We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow !!”
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #22 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Wow !!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We just returned from the states and went down to key west for a couple of nights this hotel is amazing small beautifully clean hotel rooms were amazing. The breakfast was stunning two minute walk from Duvall street just perfect
Can't wait to go back and I most certainly will be staying here
Absolutely loved this place

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rd3audi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    292
    42
    12
    11
See reviews for
336
406
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Very charming hotel right in the heart of Key West with very cozy environment, comfortable and spacious rooms, outstanding service with natural sympathy to the customers.
Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The Truman hotel was better than expected. Our room was a very spacious and modern two doubles on the second floor with a balcony. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights and could easily have stayed longer. The property was very easy to locate and there was ample Free parking. The check in process was quick and efficient. The property has a lift which was appreciated. Our room was at the front and there was a little street noise, but this did not interrupt our sleep in the comfortable bedding. The shower had plenty of space and power, the sink was outside the bathroom. Included in the room was the usual iron & ironing board, flat screen tv, hair dryer & coffee maker, free WIFI, but no room safe. A nice touch was the bottles of water we received daily.
The breakfast in the morning was continental style by the pool. It was a beautiful relaxing setting. The choices were cereals, bread, bagels, boiled eggs, yogurt and some fruits. Not an extensive selection but a good start to the day. Only downside was the lack of tables, it wasn't an issue for us though as we were early every morning.
Location wise was perfect, close enough to walk to all the sights we wanted, but a few blocks from the busy Duval street. There is a large 24 hour Walgreens just a minute from the hotel. it is a good idea in Key West to find a property close to all the attractions and park your car and walk.
Key West was a beautiful spot especially with all the Christmas decorations. It all starts from driving down the overseas highway to the great sights such as Truman's Little White House, Ernest Hemmingway Home or simply the interesting galleries on Duval Street. Key West is a must visit if you are in Southern Florida, allow more time to enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The Truman is a great little gem in Key West. Secluded courtyard pool with great sitting areas. Rooms are sleek and cozy with a great shower big enough for two. Hotel has a great "funky feel"....modern yet comfortable. Outstanding staff, Continental breakfast served poolside was a great little perk. Would DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The Truman hotel was simply superb. It exudes a modern loungy ambiance without being cold or austere. The rooms are designed with an eye towards being sleek and chic, but with warm touches like shower tiles that look like wood. It doesn't attempt to impress you with baffling features, but instead allows you to arrive and relax, feeling instantly comfortable. The pool is perfect - surrounded by palm trees and lounge chairs, it's the center of attention at this hotel without feeling like an obnoxious centerpiece. Located just off Duval, and convenient to everything in downtown, the Truman was an absolutely lovely place to stay.

If you must, there's a bland continental breakfast served in the morning by the pool, but I'd really recommend you just head towards the Cuban Coffee Queen...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brlnyc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

we LOVED the truman from the moment we arrived -- the overall style + design of the hotel impressed us immediately, followed by a super friendly check-in, and cool vibe enhanced by chill lounge music emanating from the pool area. our room (222) was fantastic -- vaulted ceilings, great decor, front "porch" lounge area (as opposed to balcony) which overlooked the pool. the location is great (2 blocks off south duval) the parking garage is a huge plus, and the hotel is the perfect combination of comfort + style. superb stay!

Room Tip: second floor rooms have lounge sun decks, while the third floor rooms looked AMAZING with sliding gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondephotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

New Years in Key West.....There is no better place to celebrate ringing in the New Year. Trying to find a room is incredibly difficult. We were able to book our room in August and it was one of the last rooms available in town. After reading the reviews we were excited with the anticipation of staying at what other reviews had shown to be one of Key West's newest gems.

The good. Very new and modern with an old inn charm. The pool is fantastic. The rooms are clean and it has covered off street parking which is a rarity in Old Town. The proximity to Duval street is also a big plus.

The Bad. Cleaning staff that come into room while you are in it without announcing they are coming in.....Allow me to explain. Our room was in what is called "the cottages" There is a lower level with a half bath and a sleep sofa. The upstairs has the full bath and the bedroom....While I was upstairs I went downstairs and was shocked to find a unannounced cleaning staff in the room straightening things out. They get an A for effort, but an F for "trespassing" without being invited. Also I don't speak Spanish so it was impossible to communicate with the cleaning staff as they speak absolutely no English.
Next issue. The bedding. very cheap linens and blankets. Very thin and "unsanitary" bed spreads instead of the new "standard" comforters and duvet covers in use at other hotels. Also the bed was incredibly uncomfortable and the pillows felt "cheap"
My final complaint is with the A/C in the split level room. The thermostat is in the lower level and to keep the bedroom at something of a comfortable temperature you had to turn the lower level into a walk in freezer. I can't imagine how hot the upstairs would be in August.
Overall....I was disappointed and I will not be going back. Perhaps back to Ambrosia or the Orchid Key Inn.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in the "cottages"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwd316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.1 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#16 of 77 in Key West
1,438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.4 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,490 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Property: Truman Hotel
Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing