not bothered by outside sounds at all. The breakfast buffet offered a nice selection of foods to charge your energy level for the day. The staff were friendly and the fact that there was parking on site was very convenient. The location of the hotel was good, with main attractions within the walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zuzanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location, close to Duval but not too close. The pool area is wonderful, the only thing missing is a bar. Free breakfast was simple but good, especially the coffee. The double queen bed room was big enough for four women, which says a lot. Bathroom was great, and the patio outside our room, and the entire decor and layout of the hotel, was lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only catch was there were ants around, which is not uncommon in Key West, so be sure to keep your suitcases, and especially any food, closed up and off the floor. Nothing bad, just have to be a little careful. The beds were great too, firm and comfy. I would definitely stay here again, and again, and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We recently stayed one night in this hotel. We are a family of 4 - our sons aged 27 and 16. We all were impressed with this hotel. It's decor is modern and very well done. The rooms were very clean. The outdoor spaces are very nice. Our sons took advantage of the pool area in the evening and had a great time. We all agreed we would like to stay here again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room with a balcony facing the street, others face the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georga b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Truman Hotel for 5 nights in June and were extremely impressed by the whole experience.
The room was stylishly decorated and furnished throughout, with a very nice bathroom. The pool area was lovely, although there are a limited number of sun loungers in relation to the number of rooms.
Breakfast was available daily and was fairly limited and served on disposable plates etc. We did venture out one morning for some variety.
The hotel was perfectly located for out needs, and close to a number of excellent restaurants (7 Fish & Banana Cafe being two of our favourites).
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stylish, well positioned hotel, close enough to the 'pleasures' of Duval Street but far enough away for some tranquility.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newly built half of the hotel were far better, especially those overlooking the pool on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galerie167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frugalgoodies
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Check in was easy. The hotel is amazingly clean. Room was modern and updated. We had #212 which faced a side street of private homes. SUPER quiet. Private but narrow balcony with chairs and table.

Bottled water and chocolates at turn down was a nice touch. Having a breakfast set up in the morning by the pool was a SUPER plus. Stroll down to the pool for coffee, juice, pastries, cereal with either whole or skim milk. Also had peeled, hard boiled eggs kept warm in a steamer. Fresh whole fruit, bagels with cream cheese, toast with jam. Add assorted muffins.

The only negative was having to get your luggage to your room on your own. We were in the Keys for 8 days and had 4 bags and getting them out of the car, into the the elevator, and then hauling them down an open air walkway with narrow turns was a challenge. BUT, free covered parking makes up for that minor issue.

Overall, I would highly recommend the TRUMAN HOTEL

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frugalgoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
1,673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.1 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Property: Truman Hotel
Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing